LibGuides: Art: Finding Books & eBooks

eBooks

Ebsco eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital copies of more than 3,000 complete books, reports and other resources covering all academic subject areas.
Browse e-books for quick research and reference or create a free account to check out items, create notes, and list favorites.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital copies of more than 30,000 complete books, reports and other resources covering all academic subject areas.
Books and other materials are arranged in five main subject areas - business and economics, career and general education, computers, engineering and applied sciences, humanities, social/behavioral sciences and life/physical sciences. The ebrary reader is required to view books and can be downloaded for free from ebrary. A free account is needed In order to access some features (i.e. saving notes and highlights).
Hathi Trust This link opens in a new window
Access to nearly any public domain (pre-1924) book owned and scanned by a library. UNLV users can login with their ACE accounts and download entire "full view" books/documents.
EEBO/Evans/ECCO Text Creation Partnership combination search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1475-1800
Simultaneous search of selected books published between 1475-1800 in England and America.

New Books

New fine arts titles @ UNLV
View recent titles on Fine Arts, just received at the UNLV Libraries.
Other new titles at UNLV Libraries
View new titles received at UNLV by month and department.

Discovering Books

The easiest way to find books in our collection is to search the UNLV Library Catalog, listed below. If we do not have what you're looking for, try searching in the other catalogs listed. BorrowItNow, Link+, and WorldCat all allow you to borrow books from other libraries, for free!

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
11th century -
Use WorldCat to search the holdings of academic, public and special libraries around the world.
This union catalog contains records of books and other items in libraries worldwide. Items owned by UNLV Libraries are indicated; UNLV students, faculty and staff may request books via Document Delivery Services.
Google Books This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of digitized books.
Depending on copyright status, you may see your search term highlighted in snippets of the text or in a "limited preview" of a few pages of the book. If the book is out of copyright (published before 1923), you'll be able to page through the entire book or download it as a PDF. UNLV Libraries does not have any special subscription access to books in Google Books, so if your search leads you to a book you want that is not in our collection, consider requesting it from interlibrary loan.

Helpful Guides

A practical guide to arts-related research by Maggi Savin-Baden and Katherine Wimpenny
Call Number: Online Resource
Publication Date: 2014
This book outlines the principles and practices of arts-related inquiry and provides both suggestions about conducting research in the field as well as case study examples.
Art information and the internet : how to find it, how to use it by Lois Swan Jones
Call Number: Online Resource, Print copy: UNLV Arch Ref, 1st Floor, N59 .J66 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Jones shows researchers how to locate art information online and how to supplement it with information in other formats to produce the best possible research results. This work describes the methodology and resources that art researchers need to find and use information on the Internet.
A short guide to writing about art by Sylvan Barnet
Call Number: N7476 .B37 2014
Publication Date: 2014
This book is intended for art courses where there is a writing component. This text guides art students through the writing process. Students are shown how to analyze pictures (drawings, paintings, photographs), sculptures and architecture.
Art books : a basic bibliography of monographs on artists by Wolfgang M. Freitag
Call Number: Z5938 .F73 1997
Publication Date: 1997
A revised, second edition of the title originally published in 1985, which lists over 20,000 artists monographs, and covers over 200 artists.
Guide to the literature of art history by Etta Arntzen, Robert Rainwater
Call Number: Z5931 .A67
Publication Date: 1980
Guide to the literature of art history 2 by Max Marmor, Alex Ross
Call Number: Z5931 .M374 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Guide to the Literature of Art History 2 (ALA Editions, 2004) has arrived to record and annotate the best art and architecture books and journals published worldwide in the last two decades of the 20th century. supplement its predecessor by recording important publications produced primarily in western languages.
Art market research : a guide to methods and sources by Tom McNulty
Call Number: N5200 .M39 2014
Publication Date: 2014
This book is intended as a reference guide for art market researchers at all levels. A brief overview of the global art market and its major stakeholders precedes an analysis of the various sales venues (auction, commercial gallery, etc.) where art is bought and sold.

Art

eBooks

New Books

Discovering Books

Helpful Guides

Locations

Contact