Books
- Poisonous Dwellers of the Desert by Natt N. Dodge
- Colorful Cacti of the American Deserts by Edgar and Brian Lamb
- Birds of the Lahontan Valley: a Guide to Nevada's Wetland Oasis by Graham Chisholm and Larry A. Neel
- The Bighorn of Death Valley by Ralph E. and Florence B. Welles
- Proceedings of the Desert Tortoise Council Symposium 1987-1998 by the Desert Tortoise Council
- Devils Hole Pupfish: the Unexpected Survival of an Endangered Species in the Modern American West by Kevin C. Brown
- The Natural History of Native Fishes in the Death Valley System by David L. Soltz and Robert J. Naiman
- For additional books, maps, and periodicals, search the Special Collections and Archives library catalog.
Archival Collections
James E. Deacon Pupfish Research Files (UA-00102)
- This collection contains research files kept by James E. Deacon, who was a faculty member in the biological sciences and environmental studies department at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. The collection primarily contains research files and audiovisual recordings about the Devils Hole pupfish, an endangered species of desert fish only found in Nevada. Also included are copies of Deacon’s testimony and reports for a hearing from 2011 on the probable groundwater pumping by the Southern Nevada Water Authority in Spring, Cave, Dry Lake, and Delamar Valleys (SCDD) in Nevada.
- Materials on display from this collection include Devils Hole pupfish specimen cards gathered by James Deacon, audiovisual recordings on pupfish including interviews with Deacon and news segments on the Ash Meadows National Wildlife Refuge, boxes of Deacon's research files including hand drawn population graphs from the 1960s and 1970s.
Desert Fishes Council Records (MS-00572)
-
These records consist of resolutions, meeting minutes, symposium programs, agendas, and press releases of the Desert Fishes Council (DFC), and organization devoted to the study and preservation of Southwestern desert fishes, notably the desert pupfish. The DFC records reflect efforts to bring the plight of desert fishes to the attention of academics and the public as well as highlight the worth of desert lands within the American environmental movement.
-
Materials on display from this collection include audio cassette tapes from the Desert Fishes Council symposium in the 1970s.
Jeff van Ee Papers (MS-00470)
- This collection consists of the papers of environmentalist John Jeffrey Van Ee and document a portion of Van Ee’s environmental activity, notably his participation on environmental committees in the Las Vegas, Nevada area for water conservation and wildlife protection. The papers are comprised of correspondence, memoranda, reports, studies, newspaper clippings, and meeting agendas and minutes.
- Materials on display from this collection include Tortoise Group newsletters and a brochure on how to care for desert tortoises from the 1980s and 1990s.
UNLV University Libraries Photographs of Green Energy Development in the Mojave Desert (PH-00444)
- This is a forthcoming collection of photographs taken by Visual Materials Curator, Aaron Mayes, and the collection visually documents the expansion and development of green energy companies in the Mojave Desert.
- Materials on display from this collection include a photograph of a juvenile desert tortoise and a photograph of Wee Thump Joshua Tree Wilderness Area that spans the back of the exhibit.
Jamey Stillings Photograph Collection (PH-00380)
- This collection is comprised of photographs taken by professional photographer, Jamey Stillings, of the Mike O’Callaghan-Pat Tillman Memorial Bridge and the Hoover Dam project, the Ivanpah Solar Electric Generating System project, and the Crescent Dunes Solar project. The Ivanpah Solar Electric Generating System project depict aerial views of Ivanpah Solar in the Mojave Desert of California and the Crescent Dunes Solar project consists of a range of aerial and ground-based work documenting SolarReserve's Crescent Dunes Solar, a 110MW concentrated solar plant with molten salt storage near Tonopah, Nevada.
- Materials on display from this collection is an image of a desert tortoise nursery outside of Ivanpah Solar in Nevada, taken in 2014.
