Books
- Trees and Shrubs of the Southwestern Deserts by Lyman Benson and Robert Darrow
- Desert Wildflowers by Edmund Jaeger
- Trees of the Great Basin: a Natural History by Ronald M. Lanner
- In Praise of Bristlecone Pines by Rita Deanin Abbey
- For additional books, maps, and periodicals, search the Special Collections and Archives library catalog.
Archival Collections
Jeanne Russell Janish Papers (MS-00355)
- This collection contains the materials of the illustrator and watercolorist, Jeanne Russell Janish, and also includes her school records, research papers, diaries, and personal correspondence. There are two original book manuscripts, dried flowers, hand-woven rugs, a variety of art supplies and tools, and approximately 140 watercolor paintings and pencil sketches of various scenes and subjects, created in China, Florida, and the American Southwest.
- Materials on display from this collection include dried botanical specimens collect by Janish and her husband near Walker Lake, Nevada and accompanying pencil sketches; glass plate negatives of desert landscapes; hand drawn cover design for Flowers of the Southwest Desert an; and Janish's personal art tools and supplies used for her illustration work.
Gene Hertzog Professional Papers (MS-01015)
- This collection is comprised of photographs, slides, transparencies, publications, video cassettes, correspondence, and digital files spanning Gene Hertzog's working years with the United States Army, the Bureau of Reclamation, and as a freelance photographer and videographer based in Southern Nevada, New Mexico, and Washington state. The collection documents the complicated infrastructure required to supply water to the Las Vegas Valley and includes still and moving images of the Springs Preserve, Lake Mead National Recreation Area, the Colorado River, and the Columbia Basin. The majority of the collection comes from Hertzog's time as a regional photographer for the Bureau of Reclamation and offers a unique glimpse into the Bureau's work in Southern Nevada, the southwest, and the Pacific Northwest from the 1950s to the mid-1990s.
- Materials on display from this collection include a 1961 copy of Flowers of the Southwest Desert by Natt N. Dodge, cover designed by Jeanne Russell Janish.
