Books
- A History of the Public Land Policies by Benjamin Horace Hibbard
- This Land is Your Land: the Struggle to Save America's Public Lands by Bernard Shanks
- Nevada Wilderness Act of 1985 by the U.S. Subcommittee on Public Lands, Reserved Water, and Resource Conservation
- Desert Wilderness Proposal: Desert National Wildlife Range, Nevada by the Bureau of Sport Fisheries and Wildlife
- For additional books, maps, and periodicals, search the Special Collections and Archives library catalog.
Archival Collections
Avi Kwa Ame materials
Sierra Club Toiyabe Chapter Records (MS-00289)
- These records are composed of files from Sierra Club officers and environmental activists in the Southern Nevada (formerly Las Vegas) Group of the Toiyabe Chapter. The collection documents the involvement of the Southern Nevada group in a variety of environmental concerns, such as air quality, transportation, urbanization, and nuclear issues, in which the chapter has expressed interest. The records are comprised of correspondence, memoranda, meeting minutes and agendas, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, pamphlets, press releases, legislation, recommendations, resolutions, and general information.
- Materials on display from this collection include a folder of documents, maps, and reports on wilderness designation from the Sierra Club, and a "Friends Guide to Nevada Wilderness" created by Friends of Nevada Wilderness; and various issues of environmental group newsletters and newspapers including High Country News, Toiyabe Trails, and Audubon Activist from the 1980s and 1990s.
Mike O’Callaghan Professional Papers (MS-01055)
- This collection consists mainly of research files gathered by Mike O'Callaghan in his post-political capacity as executive editor of the Las Vegas Sun as well as owner and publisher of the Henderson Home News, Boulder City News, and Green Valley News. The papers also contain handwritten and typewritten drafts of O'Callaghan's "Where I Stand" article for the Las Vegas Sun, along with his reporter's notebooks, monthly planners, and photographic prints. The research files cover a wide variety of topics, including but not limited to environmental issues; nuclear waste; state and local politics; military and veterans affairs; foreign relations including Israel, Iraq, and Korea; and education.
- Materials on display from this collection include a 1986 newspaper clipping from the Las Vegas Review-Journal of a reader’s thoughts on recent wilderness hearings, newspaper clippings on Great Basin National Park designation, and a photograph from the opening of Great Basin National Park taken October 27, 1986.
Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area Records (MS-00399)
- These records contain information about the Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area (previously the Red Rock Canyon Recreation Lands). It largely consists of newspaper clippings on a variety of events related to Red Rock Canyon from 1965 to 2007. The records also include Bureau of Land Management documents pertaining to interpretive efforts, visitation statistics, and law enforcement reports. Also included are the newsletters (1990-1998) and volunteer training manual of the Friends of Red Rock Canyon, a non-profit volunteer organization.
- Materials on display from this collection include newspaper clippings on the designation and expansion of Red Rock National Conservation Area from the early 1990s.
Charles Rozaire Collection on Tule Springs, Nevada (MS-00100)
- This collection contains photographic slides of various archeological sites across Clark County, Nevada, the majority of which were taken at the Tule Springs archaeological site. The collection also contains Rozaire's files documenting the excavation investigations at Tule Springs which include Rozaire's writings, newspaper clippings, programs, and photocopied articles regarding Tule Springs.
- Materials on display from this collection include two images taken at Tule Springs, Nevada. One image shows a group working onsite at Tule Springs, and the other is of Charles Rozaire. At the time of the photograph, Rozaire was only twenty-seven years old.
