Learning Objectives - DPT 790 Clinical Research in Physical Therapy | Kent - LibGuides at University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Library Workshop Learning Objectives

After completing this library workshop, each learner will be able to:

1. Create an advanced search using the advanced search feature in PubMed with boolean operators.

2. Translate a PICO question into an advanced search query.
3. Describe and use MeSH, to create search queries.

4. Use advanced features in Google Scholar including: library filters, search alerts, and special characters for searching.

5. Export references from PubMed to RefWorks.

UNLV Libraries Website

Search for resources across the UNLV Libraries

Search for articles, books, and more at the UNLV Libraries and beyond using Quick Search.

The default search results will include books, online journal articles, newspaper articles, streaming video and more. Filters on the results page let you select materials by format, subject, date, or language, or you can opt to see only articles from peer-reviewed journals.

Log in with your ACE account to see results from more databases, to save and organize your items and searches, and to access your library account. Learn more in the Quick Search Guide and visit the Off-Campus Access to Library Materials page.

Library Databases

Recommended article databases and search engines

Embase This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Embase is an index to scholarly articles in medicine, biomedical sciences, and allied health subjects.
Embase content is indexed using a specialized thesaurus, Emtree, that includes biomedical, chemical, and drug terms. There is a special focus on drugs and devices.
F.A. Davis PT Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
F.A. Davis Physical Therapy Collection is a reference collection of full-text and fully-searchable physical therapy titles with over 400 videos on physical examination, evaluation, intervention, and rehabilitation.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches scholarly journal articles. Set preferences to UNLV for full text access!
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports from many academic and technical fields. It is freely available to anyone searching the Internet; however, many of the links that lead to full text resources are not. On your first visit, go to Google Scholar Preferences and use the Library Links box to set UNLV as your source for no-fee access to many full text articles. For answers to questions about Google Scholar, check out the FAQ.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine that provides free access to MEDLINE, the NLM database of indexed citations and abstracts to medical, nursing, dental, veterinary, health care, and preclinical sciences journal articles. It also includes additional selected life sciences journals not found in MEDLINE.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1975-
Journal articles and more about all aspects of sports, physical education and sports medicine. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Update frequency: quarterly
An international database indexing journal articles, books, conference proceedings, research papers, and dissertations and theses in sports medicine, biomechanics, psychology, coaching, physical education and fitness, training, and other related topics. Includes access to the full text of more than 230 journals
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1990-
Web of Science is a platform for Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Index, Journal Citation Reports, Biological Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Inspec.
Help?

DPT 790 Clinical Research in Physical Therapy | Kent

Library Workshop Learning Objectives

UNLV Libraries Website

Search for resources across the UNLV Libraries

Library Databases

Locations

Contact