LibGuides: HCA 203 Multicultural Diversity and the US Healthcare System: Learning Objectives

Chapter 3 Learning Objectives

After completing this chapter, each learner will be able to:

1. Describe the value of working with a librarian who has been trained in public health, health science or education.

2. Summarize why excellent research skills are needed to access information.
3. Describe and use resources, tips, and tricks that will allow you to quickly access the health disparities information that you are seeking.

4. Differentiate informational resources that are available for free on the web and from those that must be accessed via a library affiliated with a college or university.

5. Cite and use databases that allow access to classic as well as the most recent academic articles, books, and government publications in the area of health disparities.

(source, p. 55)

UNLV Libraries Website

Search for resources across the UNLV Libraries

Search for articles, books, and more at the UNLV Libraries and beyond using Quick Search.

The default search results will include books, online journal articles, newspaper articles, streaming video and more. Filters on the results page let you select materials by format, subject, date, or language, or you can opt to see only articles from peer-reviewed journals.

Log in with your ACE account to see results from more databases, to save and organize your items and searches, and to access your library account. Learn more in the Quick Search Guide and visit the Off-Campus Access to Library Materials page.

Library Databases

Article databases and search engines featured on to pages 62-63:

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1923-
Articles and reports in advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers and information on 25 million companies.
Update frequency: Updated weekly
Scope: International
Languages: English
Primarily a database for retrieving journal articles but allows for searching by company in the advanced search section. The ABI/INFORM Complete database offers searchable full text of more than 6,800 of the leading business and management journals in North America and the world. Coverage is international and includes advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Also compiles information on 25 million companies!
AgeLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1978-
Abstracts on social gerontology. Also includes health care, public policy, employment, and consumer issues.
Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP), this database includes citations with abstracts drawn from the literature in social gerontology -- the study of aging in social, psychological, health-related, and economic contexts. Health care, public policy, employment and consumer issues are particularly well-covered.
APA PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-
The American Psychological Association's international psychology database indexes journal articles, books and dissertations.
Update frequency: Updated monthly
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
Embase This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Embase is an index to scholarly articles in medicine, biomedical sciences, and allied health subjects.
Embase content is indexed using a specialized thesaurus, Emtree, that includes biomedical, chemical, and drug terms. There is a special focus on drugs and devices.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1959-
Articles, editorials, and reviews from the ethnic, minority, and native press.
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global Health is derived from over 7,000 journals, reports, books, and conferences, and contains over 2.7 million scientific records from 1973 to the present.
Published by CAB International, this is the only specialist bibliographic database dedicated to public health, with a focus on international medical and health research, capturing key literature that is not covered by other databases.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches scholarly journal articles. Set preferences to UNLV for full text access!
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports from many academic and technical fields. It is freely available to anyone searching the Internet; however, many of the links that lead to full text resources are not. On your first visit, go to Google Scholar Preferences and use the Library Links box to set UNLV as your source for no-fee access to many full text articles. For answers to questions about Google Scholar, check out the FAQ.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine that provides free access to MEDLINE, the NLM database of indexed citations and abstracts to medical, nursing, dental, veterinary, health care, and preclinical sciences journal articles. It also includes additional selected life sciences journals not found in MEDLINE.

HCA 203 Multicultural Diversity and the US Healthcare System

Chapter 3 Learning Objectives

UNLV Libraries Website

Search for resources across the UNLV Libraries

Library Databases

Locations

Contact