LibGuides: URST 442: Brookings: Metropolitan Policy (Beavers): Library Guides

E-Book

The Metropolitan Revolution by Bruce Katz; Jennifer Bradley
Call Number: e-book

Publication Date: 2013

Across the US, cities and metropolitan areas are facing huge economic and competitive challenges that Washington won't, or can't, solve. The good news is that networks of metropolitan leaders - mayors, business and labor leaders, educators, and philanthropists - are stepping up and powering the nation forward.

Brookings Mountain West & Lincy Institute Resources

UNLV Libraries Databases

UNLV Libraries Quick Search

Academic Search Premier
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Good for: Researching criminology and related disciplines.
Contains: Journal articles.
Dates covered: 1960-current date.
PAIS International
Good for: Finding information on public policy, social policy, and the social sciences.
Contains: Index to literature.
Dates covered: 1972-present.

From the Public Affairs Information Service, this database provides access to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. It includes records from journals, books, conference proceedings, research and government reports, and directories. Use it to locate journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content.
Social Explorer
Good for: Accessing current and historical U.S. census data and demographic information.
Contains: Census data and demographic information visualized on a map.

The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change. In addition to being a comprehensive data resource, Social Explorer also offers features and tools to meet the needs of both demography experts and novices. It creates reports at all geographic levels including the state, county, census tract, block group, zip code and census place. Included are over 18,000 maps, hundreds of profile reports, 40 billion data elements, 335,000 variables and 220 years of data.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Good for: Researching sociology and related disciplines.
Contains: Index to literature.
Dates covered: 1895-present.

Includes selected journals, monographs, and conference papers. Encompasses all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, and many others.

Google Scholar
Searches scholarly journal articles. Set preferences to UNLV for full text access!
Google Scholar Settings

Newspaper Databases

Las Vegas Review Journal (NewsBank)
Good for: Searching the text of articles published in the Las Vegas Review-Journal.
Contains: Article text (no images).
Dates covered: 1996-present.

Las Vegas Sun

Nexis Uni
Good for: Researching published news, legal, medical, patents, and business information.
Contains: News, legal, medical, and business information.

The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.

U.S. Newsstream Collection
Good for: Finding current and recent news articles from major U.S. newspapers.
Contains: Articles from newspapers like the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal.
Dates covered: 1980s-present.

Access Nevada

Think Tanks & Policy-Related Web Resources

A think tank or policy institute is a research institute which performs research and advocacy concerning topics such as social policy, political strategy, economics, military, technology, and culture. Although many think tanks claim to be neutral, some may be considered to have a more conservative or a more liberal agenda. For example, the Cato Institute is a libertarian think tank and the Heritage Foundation is considered to be conservative. Be sure to examine the "About the Organization" page, in addition to outside sources to investigate the organization's agenda and their political views.

Think tanks are defined by the above as institutions affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity.

Tips: Search these selected think tanks by keywords to find research and analysis.
If one seems most relevant to your topic, go to the home page and mine the site for publications, issues, research, and links to other organizations.

Think Tank Search--Harvard
From Harvard's Kennedy School of Government library; custom Google search + list of hundreds of US and international think tanks.
Brookings
Brookings conducts research and education in the social sciences, primarily in economics, metropolitan policy, governance, foreign policy, and global economy and development.
Brookings Mountain West
"Brookings Mountain West is a partnership between UNLV and the Washington, D.C.-based Brookings Institution. The purpose of Brookings Mountain West is to bring the Brookings tradition of high-quality, independent, and impactful research to the issues facing the dynamic and fast-growing Intermountain West region."
The Lincy Institute
"The Lincy Institute is a research institute organized to conduct and support research that focuses on improving Nevada’s health, education, and social services."
Annenberg Public Policy Center
This policy center produces research that looks at the role of communication in politics, adolescent behavior, chlid development, health care, civics and mental health, and other areas.
Annie E. Casey Foundation- KIDS COUNT
KIDS COUNT is a national and state-by-state project of the Casey Foundation to track the status of children in the United States.
CATO Institute
CATO's education research is founded on the principle that parents are best suited to make important decisions regarding the care and education of their children.
Center for American Progress
The Center for American Progress is a progressive think-tank dedicated to improving the lives of Americans through ideas and action.
Center on Education Policy
The Center on Education Policy is a national, independent advocate for public education and for more effective public schools.
Center for Law & Social Policy
"The Center for Law and Social Policy (CLASP) is a national, nonpartisan, nonprofit organization advancing policy solutions for low-income people."
Center for Strategic & International Studies
An international policy institute, the CSIS focuses on a number of topics including defense and security, governance, technology and global trends.
The Children's Defense Fund
"The Children’s Defense Fund Leave No Child Behind® mission is to ensure every child a Healthy Start, a Head Start, a Fair Start, a Safe Start and a Moral Start in life and successful passage to adulthood with the help of caring families and communities."
Goldwater Institute- Center for Educational Opportunity
Arizona-based think tank. Broad areas of research include expansion of charter schools, education tax credits and vouchers, and the regulatory climate for alternative and independent schools
Hoover Institution
Produces the journal "Education Next."
Human Rights Campaign
"The Human Rights Campaign is America's largest civil rights organization working to achieve lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer equality."
MDRC
Created in 1974 by the Ford Foundation and a group of federal agencies, MDRC is a nonprofit, nonpartisan education and social policy research organization dedicated to learning what works to improve programs and policies that affect the poor.
Mathematica Policy Research
"Mathematica Policy Research is a pioneering nonpartisan research organization dedicated to improving public well-being."
National Bureau of Economic Research
A "private, non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to conducting economic research and to disseminating research findings among academics, public policy makers, and business professionals. NBER-affiliated researchers study a wide range of topics and they employ many different methods in their work. Key focus areas include developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, and analyzing the effects of public policies."
New America
New America, formerly the New America Foundation, is a non-partisan think tank in the United States. It focuses on a range of public policy issues, including national security studies, technology, asset building, health, gender, energy, education, and the economy.
Policy Archive
This collection of public policy research is gathered from sources such as the American Bar Association, the Brookings Institution, the Ford Foudnation, the Institute for Policy Studies, and others.
RAND.org
RAND's research and analysis address issues that impact people around the world including security, health, education, sustainability, growth, and development.
Social Work Policy Institute
"The Social Work Policy Institute examines issues that relate to the work of social workers, including how to serve people who have multiple or complex needs and how public agencies and other structures deliver health and human services."
Urban Institute
The Urban Institute is a Washington D.C.-based think tank that carries out economic and social policy research to "open minds, shape decisions, and offer solutions."

Searching for Government & Legislative Information

Google is an easy way to find official government information (reports, statistics, factsheets, etc.). After you type in your keywords, add site:gov to the search.

For example:
food stamp statistics site:.gov

high school dropout rates site:.gov

Then, you will limit your search to .gov sites (mostly federal, but also some state & local resources).

NELIS (Nevada Electronic Legislative Information System)
Information about the current session as well as past sessions, search for your representatives, and more.
Nevada Legislature
UNLV Libraries Government Information Portal
Information on how to find publications that are produced by government agencies covering a wide variety of topics
Congress.gov
The CONGRESS.GOV website, from the Library of Congress, provides a wealth of legislative history information from current and past years. The site provides the full text of public laws, legislative bills (as well as summaries and status information for these bills), legislative debates, and committee reports. For the debates and reports, links are provided to a PDF version of these documents.
The Supreme Court Database
This database includes information about Supreme Court decisions from 1946 to the present.
General Accounting Office (GAO)
Site provides both summaries and full text files of reports and testimony dating back to fiscal year 1979. GAO posts full-text files on its website daily, often within 24 hours of when a report or testimony is publicly released.

Congressional Publications (ProQuest Congressional)
Good for: Researching U.S. legislative information.
Contains: Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more.
Dates covered: 1789-present.

Guides & Handouts for ProQuest Congressional & Executive Branch Documents
Use this guide for information on how to search in the Congressional interface, and for links to information on the digital collections.
Video: Short ProQuest Congressional Tutorial

CQ Magazine
Good for: Staying informed about current politics and new legislation in the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate.
Contains: Weekly roundup of congressional activity.
Dates covered: 1983-current date.
CQ Press Library
Good for: Researching public policy and American government.
Contains: In-depth research on hot topics and legislative analysis.
HeinOnline Law Journal Library
Good for: Researching legal topics.
Contains: Law journals and federal legal materials.
Legislative Insight
Good for: Researching U.S. legislative history.
Contains: Congressional publications related to enacted laws.
Dates covered: 1929-present.

Legislative Insight includes all congressional publications that pertain to an enacted law, 1929 to current and includes all bills, reports, hearings documents and signing statements.

Local, State, Regional & National Data & Statistics Starting Points

Las Vegas Info-US Census Bureau
Statistics-City of Las Vegas
Las Vegas-Paradise: Bureau of Labor Statistics
Comprehensive Planning Demographics - Clark County
Las Vegas Open Data
Report Card (Education): Nevada Accountability Portal
State, district and school level data via customizable reports
Nevada Data
NV Dept of Health & Human Services Data Links
Nevada Governor’s Office of Economic Development (GOED) Data Portal
Useful data and links to get information about Nevada’s economy and its consumers.
Data and Statistics about the U.S.
Links to US govt. data & statistics by agency/department (such as Census, health, education, etc.)

Principal U.S. Federal Statistical Agencies

U.S. State Labor Market Information Agencies

State Labor Market Information Contact List -- information about the job market in each State

Gov-Related Magazines & Other Organizations and Resources

Keeping Track & Citing Your Information

refworks logo

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic software package that enables you to:

Organize your research
Create a bibliography in a variety of citation styles, including APA, MLA and Chicago
Import references from many data sources
Create bibliographies in different document formats (Word, RTF, HTML, etc.)
Include citations while you write your paper (using Write-n-Cite plugin)
Access your personal account from any computer connected to the internet

RefWorks
Good for: Saving, organizing and formatting citations in your personal database.
Contains: Bibliography manager.

This web-based bibliography manager lets you save citations to journal articles, books, web sites and more into your personal online database. You'll be able to quickly link to online articles, organize and share your references, and automatically create formatted bibliographies in all the major citation formats, including APA, MLA, and Chicago styles. Learn more on the RefWorks Basics page.
Mendeley
Good for: Managing and formatting citations.
Contains: Bibliography manager.

Mendeley Resource Guide
This page of the guide focuses on getting started with a new Mendeley account. Other tabs on this guide focus on all the functions and features of Mendeley, and ways to get help using Mendeley.
Zotero
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share research.

Creating Infographics

Creating Infographics

Urban Affairs Librarian

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

URST 442: Brookings: Metropolitan Policy (Beavers): Library Guides