LibGuides: URST 427 Data Visualization for Urban Studies (Mullen): Data Visualization Resources

Data-Related Databases Available through UNLV Libraries

Sage Data
Good for: N/A (Content has been migrated to DataPlanet.)
ICPSR
Good for: Acquiring and preserving social science data.
Contains: Social science data.

Users must have an account with ICPSR to download datasets.

To register, you must be affiliated with UNLV, which is a member institution of ICPSR, and you must access the site from a recognized UNLV IP address.

Register for an account from off campus (you will be prompted to login with your ACE account or activated RebelCard barcode and PIN).
Statista
Good for: Finding statistical data.
Contains: Statistical data from various sources.

Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.
WRDS
Good for: Accessing financial and economic data.
Contains: CRSP, ISSM, Global Insight (Basic Economics) data, and more. Users must request an account.

Limited to UNLV affiliated users. Users must request an account. Register at this link https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/register/
The Wharton Research Data Service provides World Wide Web access to CRSP, ISSM and Global Insight (Basic Economics).

Historical Statistics of the United States
Historical Statistics of the United States is a standard reference resource for data on all aspects of American history. This resources contains five sections: 1)Population 2)Work and Welfare 3)Economic Structure 4)Economic Sectors and 5)Governance and International Relations

Data-Related Web Resources

UNLV Libraries Data & Statistics Resource Guide
Comprehensive resource guide to data-related resources available through UNLV Libraries, in addition to government-related resources, data by subject, and more.
US Census Bureau
Main US census website, where you can download datasets.
American FactFinder
Create tables or maps and download data from the Census of Population and Housing, Economic Census, or American Community Survey.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention public health data tool.
dataZoa
dataZoa allows you to access and monitor over 3 billion dynamic data series from public sites and other dataZoa publishers. You can get data on economics, demographics, energy, finance, health and more from sites such as the U.S. Census, the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Yahoo Finance, the National Center for Education Statistics, and more. **To use dataZoa you must create a personal account from a UNLV e-mail address to begin.**
UN Data
UNdata is an internet-based data service which brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point
Vizala
Vizala is an online database that is completely free and open. It would be the only site on the list that combines economics, market research, demographic, and industry data from many different sources and organizes the data for specific areas of interest. Vizala also provides tools that allow you to customize any view of data with filtering and sorting options. You can then save, share, or export any of those customized views.
City of Las Vegas Open Data
NV State & County Quick Facts
Nevada Historical Census (hosted by University of Nevada, Reno)
Nevada State Data Center

Images

IAN Symbol Libraries
Royalty-free images and photographs for universal symbolic representation. Diagram generator available.
Imgur
Can be used to share pictures with friends, as well as post images on message boards and blogs. You can manipulate the image a number of ways and automatically submit it to popular sites such as reddit or digg.
Infographics Online Directory
A resource for data visualization and infographics. Includes a few infographic design tools.
Picscout
Instantly IDs images on the web, providing creative professionals with image information and a one-click connection to image licensors.
Tin Eye Reverse Image Search
"TinEye is a reverse image search engine. It finds out where an image came from, how it is being used, if modified versions of the image exist, or if there is a higher resolution version."

Visual.ly: Gallery of infographics gathered from the web. Can search images by designer or publisher.
Piktochart: Make your own infographics using this online editor.

Venngage: Make infographics free with templates and designs

Canva: Free online design software with numerous templates available for creating infographics.
Easel.ly: Online template-based infographic generator.
Infogr.am: Create free, interactive infographs.

Free Visualization Internet Resources

"22 free tools for data visualization and analysis" from Computerworld
Bloomberg Visual Data
"Interactive data products and editorially-driven graphics."
Daytum
Create one page of personal statistics such as a genealogy tree for free. Privacy settings, additional pages, and storage available for a monthly fee.
Europeana
Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections.
Google Charts
Only for use on your website or Google document (does not store your data). Wizard will help beginners create static images. Interactive tools for advanced users are available.
Graph Viz: Graph Visualization Software
Many Eyes (from IBM)
"This site is set up to allow the entire internet community to upload data, visualize it, and talk about their discoveries with other people."
Tableau Public
"Within minutes, our free data visualization tool can help you create an interactive viz and embed it in your website or share it."
TimeFlow Analytical Timeline
Desktop software for displaying change in a data set over time. Easy to manipulate, but can only be shared via a screenshot.
VIDI
Comparative and time data display tools with some geomapping. For Drupal, but will work with other HTML formats.
Wordle
Generate word clouds from your text or webpages with an RSS feed. Easily change formats with one click.
Timeline JS
A freely-available, interactive timeline creation tool. Timeline JS requires the use of Google Sheets.
Creately
Freely-available online generator for diagrams, flowcharts or schematics.
Draw.io
Google-based collaborative flowchart and diagram creator. Diagrams can be saved to Google Drive, Microsoft OneDrive, Dropbox, flash drives, or published on the web.
More Free Tools, Indiana University

Maps

Target Map
Create customized data maps by uploading data from Excel spreadsheets. All maps are published and shared in an online community.
StatPlanet
Create custom designed maps using demographic data. StatPlanet includes software that must be downloaded to your desktop, and requires the use of Microsoft Excel.
Data Ferrett
This tool allows the user to create custom maps using data from the U.S. Census. Datasets date primarily from 2005-present. This tool requires Java to run, and will only run in Internet Explorer or Firefox when popups are enabled.
Mapbox
Mapbox allows the user to create custom designed maps using demographic and spatial data. This open-source tool requires you to download software to your desktop.

OpenHeatMap
Create maps that show change in a data set over time. Software will automatically create maps based upon your data labels (e.g. address, country, or zip code)
MindMeister
This freely-available tool allows you to create your own concept maps.

URST 427 Data Visualization for Urban Studies (Mullen): Data Visualization Resources

Data-Related Databases Available through UNLV Libraries

Data-Related Web Resources

Images

Free Visualization Internet Resources

Maps

Other Interesting Data Visualization Resources & Articles

Locations

Contact