Provides access to the extensive Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data.
Through a single platform, users can search and browse 25 billion data points in over 4.3 billion datasets sourced from over 75 authoritative government and private sources. The platform’s powerful functionality allows users to manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators, chart trends over time and spatially represent data without requiring additional software programs. Multiple export options are provided. For more information on specific datasets and how to use Data-Planet, visit the Data-Planet LibGuide
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is an organization of member institutions working together to: acquire and preserve social science data; provide open and equitable access to these data; and promote effective data management.
Users must have an account with ICPSR to download datasets.
To register, you must be affiliated with UNLV, which is a member institution of ICPSR, and you must access the site from a recognized UNLV IP address.
Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.
SAGE U.S. Political Stats
This link opens in a new window
U.S. Political Stats has been retired. Content has been migrated to DataPlanet
SAGE Business Stats
This link opens in a new window
SAGE Business Stats has been retired. Content has been migrated to DataPlanet
SAGE U.S. Political Stats
This link opens in a new window
U.S. Political Stats has been retired. Content has been migrated to DataPlanet
Limited to UNLV affiliated users. Users must request an account.The Wharton Research Data Service provides World Wide Web access to CRSP, ISSM and Global Insight (Basic Economics).
Historical Statistics of the United States is a standard reference resource for data on all aspects of American history. This resources contains five sections: 1)Population 2)Work and Welfare 3)Economic Structure 4)Economic Sectors and 5)Governance and International Relations
Comprehensive resource guide to data-related resources available through UNLV Libraries, in addition to government-related resources, data by subject, and more.
dataZoa allows you to access and monitor over 3 billion dynamic data series from public sites and other dataZoa publishers. You can get data on economics, demographics, energy, finance, health and more from sites such as the U.S. Census, the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Yahoo Finance, the National Center for Education Statistics, and more. **To use dataZoa you must create a personal account from a UNLV e-mail address to begin.**
Vizala is an online database that is completely free and open. It would be the only site on the list that combines economics, market research, demographic, and industry data from many different sources and organizes the data for specific areas of interest. Vizala also provides tools that allow you to customize any view of data with filtering and sorting options. You can then save, share, or export any of those customized views.
Can be used to share pictures with friends, as well as post images on message boards and blogs. You can manipulate the image a number of ways and automatically submit it to popular sites such as reddit or digg.
"TinEye is a reverse image search engine. It finds out where an image came from, how it is being used, if modified versions of the image exist, or if there is a higher resolution version."
Visual.ly: Gallery of infographics gathered from the web. Can search images by designer or publisher.
Piktochart: Make your own infographics using this online editor.
Venngage: Make infographics free with templates and designs
Canva: Free online design software with numerous templates available for creating infographics.
Only for use on your website or Google document (does not store your data). Wizard will help beginners create static images. Interactive tools for advanced users are available.
Google-based collaborative flowchart and diagram creator. Diagrams can be saved to Google Drive, Microsoft OneDrive, Dropbox, flash drives, or published on the web.
Create custom designed maps using demographic data. StatPlanet includes software that must be downloaded to your desktop, and requires the use of Microsoft Excel.
This tool allows the user to create custom maps using data from the U.S. Census. Datasets date primarily from 2005-present. This tool requires Java to run, and will only run in Internet Explorer or Firefox when popups are enabled.
Mapbox allows the user to create custom designed maps using demographic and spatial data. This open-source tool requires you to download software to your desktop.
Create maps that show change in a data set over time. Software will automatically create maps based upon your data labels (e.g. address, country, or zip code)
This link opens in a new window