LibGuides: Physics / Astronomy: Finding Articles & Databases

Sciences Librarian

Melissa Bowles-Terry

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

melissa.bowles-terry@unlv.edu

702-895-2121

Subjects: Chemistry & Biochemistry, Geoscience, Life Sciences, Mathematics, Physics & Astronomy, Science

Use the databases and journal lists below to search the scientific literature. Read the description to find ones that meet your information need. Be curious, explore, and dive in!

RECOMMENDED DATABASES

arXiv.org
Open access versions of thousands of papers in the areas of Physics, Astronomy, Mathematics, and Computer Science

ADS - Astrophysics Data System This link opens in a new window
The Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory/U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration (SAO/NASA) Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a searchable database of article and conference proceeding abstracts in the fields of Physics and Astronomy. Linked to the arXive article database, or open access versions of papers. UNLV community members may also link to UNLV's subscriptions and interlibrary loan by creating a personal account and selecting "University of Nevada" in the Library Links Settings preferences
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Critical reviews of scholarly literature in multiple disciplines in the sciences and social sciences.
Annual Reviews can be searched like a traditional database or browsed by subject.
OAIster This link opens in a new window
Index of online digital collections and finding aids.
Provides links to electronic scholarly resources not found by other search engines. These resources, which include the complete contents of books and articles, technical reports, preprints, white papers, images of paintings, manuscript collections, movies, and audio files of speeches, are created and hosted by more than 250 research libraries and institutions around the world. Examples include: the arXiv.org Eprint Archive (physics); Directory of Open Access Journals; Ethnologue: Languages of the World; Library of Congress American Memory Project; and NASA Technical Report Server. Resources can be located by searching or by browsing an alphabetical list of participating libraries and institutions.
Science Citation Index Expanded This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Science Citation Index Expanded ® provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 5,900 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nearly 2,000 full text Elsevier journals covering the areas of social science, medicine, science, and technology with deep backfiles for more than 1600 journals.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1960-
Scopus is an index to peer-reviewed scientific, medical, technical, and social science literature.
Scopus also features a citation index, allowing you to find the papers that cite a specific piece of research.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1990-
Web of Science is a platform for Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Index, Journal Citation Reports, Biological Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Inspec.
Help?

TOP PHYSICS JOURNALS

Below are a list of the top ranked journals by Journal Citation Reports in the field of Physics

TOP ASTRONOMY JOURNALS

Below are a list of top ranked journals by Journal Citation Reports in the field of Astronomy:

Physics / Astronomy

Sciences Librarian

RECOMMENDED DATABASES

TOP PHYSICS JOURNALS

TOP ASTRONOMY JOURNALS

Locations

Contact