Good for: Finding information on public policy, social policy, and the social sciences.
Contains: Index to literature.
Dates covered: 1972-present.
Good for: Selecting from a list of EBSCO databases to use for researching various subjects Contains: Database descriptions and links
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Good for: Researching education topics.
Contains: Journal articles.
Dates covered: 1996-present.
Good for: Researching education.
Contains: Journal articles, book chapters, and educational reports.
Dates covered: 1966-present.
Good for: Educators seeking resources related to professional development topics.
Contains: Education journals and reports.
Good for: Researching sociology and related disciplines.
Contains: Index to literature.
Dates covered: 1895-present.
Good for: Analyzing business trends and company information.
Contains: Articles and reports on advertising, marketing, economics, and more.
Dates covered: 1923-present.
Good for: Controversial topics in social issues, environment, health, education, science, and technology.
Contains: Reports with information about all sides of an issue, including comments from experts in the field, charts and graphs, a pro-con feature, a chronology, a bibliography for additional research, and a list of advocacy organizations.
Dates covered: 1923-present.
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Journal articles, streaming media, e-books and dissertations and theses.
Good for: Finding current and recent news articles from major U.S. newspapers.
Contains: Articles from newspapers like the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal.
Dates covered: 1980s-present.
Good for: Searching the text of articles published in the Las Vegas Review-Journal.
Contains: Article text (no images).
Dates covered: 1996-present.
Good for: Researching published news, legal, medical, patents, and business information.
Contains: News, legal, medical, and business information.
Good for: Dissertations and theses.
Contains: Citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations and theses.
Dates covered: Citations from 1861, abstracts from 1980 for dissertations and 1988 for theses, full text from 1996 for UNLV items and 1997 for most others.
Good for: Finding UNLV dissertations and theses.
Contains: Citations, abstracts, and full text of UNLV dissertations and theses.
Dates covered: Full text for most items begins in 1996.
One of the easiest ways to find government information is via Google: After you type in your keywords, then type: site:.gov
This will narrow your search to only federal, state, and local government resources.
For example, you could try the following keyword searches:
Good for: Researching U.S. legislative information.
Contains: Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more.
Dates covered: 1789-present.
Good for: Staying informed about current politics and new legislation in the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate.
Contains: Weekly roundup of congressional activity.
Dates covered: 1983-current date.
Good for: Researching public policy and American government.
Contains: In-depth research on hot topics and legislative analysis.
You can use Google to find statistics published by federal, state, and local agencies by adding site:.gov to your keywords, such as:
Good for: Acquiring and preserving social science data.
Contains: Social science data.
Good for: Finding statistical data.
Contains: Statistical data from various sources.
Good for: Researching U.S. legislative information.
Contains: Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more.
Dates covered: 1789-present.
Use this guide for information on how to search in the Congressional interface, and for links to information on the digital collections.
Nevada Electronic Legislative Information System (NELIS): Information about the current session as well as past sessions, search for your representatives, and more.
Find the Nevada Revised Statutes, Supreme Court decisions, and the Nevada Constitution.
Association for state legislators that provides interesting reports and resources on a wide variety of issues (such as education, health, etc.)
A think tank or policy institute is a research institute which performs research and advocacy concerning topics such as social policy, political strategy, economics, military, technology, and culture. Although many think tanks claim to be neutral, some may be considered to have a more conservative or a more liberal agenda. For example, the Cato Institute is a libertarian think tank and the Heritage Foundation is considered to be conservative. Be sure to examine the "About the Organization page, in addition to outside sources to investigate the organization's agenda and their political views.
Other Resources:
From APA: Detailed instructions and examples from the 7th edition
from APA
Provides a DOI for an article citation when one is available.
Explains when to give credit to another person for their intellectual work (and how to do it correctly). Look for the "Quoting, Paraphrasing, and Summarizing" section on the left for examples of each.
Good for: Saving, organizing and formatting citations in your personal database.
Contains: Bibliography manager.
