LibGuides: HIST 451, Capstone Research Seminar (Tusan): Primary sources

Primary Source Collections arranged by region

Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
African Writers Series This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Age of Exploration This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Apartheid South Africa This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Can also be searched as part of the Archives Direct combined search portal
Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Confidential Print: Africa This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
First World War Portal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement and Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Tourism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
- This link opens in a new window
Primary sources documenting liberation struggles in the region, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.

Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Global Press Archive
Egypt: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1853-1962
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: French Colonialism in Africa: From Algeria to Madagascar, 1910-1930
- This link opens in a new window
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: German Colonies to League of Nations Mandates in Africa 1910-1929
- This link opens in a new window
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Italian Colonies in North Africa and Aggression in East Africa, 1930-1939
- This link opens in a new window
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Political and Economic Consolidation of Portuguese Colonies in Africa, 1910-1929
- This link opens in a new window
Evangelism and the Syria-Lebanon Mission: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1869-1910
- This link opens in a new window
King and the People in Morocco, 1950-1959
- This link opens in a new window
Liberia and the U.S.: Nation-Building in Africa, 1864-1918
- This link opens in a new window
Liberia and the U.S.: Nation-Building in Africa, 1918-1935
- This link opens in a new window
Libya: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1796-1885
- This link opens in a new window
Morocco: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1797-1929
- This link opens in a new window

Empire Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
First World War Portal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Newspapers: South China Morning Post, 1903-2001 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Tourism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Migration to New Worlds This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Secret Files from World Wars to Cold War This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
British government secret intelligence and foreign policy files from 1873 to 1953, with the majority of files dating from the 1930s and 1940s, across four major conflicts – the Spanish Civil War, the Second World War, the early years of the Cold War and the Korean War.
Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Central Asia

Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files
- This link opens in a new window

Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan: From Silk Road to Soviet Rule This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.

Pakistan from Crown Rule to Republic: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1949
- This link opens in a new window

China

Foreign Office Files for China This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.

China: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1939: Part 1
- This link opens in a new window
China: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1939: Part 2
- This link opens in a new window
China: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1940-1944
- This link opens in a new window
China: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1949
- This link opens in a new window
Country Intelligence Reports on China
- This link opens in a new window
Economic Cooperation Administration's Relief Mission in Post-War China, 1946-1948
- This link opens in a new window
Evangelism in China: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1837-1911
- This link opens in a new window

China Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combined search of: China, America and the Pacific, China: Culture and Society, and China: Trade, Politics and Culture.
China and the Modern World: Missionary, Sinology and Literary Periodicals, 1817-1949 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
China and the Modern World: Records of the Maritime Customs Service of China, 1854-1949 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Chinese Maritime Customs Service: The Customs' Gazette, 1869-1913
- This link opens in a new window
19th Century English-Language Journals from the Far East
- This link opens in a new window
Global Press Archive
General George C. Marshall's Mission to China, 1945-1947
- This link opens in a new window
German Foreign Relations and Military Activities in China, 1919-1935
- This link opens in a new window
Policing the Shanghai International Settlement, 1894-1945
- This link opens in a new window
Political Relations Between China, the U.S. and Other Countries, 1910-1929
- This link opens in a new window
Political, Economic, and Military Conditions in China: Reports and Correspondence of the U.S. Military Intelligence Division, 1918-1941
- This link opens in a new window
Records of US State Department's Division of Chinese Affairs
- This link opens in a new window
Records of the Far Eastern Commission, 1945-1952
- This link opens in a new window
Records of the National Council for United States-China Trade 1973-1983
- This link opens in a new window
Records of the U.S. Information Service in China: Chinese Press Reviews and Summaries, 1944-1950
- This link opens in a new window
Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993
- This link opens in a new window

Socialism on Film This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. Covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.

India

Church Missionary Society Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Evangelism in India: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Mission, 1833-1910
- This link opens in a new window

Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.
East India Company This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Hindi Cinema: Histories of Film-making This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The collection includes video interviews, photographs and Hindi film posters from the British Film Institue.
India, Raj and Empire This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department
- This link opens in a new window
India-Pakistan Conflict: Records of the U.S. State Department, February 1963-1966
- This link opens in a new window

South Asia Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Substantial runs of more than 200 journals in a range of subjects published from India and South Asia, including early journals such as Asiatic Researches (first published in 1788), Indian Review, Modern Review and Calcutta Gazette. There is also an array of vernacular journals such as: Bharatbarsha, Prabasi, Manasi, and Sachitra. Also includes Indian Film Booklets, 1930 – 1949. A significant proportion of the collection is in English, but thirty percent of the documents are written in various vernacular languages of the period/region(s).

The Hindu Conspiracy Cases: Activities of the Indian Independence Movement in the U.S., 1908-1933
- This link opens in a new window

Japan

Country Intelligence Reports/State Department's Bureau of Intelligence and Research Reports Japan (1941-1961)
- This link opens in a new window
Evangelism in Japan: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1859-1911
- This link opens in a new window
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: German Colonies in Asia and the Pacific: From Colonialism to Japanese Mandates, 1910-1929
- This link opens in a new window

Meiji Japan This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Foreign Office Files for Japan This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.

JapanSearch
Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan
- This link opens in a new window
Japan-U.S. Economic Relations Group Records, 1979-1981
- This link opens in a new window
Japan: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Commercial Relations, 1910-1949
- This link opens in a new window
Japan: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Political Relations, 1930-1939
- This link opens in a new window
Japan: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Political Relations, 1940-1944
- This link opens in a new window
Japan: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Political Relations, 1945-1949
- This link opens in a new window
Japan: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Commercial Relations, 1950-1963
- This link opens in a new window
Japan: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs, 1950-1954
- This link opens in a new window
Japan: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs, 1955-1959
- This link opens in a new window
Japan: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Political Relations, 1945-1949
- This link opens in a new window
Japan: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1950-1959
- This link opens in a new window
Japan: U.S. Naval Technical Mission, 1945-1946
- This link opens in a new window
Japanese American Internment: Records of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library
- This link opens in a new window
Political Relations and Conflict between Republican China and Imperial Japan, 1930-1939: Records of the U.S. State Department
- This link opens in a new window
Shanghai Municipal Council: The Municipal Gazette, 1908-1940
- This link opens in a new window
The Minutes of the Shanghai Municipal Council
- This link opens in a new window
Subject Files of US State Department's Office of the Republic of China Affairs (1951-1978)
- This link opens in a new window
The Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China Relations: Records of the U.S. State Department's Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955
- This link opens in a new window
The Chinese Recorder and the Protestant Missionary Community in China, 1867-1941
- This link opens in a new window

Korea

Country Intelligence Reports/State Department's Bureau of Intelligence and Research Reports Korea (1941-1961)
- This link opens in a new window
Evangelism in Korea: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1884-1911
- This link opens in a new window
Japan and Korea: Summation of Nonmilitary Activities, 1945-1948
- This link opens in a new window
Korea: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1963
U.S. Army Center of Military History Historical Manuscripts Collection: The Korean War
- This link opens in a new window

Southeast Asia

Ambassador Graham Martin and the Saigon Embassy's Back Channel Communication Files, 1963-1975
- This link opens in a new window
Cambodia: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963
- This link opens in a new window

Conflict in Indochina: Foreign Office Files for Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos, 1959-1979: Section II: Escalation, Reunification and Withdrawal, 1965-1979 This link opens in a new window

European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Colonialism and Nationalism in the Dutch East Indies, 1910-1930
- This link opens in a new window

Foreign Office Files for South East Asia This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
What's included . Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.

Evangelism in Philippines: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1898-1910
- This link opens in a new window
Evangelism in Thailand: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1840-1910
- This link opens in a new window
Indochina, France, and the Viet Minh War, 1945-1954: Records of the U.S. State Department, Part 1: 1945-1949
- This link opens in a new window
Intelligence Reports from the National Security Council's Vietnam Information Group, 1967-1975
Laos: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1963-1966
- This link opens in a new window
The Observer: News for the American Soldier in Vietnam, 1962-1973
- This link opens in a new window
South Vietnam: Records of the Office of the Defense Attache, 1973-1975
- This link opens in a new window
Sukarno and the Army-PKI Rivalry in the Years of Living Dangerously, 1960-1963
- This link opens in a new window
Thailand: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs, 1945-1954
- This link opens in a new window
Thailand: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs, 1955-1963
- This link opens in a new window
The U.S. Civilian Advisory Effort in Vietnam: U.S. Operations Mission, 1950-1954
- This link opens in a new window
The U.S. Civilian Advisory Effort in Vietnam: U.S. Operations Mission, 1954-1957 - Classified & Subject Files of the Executive Office
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. Military Advisory Effort in Vietnam: Military Assistance Advisory Group, Vietnam, 1950-1964
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. Relations and Policies in Southeast Asia, 1944-1958: Records of the Office of Southeast Asian Affairs
- This link opens in a new window
United States-Vietnam Relations, 1945-1967: Study Prepared by the Department of Defense (The Pentagon Papers)
- This link opens in a new window

Age of Exploration This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
First World War Portal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement and Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Tourism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Migration to New Worlds This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

TROVE - newspapers from National Library of Australia

Age of Exploration This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archives Direct (all) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collections sourced from The National Archives, Kew - the UK government's official archive. Subsets are: Apartheid South Africa, Confidential Print: Africa, Confidential Print: Latin America, Confidential Print: Middle East, Confidential Print: North America, Foreign Office Files for China, Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, Foreign Office Files for Japan, Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, The Nixon Years, Macmillan Cabinet Papers, Women in The National Archives, Kew.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 (parts I and II) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also searchable in Gale Primary Sources.
Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Chatham House Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Churchill Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Early Modern England This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes correspondence, diaries, essays, family papers, and church, legal, government and tax records.
East India Company This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Drama: Censorship and the Stage This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
First World War Portal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement and Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Grand Tour This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Tourism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literary Print Culture: The Stationers Company Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
London Low Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mass Observation Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social research organization Mass Observation was founded in 1937 by anthropologist Tom Harrisson, film-maker Humphrey Jennings and poet Charles Madge, who recruited a team of observers and a panel of volunteer writers to document their experiences as evidence for a study of the everyday lives of ordinary people in Britain.
Medical Services and Warfare This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medieval Family Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Migration to New Worlds This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: British Politics and Society This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also searchable in Gale Primary Sources.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: British Theatre, Music, and Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nineteenth Century Literary Society This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also features correspondence charting the founding of the business by John Murray in 1768, the completed, first edition file copy of On the Origin of Species, with related correspondence from Charles Darwin, and financial papers charting the sales success of hundreds of Murray titles.
The Nixon Years This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.
Popular Culture in Britain and America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of Americana combined search portal
Poverty, Philanthropy and Social Conditions in Victorian Britain This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Discover the conditions of workhouses and the administration of the new poor relief system through the official government correspondence of the Poor Law Commission, and explore the demonstrable shift in social conditions and welfare reform. Topics include workhouses and outdoor relief, health and medicine, disability, housing, sanitation, education, and social reform.
Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Socialism on Film This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. Covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.
Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Victorian Popular Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Virginia Company Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of Americana combined search portal
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women in the National Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.
Women’s Voices and Life Writing, 1600-1968 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World’s Fairs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Actes royaux français, 1256-1794 (French Royal Acts, 1256-1794)
- This link opens in a new window
Albania: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1963
- This link opens in a new window
British Political Opinion Polls and Social Surveys, 1960-1988
- This link opens in a new window
Bulgaria: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs, 1945-1949
- This link opens in a new window
Bulgaria: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs, 1950-1954
- This link opens in a new window
Conditions & Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945
- This link opens in a new window
The Cyprus Crisis in 1967
- This link opens in a new window
The Economy and War in the Third Reich, 1933-1944
- This link opens in a new window
Finland: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs, 1945-1949
- This link opens in a new window
Finland: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs, 1950-1954
- This link opens in a new window
Finland: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs, 1955-1959
- This link opens in a new window
Finland: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs, 1960-Jan. 1963
- This link opens in a new window
George H. W. Bush and Foreign Affairs: Bosnia and the Situation in the Former Yugoslavia
- This link opens in a new window
George H. W. Bush and Foreign Affairs: Fall of the Berlin Wall and the Reunification of Germany
- This link opens in a new window
German Anti-Semitic Propaganda, 1909-1941
- This link opens in a new window
German Folklore and Popular Culture: Das Kloster. Scheible.
- This link opens in a new window
German Foreign Relations and Military Activities in China, 1919-1935
- This link opens in a new window
Greece: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1950-1963
- This link opens in a new window
Holocaust and the Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution of Nazi War Crimes
- This link opens in a new window
Hungary: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1963
- This link opens in a new window
The Jewish Question: Records from the Berlin Document Center
- This link opens in a new window
Journaux de la Révolution de 1848 (Newspapers of the French Revolution 1848)
- This link opens in a new window
L'Affaire Dreyfus: son influence dans la création de la France moderne (The Dreyfus Affair in the Making of Modern France)
- This link opens in a new window
La France pendant la guerre 1939-1945: Résistance et journaux de Vichy (Voices from Wartime France 1939-1945: Clandestine Resistance and Vichy Newspapers)
- This link opens in a new window
La Guerra Civil Española
- This link opens in a new window
Mercure de France, 1672-1810
- This link opens in a new window
Military Leaders of World War I: Official and Private Papers of Generaloberst Hans von Seeckt
- This link opens in a new window
Nazi Bank and Financial Institutions: U.S. Military Government Investigation Reports and Interrogations of Nazi Financiers, 1945-1949
- This link opens in a new window
Nazism in Poland: The Diary of Governor-General Hans Frank
- This link opens in a new window
Northern Ireland: A Divided Community, 1921-1972 Cabinet Papers of the Stormont Administration
- This link opens in a new window
Nuremburg Laws and Nazi Annulment of German Jewish Nationality
- This link opens in a new window
Occupation and Independence: The Austrian Second Republic, 1945-1963
- This link opens in a new window
Poland: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1963
- This link opens in a new window
Records of the Deutsche Ausland-Institut, Stuttgart: Records on Resettlement
Records of the Office of the Reich Commissioner for the Strengthening of Germandom
- This link opens in a new window
Romania: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1963
- This link opens in a new window
SAFEHAVEN Reports on Nazi Looting of Occupied Countries and Assets in Neutral Countries
- This link opens in a new window
Testaments to the Holocaust. Documents and Rare Printed Materials from the Wiener Library, London
- This link opens in a new window
Turkey, Greece, and the Balkan States: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1944
- This link opens in a new window
Turkey: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1802-1949
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. Relations with the Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1950
- This link opens in a new window
World War II, Occupation, and the Civil War in Greece, 1940-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
- This link opens in a new window

Age of Exploration This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Argentina: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963
- This link opens in a new window
Bolivia: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963
- This link opens in a new window

Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Brazil: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963
- This link opens in a new window
Chile: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1963
- This link opens in a new window

Church Missionary Society Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Colección Revolución, 1910-1921
- This link opens in a new window
Colombia: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963
- This link opens in a new window

Colonial Caribbean This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Confidential Print: Latin America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.

Crisis in the Dominican Republic: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Files, February 1963-1966
- This link opens in a new window
Cuartel General del Sur, 1910-1925
- This link opens in a new window
Ecuador: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963
- This link opens in a new window
Emiliano Zapata, 1901-1919
- This link opens in a new window

Empire Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Evangelism in Latin America: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1854-1911
- This link opens in a new window

First World War Portal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Foreign Relations Between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944
- This link opens in a new window
Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944
- This link opens in a new window

Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Tourism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mexico in History: Colonialism to Revolution This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Migration to New Worlds This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Nicaragua: Political Instability and U.S. Intervention, 1910-1933
- This link opens in a new window
Nicaragua: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963
- This link opens in a new window
Panama: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1950-1963
- This link opens in a new window
Peru: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963
- This link opens in a new window
Revolution in Honduras and American Business: The Quintessential "Banana Republic"
- This link opens in a new window

Sabin Americana: History of the Americas This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

U.S. Relations with Panama and Operation Just Cause
- This link opens in a new window

Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Venezuela: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963
- This link opens in a new window

African American Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
African American Communities This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Age of Exploration This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Americana This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combined search of American History, American Indian Histories and Cultures, American West, Everyday Life & Women in America c.1800-1920, Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975, Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, and Virginia Company Archives.
American Broadsides and Ephemera This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American Consumer Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combined search of Market Research & American Business, 1935-1965, Trade Catalogues and the American Home, J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America
American History (Gilder Lehrman collection) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American Pamphlets This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of America's Historical Imprints combined search portal
American West This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of Americana combined search portal
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 (parts I and II) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also searchable in Gale Primary Sources.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Colonial America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of Americana combined search portal
Confidential Print: North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.
Congressional Publications (ProQuest Congressional) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information, including access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more. Additionally, searchers can retrieve CIS Legislative Histories for public laws. Contains an index of congressional publications from 1789 to the present and locate information about members and committees. Statutes at Large and Congressional Indexes from 1789-1969 are included.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Everyday Life and Women in America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
First World War Portal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement and Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gateway to North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Gilded Age and Progressive Era This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Annual Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Update frequency: annual
A rich source for scholars in business, economics, and history, this collection of annual reports for 800 U.S. companies dating from 1884 to 2008 provides information on companies, including financial performance, key officers, competitors, and market trends.
Jewish Life in America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Latino-Hispanic American Experience: Leaders, Writers, and Thinkers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Tourism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medical Services and Warfare This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Migration to New Worlds This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Military & Government This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research government administration of the armed forces along with issues confronting the military on and off the battlefield with access to primary source documents including committee prints, government reports, congressional hearings, legislative hearings, etc. The database also includes books, serials, periodicals and scholarly articles.
NAACP Papers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archives of the NAACP: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files; Branch Department, Branch Files and Youth Department Files; Special Subjects.
The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces; Legal Department Files; Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses.
Native American Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Nixon Years This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.
North American Immigrant Letters & Diaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Popular Culture in Britain and America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of Americana combined search portal
Popular Medicine in America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Race Relations in America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Territorial Papers of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Official documents include correspondence between territorial officials and federal agencies, details of tribal treaties, accounts of battles and troop movements, petitions for statehood, and records of agricultural and industrial production. Collections also contain firsthand accounts of frontier life via letters and financial documents.
Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Victorian Popular Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Virginia Company Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of Americana combined search portal
War Department and Indian Affairs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women's Suffrage Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Lily. 1849-1856
National Citizen and Ballot Box. 1878-1881
The Revolution. 1868-1872
The New Citizen. 1909-1912
The Western Woman Voter. 1911-1913
The Remonstrance. 1890-1913
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World’s Fairs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War Organizations, The Vietnam Veterans Against the War
- This link opens in a new window
American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
- This link opens in a new window
American Urban Life and Health, 1883-1914
- This link opens in a new window
Association Against the Prohibition Amendment (1920-53)
- This link opens in a new window
Black Economic Empowerment: The National Negro Business League
- This link opens in a new window
Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle
- This link opens in a new window
Bush (GHW) Presidency and Development and Debate Over Civil Rights Policy and Legislation
- This link opens in a new window
Carter Administration and Foreign Affairs
- This link opens in a new window
Civil War Service Reports of Union Army Generals
- This link opens in a new window
Civil War in Words and Deeds
- This link opens in a new window
Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama (1861-1865)
- This link opens in a new window
D.W. Griffith's Birth of a Nation
- This link opens in a new window
David Bailie Warden Papers
- This link opens in a new window
Development of Environmental Health Policy: Pope A. Lawrence Papers 1924-1983
- This link opens in a new window
Electing the President: Proceedings of the Democratic National Conventions, 1832-1988
- This link opens in a new window
Electing the President: Proceedings of the Republican National Conventions, 1856-1988
- This link opens in a new window
Election of 1948
Etiquette and Advice, 1631-1969
- This link opens in a new window
Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s
- This link opens in a new window
Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
- This link opens in a new window
Final Accountability Rosters of Japanese-American Relocation Centers, 1944-1946
- This link opens in a new window
Ford Administration and Foreign Affairs
- This link opens in a new window
Franklin D. Roosevelt and Race Relations, 1933-1945
- This link opens in a new window
Global Missions and Theology
- This link opens in a new window
Grassroots Civil Rights and Social Action: Council for Social Action
- This link opens in a new window
Greensboro Massacre, 1979: Shootout between the American Nazis and the Communist Workers Party
- This link opens in a new window
Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968
- This link opens in a new window
In Response to the AIDS Crisis: Records of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome, 1983-1994
- This link opens in a new window
Integration of Alabama Schools and the U.S. Military, 1963
- This link opens in a new window
Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration
- This link opens in a new window
JFK and Foreign Affairs, 1961-1963
- This link opens in a new window
James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi
- This link opens in a new window
Japanese American Internment: Records of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library
- This link opens in a new window
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life
- This link opens in a new window
Johnson Administration and Foreign Affairs
- This link opens in a new window
Johnson Presidency Administrative Histories: Economy, Finance and Trade
- This link opens in a new window
Johnson Presidency Administrative Histories: Foreign Affairs and National Security
- This link opens in a new window
Johnson Presidency Administrative Histories: Health, Education and Welfare
- This link opens in a new window
Johnson Presidency Administrative Histories: Labor and Employment
- This link opens in a new window
Johnson Presidency Administrative Histories: Science and Technology
- This link opens in a new window
Liberation Movement in Africa and African America
- This link opens in a new window
Lincoln at the Bar: Extant Case Files from the U.S. District and Circuit Courts, Southern District of Illinois 1855-1861
- This link opens in a new window
Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers' Project
- This link opens in a new window
Minutemen, 1963-1969: Evolution of the Militia Movement in America, Part I
- This link opens in a new window
Meriam Report on Indian Administration and the Survey of Conditions of the Indians in the U.S.
- This link opens in a new window
Methodist Episcopal Church Archives: Missionary Activities
- This link opens in a new window
Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia
- This link opens in a new window
Narcotic Addiction and Mental Health: The Clinical Papers of Lawrence Kolb Sr.
- This link opens in a new window
National Security and FBI Surveillance Enemy Aliens
- This link opens in a new window
Nixon Administration and Foreign Affairs
- This link opens in a new window
Origins of the Cold War
- This link opens in a new window
Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880
- This link opens in a new window
Papers of the Nixon Administration: The President's Confidential and Subject Special Files, 1969-1974
- This link opens in a new window
Personal Justice Denied: Public Hearings of the Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment, 1981
- This link opens in a new window
Presidential Election Polls, 1988: The Gallup/Conus Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Press Conferences of the U.S. Secretaries of State, 1922-1974
- This link opens in a new window
Price Control in the Courts: The U.S. Emergency Court of Appeals, 1941-1961
- This link opens in a new window
Public Housing, Racial Policies, and Civil Rights: The Intergroup Relations Branch of the Federal Public Housing Administration, 1936-1963
- This link opens in a new window
Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement
- This link opens in a new window
Reconstruction, Jim Crow, and the Enforcement of Federal Law in the South, 1871-1884
- This link opens in a new window
Records of the U.S. State Department: Subject Files of the Office of Special Political Affairs and the Creation of the United Nations Organization, 1940-1946
- This link opens in a new window
Reporting on the Coal Industry: The Coal Trade Bulletin, 1901-1918
- This link opens in a new window
Reports of the Immigrant Commission, 1907-1910
- This link opens in a new window
Rise and Fall of Senator Joseph R. McCarthy
- This link opens in a new window
Robert Winslow Gordon and American Folk Music
- This link opens in a new window
Science in World War II
- This link opens in a new window
Southern Negro Youth Congress and the Communist Party
- This link opens in a new window
Spiro T. Agnew Case: The Investigative and Legal Documents
- This link opens in a new window
The Amerasia Affair, China, and Postwar Anti-Communist Fervor
The Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990: Reduction of Acid Rain, Urban Air Pollution, and Environmental Policy
- This link opens in a new window
The Hindu Conspiracy Cases: Activities of the Indian Independence Movement in the U.S., 1908-1933
- This link opens in a new window
The Indian Trade in the Southeastern Spanish Borderlands: Papers of Panton, Leslie and Company
- This link opens in a new window
The Minority Voter, Election of 1936 and the Good Neighbor League
- This link opens in a new window
The Savings and Loan Crisis: Loss of Public Trust and the Federal Bailout, 1989-1993
- This link opens in a new window
The Scopes Case
- This link opens in a new window
The Union Label and the Needle Trades: Records of the United Garment Workers of America
- This link opens in a new window
Through the Camera Lens: The Moving Picture World and the Silent Cinema Era, 1907-1927
- This link opens in a new window
The War on Poverty and the Office of Economic Opportunity: Administration of Antipoverty Programs and Civil Rights, 1964-1967
- This link opens in a new window
Transcripts of the Malcolm X Assassination Trial
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. Information Agency, International Public Opinion, and Public Diplomacy - Field Research Reports, 1952-1986
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. Information Agency, International Public Opinion, and Public Diplomacy - Research Memoranda, Media Reaction Notes, and Opinion Surveys and Analyses, 1963-1999
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. Military Activities and Civil Rights: Integration of the University of Mississippi and the Use of Military Force, 1961-1963
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. Military Activities and Civil Rights: The Little Rock Integration Crisis, 1957-1958
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. Military Activities and Civil Rights: The Military Response to the March on Washington, 1963
- This link opens in a new window
We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death: Freedom Riders in the South, 1961
- This link opens in a new window
Weapons of Mass Destruction and Nonproliferation
- This link opens in a new window
Women's Issues and Their Advocacy Within the White House, 1974-1977
- This link opens in a new window
War of 1812: Diplomacy on the High Seas
- This link opens in a new window

Mexico

Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Colección Revolución, 1910-1921
- This link opens in a new window
Cuartel General del Sur, 1910-1925
- This link opens in a new window
Emiliano Zapata, 1901-1919
- This link opens in a new window
Revolution in Mexico, the 1917 Constitution, and Its Aftermath: Records of the U.S. State Department
- This link opens in a new window

Caribbean

Colonial Caribbean This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Federal Surveillance of the Partido Independentista Puertorriqueño
- This link opens in a new window
Foreign Relations Between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944
- This link opens in a new window
Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. and Castro's Cuba, 1950-1970: The Paterson Collection
- This link opens in a new window

Canada

Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan: From Silk Road to Soviet Rule This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.
Chatham House Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Churchill Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Church Missionary Society Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Confidential Print: Middle East This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.
The Collapse of the Ottoman Empire and the Partition of the Middle East This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
First World War Portal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Foreign Office Files for the Middle East This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Tourism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli Relations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Aden: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1880-1906
- This link opens in a new window
Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files
- This link opens in a new window
British Mandate in Palestine, Arab-Jewish Relations, and the U.S. Consulate at Jerusalem, 1920-1944
- This link opens in a new window
Democracy in Turkey, 1950-1959: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
- This link opens in a new window
Evangelism and the Syria-Lebanon Mission: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1869-1910
- This link opens in a new window
Evangelism in Iran: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1847-1911
- This link opens in a new window
The French Mandate in The Lebanon, Christian-Muslim Relations, and the U.S. Consulate at Beirut, 1920-1941
- This link opens in a new window
George H. W. Bush and Foreign Affairs: The Middle East Peace Conference in Madrid
- This link opens in a new window
Global Press Archive
Iran (Persia): Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1883-1959
- This link opens in a new window
Iraq: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1888-1944
- This link opens in a new window
Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, Trans-Jordan: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1836-1944
- This link opens in a new window
The Middle East Online: Iraq, 1914-1974
- This link opens in a new window
Palestine and Israel: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1959
- This link opens in a new window
The Persian Gulf States and Yemen, 1950-1959
- This link opens in a new window
Records of the Persian Gulf War
- This link opens in a new window
Saudi Arabia: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1959
- This link opens in a new window
Turkey, Greece, and the Balkan States: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1944
- This link opens in a new window
Turkey: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1802-1949
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. and Iraqi Relations: U.S. Technical Aid, 1950-1958
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. Middle East Peace Policy and America's Role in the Middle East Peace Process, 1991-1992
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. Operations Mission in Iran, 1950-1961
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. Operations Mission to Saudi Arabia, 1950-1955: Correspondence and Subject Files of the Office of the Director
- This link opens in a new window

Commercial and Trade Relations Between Tsarist Russia, the Soviet Union and the U.S., 1910-1963
- This link opens in a new window

Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan: From Silk Road to Soviet Rule This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.

Country Intelligence Reports/State Department's Bureau of Intelligence and Research Reports USSR (1941-1961)
- This link opens in a new window
Czechoslovakia from Liberation to Communist State, 1945-63: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
- This link opens in a new window
East Germany from Stalinization to the New Economic Policy, 1950-1963
- This link opens in a new window
George H. W. Bush and Foreign Affairs: The Moscow Summit and the Dissolution of the USSR
- This link opens in a new window
Global Press Archive
Origins of the Cold War
- This link opens in a new window
Posters of the Russian Civil War, 1918-1922
Russian Civil War and American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia, 1918-20
- This link opens in a new window
Russian Historical News Sources

Secret Files from World Wars to Cold War This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
British government secret intelligence and foreign policy files from 1873 to 1953, with the majority of files dating from the 1930s and 1940s, across four major conflicts – the Spanish Civil War, the Second World War, the early years of the Cold War and the Korean War.
Socialism on Film This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. Covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.

Socialism and National Unity in Yugoslavia, 1945-63: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
- This link opens in a new window
United States and the Russian Civil War: The Betty Miller Unterberger Collection of Documents
- This link opens in a new window
World Communism: Pamphlets from McMaster University
- This link opens in a new window
World War I and Revolution in Russia, 1914-1918
- This link opens in a new window

Official government publications, including laws, treaties, and records of legislative proceedings.

Great Britain

Archives Direct (all) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collections sourced from The National Archives, Kew - the UK government's official archive. Subsets are: Apartheid South Africa, Confidential Print: Africa, Confidential Print: Latin America, Confidential Print: Middle East, Confidential Print: North America, Foreign Office Files for China, Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, Foreign Office Files for Japan, Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, The Nixon Years, Macmillan Cabinet Papers, Women in The National Archives, Kew.
Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan: From Silk Road to Soviet Rule This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.
Churchill Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Colonial America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of Americana combined search portal
Confidential Print: Africa This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.
Confidential Print: Latin America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.
Confidential Print: Middle East This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.
Confidential Print: North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.
Conflict in Indochina: Foreign Office Files for Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos, 1959-1979: Section II: Escalation, Reunification and Withdrawal, 1965-1979 This link opens in a new window
East India Company This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Foreign Office Files for China This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.
Foreign Office Files for Japan This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.
Foreign Office Files for South East Asia This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
What's included . Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.
Foreign Office Files for the Middle East This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.
India, Raj and Empire This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Macmillan Cabinet Papers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.
Making of Modern Law (MOML) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli Relations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Nixon Years This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.
Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Routledge English Historical Documents This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women in the National Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.

British Foreign Office: United States Correspondence, 1930-1934
- This link opens in a new window
British Foreign Office: United States Correspondence, 1935-1937
- This link opens in a new window
British Foreign Office: United States Correspondence, 1938-1940
- This link opens in a new window
British Foreign Office: United States Correspondence, 1941-1943
- This link opens in a new window
British Foreign Office: United States Correspondence, 1944-1945
- This link opens in a new window
British Foreign Office: United States Correspondence, 1946-1948
- This link opens in a new window
Industrial Mobilization in Britain and the Ministry of Munitions, 1915-1918
- This link opens in a new window
The Papers of Joseph Chamberlain
- This link opens in a new window
The Papers of Neville Chamberlain
- This link opens in a new window
The Papers of Sir Austen Chamberlain
- This link opens in a new window
Women, War and Society, 1914-1918
- This link opens in a new window

Newspapers

British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Global Press Archive

Historical Newspapers: The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

RetroNews (French)

Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also searchable in Gale Primary Sources.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Nichols Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Newspapers: South China Morning Post, 1903-2001 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

TROVE - newspapers from National Library of Australia

Periodicals

Gale OneFile: Informe Academico This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals, part I: Women's, Children's, Humour, and Leisure This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals, part II: Empire This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale Primary Sources
British Periodicals Collection I and II This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

International Women's Periodicals, 1786-1933: Social and Political Issues
- This link opens in a new window

Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2015 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Books

Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gerritsen Collection-Women's History Online, 1543-1945 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Hathi Trust This link opens in a new window
Making of Modern Law (MOML) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Archival Collections

International Climatic Changes and Global Warming
- This link opens in a new window
Records of the U.S. State Department: Subject Files of the Office of Special Political Affairs and the Creation of the United Nations Organization, 1940-1946
- This link opens in a new window
The Global Financial and Economic Crisis
- This link opens in a new window
The Global War on Terrorism
- This link opens in a new window
The International War on Drugs
- This link opens in a new window

These links allow you to search across multiple databases at the same time.

AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes 19th Century UK Periodicals, Archives of Sexuality & Gender (LGBTQ History), British Library Newspapers, The Economist (1843-2014), Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, Sabin Americana (1500-1926), China and the Modern World, London Times Digital Archive, and London Times Literary Supplement.
Historical U.S. Newspapers from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender‎ (1909 - 1975)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune‎ (1849 - 1993)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Christian Science Monitor‎ (1908 - 2003)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times‎ (1881 - 1993)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times‎ (1851 - 2013)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Tribune‎ (1841 - 1922)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post‎ (1877 - 2000)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: U.S. West, including Reno Gazette-Journal (1876-2008), San Francisco Examiner (1889-2007), and Spokane Statesman-Review (1894-2009)
Historical Periodicals from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American Periodicals‎ (1740 - 1940)
British Periodicals‎ (1681 - 1939)
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive‎ (1880 - 2000)
The Harper's Bazaar Archive‎ (1867 - current)
Periodicals Archive Online‎
The Vogue Archive‎
Women's Magazine Archive‎ (1846 - 2005)
The Women's Wear Daily Archive‎
Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search all collections of historical primary sources from Readex simultaneously: America's Historical Newspapers, American Broadsides and Ephemera; American Pamphlets; Early American Imprints (Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker).

EBSCO 19th C periodicals
- This link opens in a new window

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Choose the Images / Primary Sources search to search digitized collections from partner universities and museums.
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.

History Commons (Coherent Digital)
Search 19th century American primary sources, British government document collections.

Microfilmed research collections

UNLV Libraries Microform Collection Finder This link opens in a new window
Discover microform research collections at UNLV Libraries.
Browse or search brief descriptions of the research collections available on microform at Lied Library. Use a very broad search term (for example, try "women and history" instead of "Seneca Falls Women's Rights Convention") because this tool searches short summaries of very large microfilmed collection. The Microform Collection Finder does not search the microfilm itself.

Recognizing Primary Sources

Historical Documents: how to read them
Step-by-step advice from the history librarian at Thompson Rivers University in Kamloops, BC.

Second World War

"World War, 1939-1945"
You can use the phrase above in the subject field to limit your search in the book stacks to just works about WWII - WWII or Second World War or World War Two will be hit and miss as keywords. Adding the term Sources will bring back collections of reprinted primary sources.

Subject Guide

Priscilla Finley, humanities librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Lied Library LLB1187

(702) 895-2132

Subjects: English, Film Studies, History, Literature, Philosophy, Theater Arts, World Languages and Cultures

HIST 451, Capstone Research Seminar (Tusan): Primary sources

Primary Source Collections arranged by region

Microfilmed research collections

Recognizing Primary Sources

Second World War

Subject Guide

Locations

Contact