Good for: Gaining an overview of how academics have approached a topic.
Contains: Essays describing an area of study and its key methods and sources.
WorldCat lets you identify books held by other libraries that you may be able to borrow from interlibrary loan.
Good for: Searching library holdings worldwide.
Contains: Catalog of library holdings.
Dates covered: 11th century-present.
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Good for: Finding peer-reviewed articles and book reviews about world history (excluding the United States and Canada).
Contains: Citations to journal articles and book reviews.
Dates covered: 1954-present.
Good for: Exploring a wide range of scholarly topics.
Contains: Scholarly journals, ebooks, art images and primary source collections
Good for: Researching humanities and social sciences topics.
Contains: Scholarly journals and e-books.
Dates covered: 1995-present.
Good for: Looking at changes in cultural understanding of a broad topic (e.g. animals, childhood, fashion, emotions, or food) over time.
Contains: Collections of essays examining cultural phenomena in different historical eras.
Good for: Access to nearly any public domain (pre-1929) book owned and scanned by a library.
Contains: Digitized books.
Current overviews of scholarship
Good for: Learning about historiography, historical theory, methods for analyzing primary sources, and schools of thought within the discipline of history.
Contains: Collections of essays and monographs.
Good for: Gaining an overview of how academics have approached a topic.
Contains: Essays describing an area of study and its key methods and sources.
Good for: Creating reading lists or consulting overviews of topics to identify significant scholarship.
Contains: Annotated bibliographies focused on areas of study within a discipline.
Older guides for use doing historiography
Dissertations
Dissertations generally have excellent bibliographies and often include a section that reviews scholarship done on a topic.
Good for: Dissertations and theses.
Contains: Citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations and theses.
Dates covered: Citations from 1861, abstracts from 1980 for dissertations and 1988 for theses, full text from 1996 for UNLV items and 1997 for most others.
