Skip to Main Content

HMD 130: Fundamentals of Food & Beverage Operations: Cite Your Sources (APA Help)

Resources to support assignments in the course

APA Citation Help Guide

Welcome to the APA Style Help Guide!

This guide contains quick guide links and tools to help readers format their reference lists and in-text citations in APA 7th edition.

For additional assistance, please visit the writing center at this link - https://writingcenter.unlv.edu/.

Background photo created by freepik - www.freepik.com

Help Guides

American Psychological Association Resources

APA Reference Examples
More than 100 reference examples and their corresponding in-text citations are presented in the seventh edition Publication Manual. Examples of the most common works that writers cite are provided on this page; additional examples are available in the Publication Manual.
Database Information in References
7th edition - Do not include database information for works obtained from most academic research databases or platforms because works in these resources are widely available. This includes journal articles, books, and book chapters from academic research databases.
APA 7th Style In-Text Citation Guide
APA Style DOIs and URLs
APA Style Table Setup
Sample APA Tables
APA Handouts
APA Tutorials and Webinars
APA 7th In-Text Citation UNLV Writing Center
APA 7th References - UNLV Writing Center

How to cite industry and market reports

Additional Resources

Purdue OWL - APA Style

APA Style Blog

Formatting and Organizing Software

RefWorks
Good for: Saving, organizing and formatting citations in your personal database.
Contains: Bibliography manager.

This web-based bibliography manager lets you save citations to journal articles, books, web sites and more into your personal online database. You'll be able to quickly link to online articles, organize and share your references, and automatically create formatted bibliographies in all the major citation formats, including APA, MLA, and Chicago styles. Learn more on the RefWorks Basics page.

RefWorks Video Tutorials

Mendeley
Good for: Managing and formatting citations.
Contains: Bibliography manager.

Mendeley Help Guides
Zotero
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you
collect, organize, cite, and share research.
Zotero Quick Start Guide

Quick Citation Tools

Paraphrasing Tutorials

Using Other People's Ideas

© University of Nevada Las Vegas