Skip to main content

Physical Therapy

This guide is intended to support doctor of physical therapy students and their faculty with their scholarly research efforts.

Xan Goodman, Nursing, Allied Health & Community Health Sciences Librarian

Xan Goodman, Nursing, Allied Health & Public Health Librarian's picture
Xan Goodman, Nursing, Allied Health & Public Health Librarian
Contact:
Lied Library
Office 1184
702-895-2233

About this Guide

This guide is intended to help you with your research. You will find databases, journals, ebooks, and reference books to help you with your research process, or provide background information on physical therapy topics. 

Photo credit: 150313-M-TH981-001.JPG by Susan Schultz

What is Physical Therapy?

The World Confederation for Physical Therapy:

"Physical therapists provide services that develop, maintain and restore people’s maximum movement and functional ability. They can help people at any stage of life, when movement and function are threatened by ageing, injury, diseases, disorders, conditions or environmental factors.

Physical therapists help people maximise their quality of life, looking at physical, psychological, emotional and social wellbeing. They work in the health spheres of promotion, prevention, treatment/intervention, habilitation and rehabilitation."

Recommended Resources

Here are some good places to start your research.

RefWorks: General Information

RefWorks is a time-saving tool for busy graduate students. Ref-Works is web-based bibliographic software package that enables you to:

UPDATE: RefWorks-COS is pleased to announce lifelong access to users that are alumni of subscribing institutions. For additional information please visit this link .

Your ILL Account

From the ILL logon page, click on First Time Users.  

Enter all required information.

  • Your RebelCard Barcode is the 14 digit number on the back of your RebelCard

  • You MUST first register this barcode and activate your library card at any circulation desk

  • For your convenience, we recommend that you use ACE account as your ILL username and password. 

  • Select a delivery/pickup location

    • LIED - main library

    • ARCH - Architectural Studies Library

    • TDRL - Teacher Development & Resources Library

    • MUSIC - Music Library

    • OFF CAMPUS (distance education, remote access or Shadow Lane Campus

  • Click Submit when finished. 

If you receive an error message when trying to register, please contact the ILL office at (702) 895-2152 during our business hours for assistance.

Requests:

Log into your MY ILL Account, under “New Request” click on the type of material you want (Article, Book, Book Chapter, Conference Paper etc.)

  • Enter as much information as possible.
  • Use the Notes Field for additional information.
  • Click "Submit Request."
  • Do not submit multiple items on one request form.

How do I edit a request already submitted?

  • Contact ILL staff at (702) 895-2152 or illiad@unlv.edu
  • Provide the TN# and the information to be changed in the email.

Why did my article disappear from the list?

There are 2 possibilities:

  • You clicked on the Remove checked document button for that article.The document was online for more than 30 days and expired.
    • If you accidentally delete a document, there is an "Undelete" link next to each transaction in the request history in your ILLiad profile.
    • Contact ILL staff at (702) 895-2152 or illiad@unlv.edu for assistance

 

ILL materials may be renewed once from the original due date, depending the approval of the owning institution. You can request a renewal through your ILL account. 

1. Log into your ILL account. Click on a transaction number you wish to renew.

2. Click on "Renew Request" on the left-top corner of the screen.

3.  You will receive an automated e-mail within a few days notifying you that your renewal was granted or denied.

 

To update your ILL account information, select a new pickup location or reset your password:

Log into  My ILL Account, under "Tools"  

  • Select “Change User Information” to edit

    • Name

    • Email address

    • Daytime phone number

    • Campus affiliation

    • Customer status

    • Department

    • Pickup location

  • Select "Reset Password" to change your password.

    • This password is specific to the ILL system.

    • This password is not related to your ACE account password.

If you have forgotten your password:

  • From  My ILL Account, click “Forgot Password?

  • Enter your ILL Username and click "Reset Password."

    • An email will be sent to the email account you entered into your ILL profile.

    • If you do not receive an email within 30 minutes, contact the ILL office.

  • Follow the link in the email you receive.

    • You will be directed to a page where you can reset your password.

 If you have forgotten your username:

  • Contact the Interlibrary Loan office at illiad@unlv.edu or (702) 895-2152 for assistance.

Loading ...

DPT 756 Library Workshop Questions Spring 2018

1) How do I transfer a citation from a website to RefWorksk?

Here is a video you can watch that will show you how to add references from Google Scholar to RefWorks. If you need further assistance with this please make an appointment with me.

 

2)How do I narrow down search information without missing good articles? Your search should always begin as broad as possible. Cast a net to gather articles, if you find that you’re retrieving too many irrelevant hits then revise your search and try again. It takes patience and practice to search, don’t give up. In-library lingo search is often described as an iterative process. To search well requires revising your search statement to retrieve the most precise and relevant results.

 

3)How to save articles to Mendeley?

Here is a link the Mendeley blog that explains different ways to add articles to Mendeley.

 

4)How do I search PubMed from inside RefWorks?

The PubMed search inside RefWorks is imperfect. To search PubMed in RefWorks following these steps: Sign into RefWorks; on the left hand side of the screen select the link for Search Databases, the default Database is PubMed. You can perform your search in the large window.

 

5)How do I make a bibliography using Mendeley?

Here is a link to a guide created by University of Washington that has good visual examples of how to create a bibliography using Mendeley.

 

6)How do I use Refworks and Mendeley better?

I recommend selecting one of the tools to use in your research process and try out to determine if it best suits your needs. The one way to get better with any of these tools is to just practice.

 

7)How do I identify the best source for information?

Identifying the best source of information requires applying your critical thinking skills to verify the source of information. There are a number mnemonics one can apply to an information source. One is the CRA test, where one interrogates the credibility, relevance, and authority of an information source. Critical thinking is the essential tool used to identify the best source of information for a particular purpose.To discuss this further make an appointment with me.

 

8)How do I choose the best database?

Selecting a database depends on the aims of your research. I recommend becoming familiar with a range of databases that are relevant to your field. There is an easy way to approach this, from the main page of the University Library website, library.unlv.edu, select the All Libraries Databases link. Select, All Subjects, and then select Health Sciences & Medicine, under this link you will find all of the databases relevant to disciplines within the health sciences. Using the resources found at the Health Sciences & Medicine link is the best way to expose yourself to University Library licensed resources. Again, if you have more questions make an appointment so we can talk further.  


9)How do I use citation manager in Mendeley? I’m not sure what your referring to here.

10)How do I submit an interlibrary loan request?  Here is a link to a pictorial tutorial on how to submit an interlibrary loan request from our ILLiad service.

11)How do I search for more articles by broadening the search terms? You can search for more articles by brainstorming synonyms or related terms to broaden your search. Remember if you use the boolean operator OR between terms this will  broaden your search. For example the search HIV OR HIV+ will broaden your search to capture both terms.

12)How do I know what to change for MeSH terms? The best way to check MeSH terms is to search the MeSH database. Here is a link to the MeSH database, enter your term, and perform a search to determine if your term is a MeSH term.

13)How transport references to EndNote? The University Library does not support EndNote. There is a one-hour and twenty-three-minute EndNote Essential Training in Lynda.com. You can access Lynda.com from the main page of the University Library website (library.unlv.edu). From the All Library Databases link, select the letter “L” for Lynda.com. If off-campus sign-on using your ACE account. There is also a guide here with tips for EndNote users.

14)The use of NOT as a boolean tearm (I’m too cautious to use it). I recommend using caution with the use of the term NOT because you do want to be careful not to eliminate something that might be helpful to your search. Continue to practice caution and use NOT sparingly.

 

15)How much the order of search terms matters how it affects the search? The order of search terms in a query can affect the search outcome. In some databases search is done from left to right so your query results will be based on the search order.

 

16)I got a little lost on using ILLiad? Take a look at this  link  to learn more about interlibrary loan.

 

17) How do I import from PubMed into RefWorks?  

Here is a link to a how to export records from PubMed into RefWorks.

 

18)How to set up alerts for new articles? Please take a look at the workshop handout, there are detailed instructions to create alerts using several tools. Here is a link to the workshop handout.

 

19)What is MeSH used for?  

MeSH is used as the taxonomy that undergirds PubMed and several other databases. MeSH is also used to construct search queries.

 

20)How is EndNote applicable, I know it is similar to RefWorks, I will be will using EndNote and I’d appreciate practical experience.

The University Library does not support EndNote. To learn more about EndNote you can try the following, in Lynda.com, there is a EndNote Essential Training that is one-hour and twenty-three minutes. You can access Lynda.com from the main page of the University Library website (library.unlv.edu). From the All Library Databases link select the letter “L” for Lynda.com.  If off-campus sign-on using your ACE account. There is also a guide here with tips for EndNote users.

 

21)How does MeSH work exactly? MeSH is the thesaurus that undergirds PubMed, here is a link to Fact Sheet about MeSH. Indexers at the National Library of Medicine use MeSH to index articles that are in the PubMed database. MeSH is based on a tree structure and includes that link a MeSH term to a hierarchy. You can read more about MeSH here.

 

22)How do I use EndNote? The University Library does not support EndNote. There is a one-hour and twenty-three-minute EndNote Essential Training in Lynda.com. You can access Lynda.com from the main page of the University Library website (library.unlv.edu). From the All Library Databases link, select the letter “L” for Lynda.com. If off-campus sign-on using your ACE account. There is also a guide here with tips for EndNote users.

 

23)How can I understand how RefWorks works completely?

I think the only way to understand RefWorks entirely is to commit to using it as a tool so you will learn the intricacies of RefWorks. Here is a link to a RefWorks guide that will help you learn more.

 

24)How do I search for specific topics using keywords? In most licensed library resources you can enter your search string to find information about a specific topic. If you have questions about specific resources, please make an appointment to discuss with me further.



 

© University of Nevada Las Vegas
**