LibGuides: Physical Therapy: Finding Articles & Databases

About this Page

This page contains a list of good places to begin your research process. There is mix of article databases and other related resources relevant to the Physical Therapy and other disciplines within the School of Allied Health Sciences. If you're looking for a database, try the Recommended Resources on the Getting Started page.

Physical Therapy & Related Databases

This list of resources contains journal articles and other research materials about allied health sciences topics. For more Physical Therapy & related databases, see Recommended Resources.

AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AccessPhysiotherapy is an online collection of physical therapy and internal medicine titles, interactive imaging content, curricular management tracking tools and tests, more than 80 videos, neurology lectures and image banks.
Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles about complementary and alternative medicine.
Update frequency: quarterly
Alt Health Watch offers abstracts or full text of nearly 50,000 articles from over 160 international, peer-reviewed, and professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters about complementary and alternative medicine. Covers such areas of alternative medicine as acupuncture, chiropractic, aromatherapy, naturopathy, homeopathy, osteopathy, and numerous cross-cultural therapies.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bates' Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for advanced assessment or introduction to clinical medicine courses.
BioMedCentral Open Access This link opens in a new window
Over 150 peer-reviewed journals in medicine and biology.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1982-
The main index for nursing literature and allied health.
Update frequency: weekly
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature is an index to literature in nursing and allied health. This database provides indexing, abstracting, and full text for over 1,600 current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982, totaling over 700,000 records.
Clinical Key This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Clinical Key provides full text access to leading medical textbooks, including specialties in internal medicine, orthopedic surgery, neurology and more.
In addition, Clinical Key provides access to nearly one million images, including tables, graphics and illustrations, as well as to full text journals, an evidence-based, point of care tool, guidelines, multimedia and much more.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of evidence based medicine databases.
Update frequency: Updated quarterly
Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
citations 1861-; abstracts 1980-; full text 1997-
Full text of most dissertations produced after 1997; citations and abstracts for others.
Update frequency: Updated quarterly
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses contains over 1.5 million entries, providing citations to North American and European dissertations from 1861 forward, with abstracts from 1980 forward. It also provides citations and abstracts for theses from 1988 forward. Full text of UNLV theses and dissertations available from 1996 to the present. Full text from all other institutions available from 1997 to the present.
Dissertations and Theses: UNLV This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of most UNLV dissertations produced after 1997; citations and abstracts for others.
Embase This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Embase is an index to scholarly articles in medicine, biomedical sciences, and allied health subjects.
Embase content is indexed using a specialized thesaurus, Emtree, that includes biomedical, chemical, and drug terms. There is a special focus on drugs and devices.
F.A. Davis PT Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
F.A. Davis Physical Therapy Collection is a reference collection of full-text and fully-searchable physical therapy titles with over 400 videos on physical examination, evaluation, intervention, and rehabilitation.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global Health is derived from over 7,000 journals, reports, books, and conferences, and contains over 2.7 million scientific records from 1973 to the present.
Published by CAB International, this is the only specialist bibliographic database dedicated to public health, with a focus on international medical and health research, capturing key literature that is not covered by other databases.
Health and medical dictionaries in Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Health and medical dictionaries.
Includes Collins Dictionary of Medicine, Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations, Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary, Mosby's Dental Dictionary, Mosby's Dictionary of Complementary and Alternative Medicine, Mosby's Medical, Nursing and Allied Health Dictionary, Saunders Comprehensive Veterinary Dictionary, Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary and more.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, this comprehensive bibliographic database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
It also provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, including those from industrial organizational behavior and education. HaPI includes citations to freestanding instruments as well as instruments that have only appeared in journal or technical reports, published and unpublished.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1985-present
An index to about 850 journals in health sciences.
Nursing and allied health coverage is especially strong. Also includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive range of resources including literature reviews, recommended practices and procedures, information guideline sheets, comprehensive systematic reviews and protocols, consumer information sheets and technical reports from one of the world's foremost providers of evidence-based information.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information on the influence of individual periodicals to publishing within specific scholarly disciplines (impact factors).
JCR gives information year-by-year on the impact factors of journals as well as the half-life (for how many years an article is cited after publication) of journals.
Journals@Ovid This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins (LWW) full text nursing journals with deep backfiles.
Journals@Ovid consists of two sets of nursing titles. One set has about 40 titles on nursing and health professions with content from 1997 to present. The Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins Legacy Archive Collection has 240 nursing titles with coverage ending after 1999.
LWW Total Access Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All LWW journals available on OvidSP , including core journals and specialized resources in such areas as nursing and bioscience.
Medline via OCLC FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1965-
Index of medical literature, including over 15,800,000 records from medical, dental, and nursing journals.
Medline via OVID This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 23 million article citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals.
Medline via Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1950-
Over 15 million records from medical and life sciences journals.
Searching Medline on the Web of Knowledge platform allows you to also search several other databases at the same time.
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1938 to present

Reviews of English-language personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, educational, achievement, and intelligence tests. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Produced by the Buros Institute, this database contains information from the 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th, 13th, 14th, and 15th Mental Measurements Yearbooks. Records contain descriptive information and critical reviews of over 2,200 standardized English-language personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, educational, achievement, and intelligence tests. Subject coverage includes behavioral science, education, psychiatry, psychology, speech, language, and hearing. Paper copies back to 1938.
Merck Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for chemicals and their properties, including biologicals as well as both human and veterinary drugs.
Search by keyword, chemical formula, physical property and chemical structure. The Merck Index Online contains information from over 11,500 monographs and reference data.
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1987-
Full text articles from 50 peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association.
PsycARTICLES provides the full text for articles from 50 peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. The database covers general, specialized, basic, applied, and clinical psychology, and theoretical research. It contains more than 32,000 full text articles, letters to the editor and errata.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to DSM-V-TR and The American Journal of Psychiatry plus other references for diagnosis, treatment, research, professional development, and lifelong learning.
The DSM-V is a standard resource for diagnosis in Psychology.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods has tools and content to help design research projects, plan a study, learn methodological approaches, gather data, and understand findings.
A full-text collection of real social research case studies is incorporated to help understand abstract methodological concepts in practice. Datasets from both international and national sources accompanied by how-to guides covering numerous quantitative and qualitative research methods are included. SRM contains more than 600 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, journal articles, videos, and handbooks as well as the entire Little Green Book (quantitative) and Little Blue Book (qualitative) series. A taxonomy of over 1400 methods terms is featured along with a Methods Map which visualizes relationships among methods terms, concepts, people, and literature. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
Science Citation Index Expanded This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Science Citation Index Expanded ® provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 5,900 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nearly 2,000 full text Elsevier journals covering the areas of social science, medicine, science, and technology with deep backfiles for more than 1600 journals.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1960-
Scopus is an index to peer-reviewed scientific, medical, technical, and social science literature.
Scopus also features a citation index, allowing you to find the papers that cite a specific piece of research.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1975-
Journal articles and more about all aspects of sports, physical education and sports medicine. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Update frequency: quarterly
An international database indexing journal articles, books, conference proceedings, research papers, and dissertations and theses in sports medicine, biomechanics, psychology, coaching, physical education and fitness, training, and other related topics. Includes access to the full text of more than 230 journals
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1990-
Web of Science is a platform for Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Index, Journal Citation Reports, Biological Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Inspec.
Help?

Selected Physical Therapy Resources

American College of Sports Medicine
Includes sports medicine and exercise science resources such as physical activity guidelines and ACSM position papers.
American Council on Exercise
Information on personal-trainer certification as well as health and fitness information (including an exercise library).
American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine
Among the resources on this page are consensus statements, grant information, and patient information sheets.
National Coalition for Promoting Physical Activity
Includes a variety of reports, including some that include statistics about physical activity.

PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 37,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible.
SUMSearch 2
Combines meta-searching and contingency searching in order to automate searching for medical evidence.Simultaneously searches multiple Internet sites and collates the results into one page.
TRIP (Translating Research Into Practice) Database Plus
TRIP is an open source database of evidence-based literature.

Physical Therapy & Related Journals

The following list of physical therapy and related topic journals in which physical therapy faculty from UNLV publish in, this list is not comprehensive.

Lancet Neurology
Nature Reviews Neurology
Alzheimers and Dementia
Annals of Neurology
Brain
Acta Neuropathologica
Sleep Medicine Reviews
JAMA Neurology
Neuroscientists
Stroke
Pain
Sleep
Movement Disorders

Physical Therapy

About this Page

Physical Therapy & Related Databases

Selected Physical Therapy Resources

Physical Therapy & Related Journals

Locations

Contact