What's on this page...
Lesson Planning
- Awesome Library: Lesson Plans Access categorized lesson plans here or use the search box to find materials.
- Daily Lesson Plan An archive of lesson plans organized by subject; also searchable by grade range and keyword. From the New York Times Learning Network.
- Discovery Education: Lesson Plans Library "View lesson plans for elementary, middle and high school students....hundreds of original lesson plans, all written by teachers for teachers. Use the pull-down menus ... to browse by subject, grade, or both."
- EDSITEment Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities, offers lesson plans by subject and grade level.
- Education World's Lesson Planning page
See the links on the left hand side to access lesson plans by subject. - Educator's Reference Desk Over 2,000 unique teacher-created lesson plans, categorized and searchable.
- EduHound Lesson Plans "Explore thousands of free lesson plans that meet state and national standards." (from the Website)
- Exploratorium: Inquiry Activities A handful of inquiry based lessons from the Institute for Inquiry.
- FREE: Federal Resources for Educational Excellence ...this federally sponsored site indexes more than 1,500 teaching and learning resources under the categories Arts and Music, Health and Phys Ed, History and Soc Studies, Language Arts, Math, and Science...Both teachers and students can benefit from FREE.
- Hot Chalk: Lesson Plans Page This site claims to have over 3,500 free lesson plans, categorized by subject or season! Site is also searchable.
- ide@s ..."teacher-reviewed, standard-aligned lessons, interactive tools, video and other resources for use in curriculum development and classroom instruction." (from the Website
- Inspiring Teachers Specifically targeting new teachers, this site is intended to assist classroom teachers by providing helpful ideas and tips, encouragement, teaching strategies, recommended books by subject, discussion lists, and a weekly newsletter.
- K-12 Teacher Lesson Plans This is a megasite from the creators of the Education Atlas Website. Includes links to cites with lesson plans for art, history, social studies, math, science and language arts.
- Learn NC: Lesson Plans "...lesson plans span the wide range of curriculum areas for every grade from K to 12... includes the best instructional plans created by North Carolina educators as well as high-quality materials from state and national partners." (from the Website)
- Lesson Planet A search engine for teachers that provides teacher-reviewed online resources including more than 150,000 online lesson plans.
- Lesson Plans for Social Studies Teachers Provided by educator Dr. Marty Levine, this site offers an extensive listing of sites offering K-12 social study resources. (from the ACRL EBSS CMC Webliography)
- Library of Congress: Teachers
Offers teaching tips, activities and lesson plans (history & culture) that utilize over 100 American Memory collections -- primary source materials such as photographs, audio files, maps and other historical documents. - Literacy Web Promotes the use of best practices in literary instruction. "...offers an extensive collection of ... materials ... topics from assessment to technology ... curriculum links for preschoolers through adults, including ESL." (Choice review)
- MERLOT: Learning Materials Teacher Education defines a learning material to be "any digital entity designed to meet a specific learning outcome that can be reused to support learning." Peer reviewed web resources to support teaching and curriculum.
- Mid-Continent Research for Education & Learning "Links to selected lesson plans and other resources that are helpful for curriculum planning... Each subject area is organized by topic." (from the Website)
- Models of Information Inquiry
Links to multiple models of teaching and learning inquiry and research approaches and skills. Most models also have a bibliography for further reading. Great resource! - National History Education Clearinghouse Search for lesson plans but also find state standards, information on grants, professional development materials and more
- PBS Teachers Browse PreK-12 standards-based resources by subject area and grade level.
- Smithsonian Education: Educators
Lesson plans, resources, state standards and more. Search by grade level, subject or keyword. - Solution Site "The Solution Site is filled with K-12, hands-on, problem based thematic units with real world relevance. " (from the Website) The section "Find a Unit" offers allows you to search by subject and grade level.
- Southern Nevada:The Boomtown Years
an online collection of over 1,600 primary source documents and over 30 standards-based activities that can be used in K-12 classrooms. - Teachable Moment
A project from the Morningside Center for Teaching Social Responsibility. - ThinFinity Lesson Plan Index "55,000 standards-based K-12 lesson plans, student materials, interactive tools & reference materials reviewed by the nation's leading education organizations to ensure...content is accurate, up-to-date, unbiased & appropriate for students." (the Website)
- Web English Teacher Designed to share teaching ideas in many areas of language arts. Check out the links on the left side of the site.
- Yale-New Have Teachers' Institute Curriculum units and guides created by past attendees (fellows) of the institute.
Math & Science Sites
- ActionBioScience "...a non-commercial, educational web site created to promote bioscience literacy..." (from the Website) One of their stated goals is the encouragement of students to pursue studies in the biosciences.
- Digital Library for Earth System Education Educational materials based on National Science Education Standards. Organized by grade levels, resource type, and topic area.
- Encyclopedia of Life "The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is an ambitious project to organize and make available via the Internet virtually all information about life present on Earth." (Intro to the website)
- Math Forum @ Drexel Organized by math topics, grade levels, and resource types (e.g., lesson plans).
- National Center for Case Study Teaching in Science
,,,"case studies can bring real-life stories into the classroom, fascinating even the most uninterested students while developing critical thinking skills and supporting group learning...[this site] brings together a wide array of high-quality resources" - NCREL Mathematics & Science From the North Central Regional Educational Laboratory: issues in math and science education plus an annotated list of web sites with resources for teaching.
- NetFrog Several options are available for learning about frog dissection and anatomy via slides, video and quizzes.
- Newton Network Sponsored by the University of Nevada, Reno, the Newton Network is designed for Nevada teachers, offering teaching, professional development, and communication resources.
- NSDL: National Science Digital Library "...created by the National Science Foundation to provide organized access to high quality resources and tools that support innovations in teaching and learning at all levels of science, technology, engineering, & mathematics education." (Website mission)
- Online Science-athon "Presented as challenges, the Online Science-athon asks students to investigate questions that are engaging and fun, easy to incorporate into teaching, and instructive." (from the Website)
- Periodic Table of Videos Short videos explain each element in the periodic table often accompanied by experiments, history and anecdotes. Be prepared for British accents as this is produced at the University of Nottingham.
- PhET (Physics Education Technology) From the University of Colorado, features 49 interactive physics simulations.
- Physclips: Mechanics with Animations and Video Film Clips This "multi-level, multi-media" resource...skillfully combines film clips, animations (requiring Flash 6 plug-in), still photos, montages, and diagrams to bring fun to teaching introductory physics, mainly mechanics and areas of electricity and magnetism.
- Strange Matter: Stuff for Teachers Classroom demos and interactive materials science lessons.
- WIRED Science Weekly episodes take viewers to the frontiers of discovery across the country and around the world, spotlighting cutting-edge innovations and research that are defining 21st-century culture and the high-tech mavericks who are making them happen.
General Education Websites
The websites on this page can be helpful in finding education information. Remember to always evaluate your websites for their credibility before you use them in your research.
Websites are links to external resources, not affiliated with UNLV. The University Library accepts no liability for any linked sites or their content. When you access an external Web site, keep in mind that the Libraries has no control over its content.
- Blue Web'n Over 2,100 "outstanding Internet sites categorized by subject, grade level, & format (tools, references, lessons, hotlists, resources, tutorials, activities, projects)." Browsable by broad subject area or specific sub-categories.
- CGS - PolicyArchive
Research and policy documents representing a range of educational specialties. - Condition of Education
This site describes the status and progress of education in the USA, summarizing major education statistics. - EduHound: Everything for Education K12 The title pretty much says it all...
- ERIC - Education Resources Information Center This site offers an overview of ERIC and the resources it provides. There are links to tutorials and FAQ's, a list of journals indexed and more. This is the publicly accessible version of the same database UNLV Libraries provides.
- FREE -- Federal Resources for Educational Excellence
A subject list of online government resources for Education; searchable. - Gateway to 21st Century Skills
This resource for educators sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education links to thousands of educational resources found on various federal, state, university, non-profit and commercial Internet sites. - Higher Education Research Institute (HERI) - HERI Home
This is UCLA's interdisciplinary center for research, evaluation and policy studies in postsecondary education. - International Bureau of Education. UNESCO
This site features a databank of educational profiles of 110 countries. - INTUTE - Education & Research Methods Reviewed web sites by subject area created by a consortium of universities in Britain. Categories include Special Education, Training of Teachers & Educators, Educational Theory, Policy, Technology, and all levels of education.
- Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators "An extensive collection of resources for K-12 students and teachers covering 20 major categories of curriculum subject matter; it is an excellent source of background material, curriculum content, and teaching activities." (ACRL EBSS CMC Webliography)
- Learner.org From Annenberg Media, this is an outstanding collection teaching materials on a variety of subjects areas. Online textbooks, professional development materials, interactive lessons and videos.Searchable by subject and grade level. Free registration is required.
- Top 101 Web Sites for Teachers Created by Tim Stahmer, Instructional Technology Specialist for Fairfax County Schools, this is "a highly personal and [categorized]... list of the 101 best web sites for use by teachers and students in K-12 classrooms." (from the Website)
- UNLV Libraries: Curriculum Materials Library - Instruction
Curriculum Materials Library - Why Files | The Science Behind the News
A popular and critically acclaimed website that explores the science behind the news.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait