Demographic Resources
- American Fact Finder Find information from the U.S. Census that can be reported down to the zip code level.
- At a Glance: Changing Demographics From the Center for Public Education. Includes projections to 2050 for ethnicity & race for the total population. Like most reports, they draw their data from the U.S. Census
- Census Projects Minority Surge A brief report by the Brookings Institute on Census projections.
- Kids Count Data Book From the Annie E. Casey Foundation. You can access interactive data tables that let you select by state, year, indicator, etc.
- Projections of High School Graduates by State and Race/Ethnicity, 1992 to 2022 Produced by the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE)
- Scholars' Lab - Demographics Compiled by the University of Virgina Library, this is an annotated collection of sites that address demographic variables such as population size and growth, age, sex, race, and household and family structure.
- School District Demographics System Created by NCES, view state, county and school district demographic data and maps.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This is the section on "Population" with tables organized in broad categories and available in either PDF or excel formats.
- U.S. Population projections by age, sex, race & Hispanic origin: 1995-2050 Produced by the U.S. Census Bureau
Sources for Education Statistics
- 2008 Statistical Abtract of the United States This section on "Education" has tables organized by broad categories and available in both PDF and excel formats.
- Almanac of Higher Education 2009-2010 Lots of data on school enrollment and achievement, finances and expenditures, faculty salaries and more. State and national level.
- Bureau of Educational Accountability & Program Evaluation (Nevada) Provides links to a number of reports: List of Effective Remedial Programs (2004-2008 annual);Nevada School Accountability Data Tables (most current is 1999-2000);Evaluation of Charter Schools in Nevada-2002) and the 2001 Data Book for K-12.
- Condition of Education
An integrated collection of indicators and analyses published from 2000-2008. See the Indicator List and the Special Analyses List. - Data Lab DataLab, a new website created by the Institute of Education Sciences' National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), puts a wide range of NCES survey data at your fingertips.
- Digest of Education Statistics
Covers pre-kindergarten thru graduate school. Sources are both private & government. Must be of national scope and of current interest. Additional information on what is covered at "I" icon. Print copies of historical data back to 1988 at Lied Library. - Education Statistics of the United States Limited to UNLV affiliates. Statistics through 2000.
- International Archive of Education Data From the Inter-university Consortion for Political & Social Research (ICPSR). Data is "collected by national, state or provincial, local, & private organizations, pertaining to all levels of education in countries for which data can be made available."
- NAEP - State Comparisons From NCES: "you can create tables that compare states and jurisdictions based on the average scale scores for selected groups of public school students..."
- NAEP Data Explorer (NDE) "NAEP provides national and state results in 8 subject areas, including mathematics, reading, writing, and science." Create tables and even cross-tabulations with variables such as race/ethnicity, disability status and gender.
- National Center for Education Statistics "The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education."
- Nevada Annual Reports of Accountability Provides a variety of profiles at the state, district & school level (e.g., demographic, fiscal, technology). Compare schools or districts. Customizable reports let you specify grade levels, student and school characteristics.
- Nevada Dept of Education - District Profiles Links are provided to each school disticts Web page. Accountability reports are usually listed under the "Parents" link.
- Nevada Dept of Education - Special Education Reports The State Performance Plan as well as indicators reports for each school district are available here.
- Nevada Dept of Education - State Improvement Plan Annual reports from 2004-2008. Information on performance trends, drop-out rates and other indicators by ethnic group and special programs.
- Projections of Education Statistics to 2018
Provides projections for key education statistics. It includes statistics on enrollment, graduates, teachers, and expenditures in elementary and secondary schools, and enrollment and earned degrees conferred expenditures of degree-granting institutions. - School Data Direct State & national data from the Council of Chief State School Officers, "a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education..."
- School Enrollment in the U.S.: 2006 This new report "describes the characteristics of the nation’s 79 million students in 2006... [using] data from the Current Population Survey & the American Community Survey....resulting in new state-by-state comparisons of enrollment characteristics...
Disabilities Statistical Sources
- American Community Survey (2006) Disability Resources Detailed tables for nearly 7,000 geographic areas that have populations of 65,000 or more.
- CDC FastStats on Disabilities or Limitations
- Census 2000 Disability Brief Includes the official 2000 Census questions and provides statistics broken down by gender, age group and general disability categories.
- Cornell University: Disability Statistics Links to institutional, government, and international sources of statistics.
- National Council on Disabilities Annual Progress Report See the table of Statistical Social Indicators in the Appendix
Cross-cultural Education Statistics
- Education Counts Educational statistics and research in New Zealand, including cross-cultural education comparisons.
- International Education Statistics From NCES, this is a megasite of links to other countries' sources of educational statistics and data.
Statistics on Children & Families
- ChildStats America's Children in Brief: Key National Indicators of Well-Being - 2008. Data on all aspects of children's well-being including health, economics, family, demographics and education.
- ChildTrends DataBank Data and reports are organized by broad subject areas: health; social & emotional development; income, assets & work; education & skills; demographics; family & community. You can also browse reports by age and other sub-group (e.g., gender, race).
- Kids Count Data Center State profiles on numerous indicators and state rankings on 10 key factors of child well-being. From the Annie E. Casey Foundation.
General Statistical Resources
- Lexis Nexis Statistical Available only to UNLV affiliates, this database indexes publications containing statistics published by federal, state, local, international, and private sources.
- Scholars' Lab - Social & Behavioral Data Compiled by the Univ. of Virginia Library-- an annotated list of sites providing data on "a wide spectrum of subjects including crime, education, justice, religion, sexual behavior, and substance abuse. Opinion surveys and sociometric data are also here.
- Social Sciences Data Search Engine Developed by librarians at Portland State University, this site allows you to search for datasets on the web and provides annotated links to a number of rich data sources for the social sciences.
- Statistical & Data Sources Created by UNLV Libraries, this set of annotated links is grouped by broad subject areas including Business & Economics, Crime & Justice, Health & Medicine, Science & Environmental, and more.
Interactive Data Charts
A data search and display utility from Google--still somewhat limited in the coverage, but great fun to play with! You can now find population or unemployment data for states and counties and then interact with the data (do comparisons across counties, states, to the whole U.S., etc.). This is a Google search tool imposed on Bureau of Labor Statistics and U.S. Centus data. Go to Google's regular search screen (Google.com) and enter, for example, population nevada or unemployment rate clark county
Here's an example of a chart generated with population data.
For more information see Google's blog post on this beta utility.
Education Statistics in Print
- Education at a Glance: OECD Indicators
Call Number: LB2846. E247
International educational indicators compiled by both U.S. and international sources - 2001 Data Book for Nevada K-12 education
Call Number: GovPubs 29-L52/9:D26
Prepared for the 2001 Legislature. Statistics and evaluations. - Nevada Kids Count Data Book
Call Number: Ref: HV742.N3 N48x 2009
Derived from the Kids Count Data Book. Located in Lied Reference collection - Kids Count Data Book
Call Number: Ref: HQ792.U5 K53 2009
From the Annie E. Casey Foundation. Covers demographics and indicators of child well-being in addition to selected education related statistics. Located in Lied Reference.
Send your suggestions!
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait