UNLV Special Collections & Archives curates topical web archive collections that align with our collecting strengths. We also curate web archive collections that complement community documentation projects initiated by the Oral History Research Center and the Center for Gaming Research. To archive a website means we are capturing the look and feel of a website from a particular moment in time. Below is a list of topical web archive collections with information on what is included in each collection and a link to their corresponding finding aid.
University of Nevada, Las Vegas Web Archive
This collection contains websites that are part of the unlv.edu domain and have been archived since 2013. Websites in this collection represent all academic functions of UNLV including colleges and departments, the University Libraries, museums, undergraduate and graduate colleges, and course catalogs. Other websites represented in this collection include UNLV Athletics, research centers, campus directories, UNLV News Center, and the UNLV President's website.
University of Nevada, Las Vegas Gaming Web Archive
This collection contains websites archived since 2016 that represent gaming and gambling organizations in Las Vegas, Nevada and around the world. Websites in this collection represent casino hotels, lotteries, gaming commissions, and investor relations for various organizations including the Nevada Resort Association, Caesars Entertainment, Genting, MGM, Ainsworth Game Technology, and the North American Gaming Regulators Association.
Building Las Vegas Web Archive
This collection contains archived websites captured in 2017 that are related to UNLV University Libraries documentation project, Building Las Vegas. Archived websites represent architecture firms, construction companies, and housing developers in the Las Vegas Valley. This collection includes websites for organizations such as Mark L. Fine & Associates, Klai Juba Wald Architecture, Southern Nevada Home Builders Association, and AIA Las Vegas.
Documenting the African American Experience in Las Vegas, Nevada Web Archive
This collection contains archived websites captured primarily in 2017 that are related to UNLV University Libraries community documentation project, "Documenting the African American Experience in Las Vegas." Archived websites represent religious institutions, civic and service organizations, and local businesses in the Las Vegas Valley. The collection includes archived websites of organizations like the local NAACP branch, the Urban Chamber of Commerce, Westside School Alumni Foundation, 100 Black Men of Las Vegas, National Coalition of 100 Black Women, the First African Methodist Episcopal Church, and the Psi Upsilon Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated.
Southern Nevada Jewish Heritage Project Web Archive
This collection contains archived websites that were captured between 2016 to 2018 that are related to UNLV University Libraries community documentation project, the Southern Nevada Jewish Heritage Project. Archived websites of religious institutions and community organizations are primarily represented. The collection also includes archived websites of organizations such as Jewish Nevada, Jewish Family Service Agency, the Las Vegas Jewish Film Festival, and David Magazine. Archived websites for religious institutions include synagogues such as Temple Beth Sholom, Congregation Ner Tamid, Temple Bet Knesset Bamidbar, and Pnai Tikvah.
Southern Nevada Governance Web Archive
This collection contains archived websites captured from 2016 to 2017 that are representative of local government agencies in Southern Nevada. Cities represented in the collection include Boulder City, Henderson, Las Vegas, North Las Vegas, Mesquite, and Pahrump. The collection also includes websites for regional agencies and authorities such as the Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada, the Las Vegas Valley Water District, and the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority.
Reflections: The Las Vegas Asian American & Pacific Islander Web Archive
The collection is comprised of archived websites captured in 2022 and 2023 that are related to UNLV University Libraries community documentation project, "Reflections: The Las Vegas Asian American & Pacific Islander Oral History Project." Archived websites represent local Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) civic and service organizations and individuals that have been interviewed as part of the oral history project. The collection includes archived websites of organizations such as the Las Vegas Asian Chamber of Commerce, the Asian-American Advocacy Clinic, Asian Community Development Council, and Thai Culture Foundation. Archived websites of individuals represented in this collection includes entrepreneur, real estate investor, and motivational speaker Lisa Song Sutton and magician Juliana Chen.
UNLV Libraries Collection of Digital Communication about COVID-19 in Las Vegas
This collection contains archived websites selected by UNLV Special Collections and Archives staff to represent a broad overview of community reaction to COVID-19 in the Las Vegas Valley from March 2020 to July 2021. Websites from local news media, educational institutions, the hospitality industry, arts and entertainment industry, municipal governments, public health departments, and UNLV are represented in this series.
Web Archive on the October 1, 2017 Shooting in Las Vegas, Nevada
This collection contains archived websites and social media posts related to the October 1, 2017 mass shooting that occurred at the Route 91 Harvest Festival in Las Vegas, Nevada. UNLV Libraries Special Collections and Archives staff selected websites that represent immediate news coverage of the event from established and alternative news media. The majority of content on these sites is comprised of articles and news stories from local, national, and international news media outlets. Established news media sources include the Las Vegas Review-Journal, Las Vegas Sun, Fox News, The New York Times, and CNN. Alternative news media sources include the Las Vegas Weekly, Buzzfeed, and Truthfeed News. Websites and social media sites were also selected based on the most frequently shared URLs on Twitter related to the shooting in Las Vegas. The websites in this collection were crawled and captured using Archive-It from October 2017 to October 2018.
UNLV Special Collections & Archives also archives websites related to our collection holdings. You can search across our finding aids to see which collections include archived websites.
You can search for descriptions of archived websites in the Special Collections and Archives Portal by using the following search terms:
Search results will display the archival collections that include archived websites. From each finding aid, you will find links to the archived web captures in Archive-It.
