Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UNLV Logo

Web Archiving

A guide that explains what web archiving is, UNLV's web archiving efforts, and considerations for researchers.

What is web archiving?

Web archiving is the process of collecting, preserving, and providing access to information on the internet. To archive a website means we are capturing the look and feel of a website from a particular moment in time (such as these web captures of UNLV's website from February 7, 1998 and on February 7, 2009). Archiving a website is done by using a web crawler that systematically browses websites for the purpose of web indexing. 

The web archiving program at UNLV focuses on collecting, preserving, and providing access to archived captures of websites specifically representing Las Vegas, Southern Nevada, and the gaming industry. This LibGuide is intended to provide an overview of what web archiving is, what websites UNLV archives, and how you can use web archives in your research.

The video below explains what web archiving is and why archiving the World Wide Web is important.

How does UNLV "capture" websites?

UNLV Special Collections and Archives uses Archive-It to capture, preserve, and provide access to archived websites. Archive-It is a web archiving subscription service built by the Internet Archive that is used by cultural heritage organizations. 

The Internet Archive is responsible for the Wayback Machine which allows users to "go back in time" and see how websites looked like in the past.                wayback machine url search bar

You can visit UNLV's web archive collections by visiting our institution page at Archive-It.

© University of Nevada Las Vegas