This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window1972-
Index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
This link opens in a new windowBibliography manager saves your citations and formats them into APA, MLA, or other styles.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window1895-
Indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines.
This link opens in a new window1963-
Citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, and association papers in sociology.
This link opens in a new window1987-
Full text journals covering contemporary sociology, ethnic studies, gender studies, social theory, the sociology of sport and the sociology of work.
Parents, Children, and Families
Firstgov for Parents (http://www.firstgov.gov/Topics/Parents.shtml)
Site provides a substantial array of links focusing on parenting issues, including becoming a parent, babies and preschoolers, child care, teens, and adoption..
Administration for Children & Families (http://www.acf.hhs.gov/)
The Administration for Children and Families (ACF) website contains a wealth of information on research, statistics, and fact sheets that focus on family assistance, child support, child care, child welfare, and other programs relating to children and families.
Child Care Bureau (http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/ccb/)
Provides resources for parents and providers, information on grants and funding, and links to research and new initiatives relating to quality child care.
Head Start (http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/ohs/)
Head Start and Early Head Start are comprehensive child development programs that serve low-income children from birth to age 5, as well as pregnant women and their families. Website provides extensive links to research and statistics, publications, grant information, and more.
Human Services Policy: Children and Youth (http://aspe.hhs.gov/_/index.cfm)
The HHS Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation (ASPE) undertakes a variety of research and evaluation projects regarding issues affecting children. This website provides an extensive array of links to publications and research focusing on early childhood, children and welfare, and teen pregnancy.
Child Welfare Information Gateway (http://www.childwelfare.gov/)
This site connects child welfare and related professionals to comprehensive information and resources to help protect children and strengthen families.
Office of Child Support Enforcement (http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cse/ )
Site provides links to handbooks and fact sheets about child support, as well as links to state and local agencies, and related forms, reports, and policy documents.
Office of Family Assistance (OFA) (http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/ofa/)
OFA oversees the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) Program, created by the Welfare Reform Law of 1996. This website provides links related to TANF history, laws, Congressional reports, and other information.
Aging Resources
U.S. Administration on Aging (AoA) (http://www.aoa.gov/)
The AoA website is designed to provide a comprehensive overview of a wide variety of topics, programs, and services relating to aging, including information for elders and their families, information for professionals, and links to grant programs.
National Institute on Aging (NIA) (http://www.nia.nih.gov/)
The NIA's mission is to improve the health and well-being of older Americans through research. The agency's website provides links to health information, research programs, and funding and training.
U.S. Senate Special Commission on Aging (http://www.senate.gov/~aging/)
The Special Committee on Aging serves as a focal point in the Senate for discussion and debate on matters related to older Americans. The site contains links to hearings, help with prescriptions, legislation tracking, and publications.
Statistical Sources Related to Families, Children, & Aging
ACF Data & Statistics (http://www.acf.hhs.gov/acf_policy_planning.html#stats)
Site provides links to statistics relating to child care, child welfare, child support, and Head Start.
Families& Living Arrangements, U.S. Census Bureau(http://www.census.gov/population/www/socdemo/hh-fam.html)
Demographic characteristics of households and families are collected annually in the March Current Population Survey (CPS) for the Nation.
Grandparents & Grandchildren(http://www.census.gov/population/www/socdemo/grandparents.html)
Demographic characteristics of grandparents and grandchildren are collected annually in the March Current Population Survey (CPS) for the Nation.
ChildStats.gov (http://childstats.gov/)
This is the official website of the Federal Interagency Forum on Child & Family Statistics. The site provides easy access to federal and state statistics on children and their families, including population and family characteristics, health, and environmental and educational data.
Child Care Data(http://www.census.gov/population/www/socdemo/childcare.html)
Child care statistics from the Census Bureau.
Child Support Data(http://www.census.gov/hhes/www/childsupport/childsupport.html)
Child support statistics from the Census Bureau.
Children & Health Insurance(http://www.census.gov/hhes/www/hlthins/reports.html)
Children's health insurance statistics from the Census Bureau.
Statistics on Children, U.S. Census Bureau(http://www.census.gov/population/www/socdemo/children.html)
Provides links to population statistics, characteristics of children, and several other statistical reports relating to children and their families.
Child Maltreatment Reports(http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cb/stats_research/index.htm#can)
This site provides statistics from child maltreatment reports from 1995-present.
Administration on Aging: Statistical Information on Older Persons(http://www.aoa.gov/aoaroot/aging_statistics/index.aspx)
A compilation of links to online statistical data and reports regarding the elderly population in the United States.
Age Data (U.S. Bureau of the Census)(http://www.census.gov/population/www/socdemo/age.html)
Population data by age and geographic area. Includes international statistics, as well as U.S., state, and county levels. Also includes special studies on specific groups, such as the elderly and baby boomers.
Agingstats.gov(http://www.agingstats.gov/agingstatsdotnet/main_site/default.aspx)
Agingstats.gov, created by the Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics, provides comprehensive data and resources relating to aging.
Housing
U.S. Department of Housing & Urban Development (HUD)(http://www.hud.gov/)
The HUD website provides links to housing resources, communities, HUD grant programs, the housing industry, and more.
American Housing Survey (AHS), U.S. Census Bureau(http://www.census.gov/hhes/www/ahs.html)
The AHS collects data on the nation's housing, including apartments, single-family homes, mobile homes, vacant housing units, household characteristics, income, recent movers, and more.
Census Bureau Housing Topics(http://www.census.gov/hhes/www/housing.html)
Site provides links to Census-related housing topics, including home ownership data, housing affordability, and housing vacancy statistics.
Other Resources:
From APA: Detailed instructions and examples from the 7th edition
from APA
Provides a DOI for an article citation when one is available.
Explains when to give credit to another person for their intellectual work (and how to do it correctly). Look for the "Quoting, Paraphrasing, and Summarizing" section on the left for examples of each.
This link opens in a new windowBibliography manager saves your citations and formats them into APA, MLA, or other styles.
RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic software package that enables you to: