As residents of Nevada, you and your team members will have access to a wide variety of resources and services in a number of library systems. Below are links to southern Nevada P-12 school library, college & university library, and public library district resources to check out.
The Nevada State Library provides centralized subscriptions to several relevant library databases for P-12 schools. Contact either your school's librarian or the Nevada State Library to learn more and for access information. Here are a few to check out for your robotics teams and classrooms:
EBSCO - Academic Search: Main Edition: This multi-disciplinary, college and high school AP-level database contains peer-reviewed journal articles in the fields of science, technology, engineering, mathematics, physics and more.
EBSCO - Science Reference Center: A new database for Nevada. Topics covered include: chemistry, energy and power, mathematics, physics, scientists, technology, waves and vibrations, and more.
EBSCO - Computer Source: This is also a new database, and covers computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. It includes both technical journals and full-text consumer computer titles.
EBSCO - Middle Search Plus: Designed for middle school libraries, Middle Search Plus is a full-text database providing popular middle school magazines and reference books. Covering subjects including science and current events, it also includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents, plus over a million photos, maps and flags.
EBSCO - Primary Search: Designed for elementary school libraries, Primary Search s a full-text database providing popular children's magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries and a vast image collection. Students can learn about a variety of topics, including endangered species, famous musicians, fitness and space exploration.
The SAE Mobilus Library Database can be provided to P-12 Teachers or your schools at no additional cost, contact the Nevada State Library: https://nsla.nv.gov/databases-librarystaff/home for more information.
Topics covered include: chemistry, energy and power, mathematics, physics, scientists, technology, waves and vibrations, and more!
Las Vegas-Clark County Library District
The district offers technology services and events at library branch locations across southern Nevada.
North Las Vegas Library District
The Alexander Library branch at 1755 W. Alexander Road offers STEAM programming, including computer coding skills.
Henderson Library District
The district offers books and other materials related to team building, project management, marketing and more.
UNLV Teacher Development and Resources Library (TDRL) - P-12 teachers are able to apply for a library card/account and check out materials from all UNLV Libraries, including the TDRL. More information about these Teacher Library Cards can be found here.
Key TDRL Collections include young adult and children's fiction and non fiction, professional development materials for practicing teachers, a teaching kit collection, samples of approved CCSD textbooks, and more.
Plan your visit:
TDRL Open hours The TDRL branch library is open most days of the week, excluding Sundays and major holidays.
UNLV Parking Information Please be aware that UNLV parking permits are required for all handicapped reserved spaces on campus. Please contact parking services in advance for more information.
While you are on campus, In the Lied Library building, you can use public computer stations to access scholarly databases and full-text journal and other articles. Some of the on-campus-available databases include IEEE Xplore, SAE Mobilus, Engineering Villiage-Compendex, and AccessEngineering.
This edition includes information on new electrical and control systems and fabrication techniques such as 3D printing, the CNC router and more! The volume is organized into sections covering every aspect of FTC competition, each section containing bite-sized chunks of information: a single sentence describing a tip, trick, strategy, or secret used by top ranked teams, followed by a paragraph or two of examples, explanations, pictures, or diagrams.
Dudley's Handbook of Practical Gear Design & Manufacture, Third Edition, is the definitive reference work for gear design, production, inspection, and application. This fully updated edition provides practical methods of gear design, and gear manufacturing methods, for high-, medium-, and low-volume production. Comprehensive tables and references are included in the text and in its extensive appendices, providing an invaluable source information for all those involved in the field of gear technology.
'FIRST Robots' features 30 award-winning robots from the FIRST Robotics Competition, which partners youth and mentors to design and construct robots for exciting sports-like competition.
Search within SAE International publications and media including 13 scholarly journals, over 140,000 additional peer-reviewed technical papers, industry magazines, e-books, the complete sets of SAE Automotive and Aerospace standards documents and more.
Personal robots are about as advanced today as personal computers were on the eve of the first IBM PC in the early 1980s. They are still the domain of hobbyists who cobble them together from scratch or from kits, join local clubs to swap code and stage contests, and whose labor of love is setting the stage for a technological revolution. This book will deconstruct the 30 regional winning robot designs from the FIRST Robotics Competition in 2006. ... This book looks at 30 different robot designs all based on the same chassis, and provides in-depth information on the inspiration and the technology that went into building each of them. Each robot is featured in 6-8 pages providing readers with a solid understanding of how the robot was conceived and built. There are sketches, interim drawings, and process shots for each robot.
1988-
Articles on engineering from journals and conferences published by the IEEE.
This book attempts to find a middle ground by balancing engineering principles and equations of use to every automotive engineer with practical explanations of the mechanics involved, so that those without a formal engineering degree can still comprehend and use most of the principles discussed. Either as an introductory text or a practical professional overview, this book is an ideal reference. Published by SAE, Society of Automotive Engineers.
Winning LEGO MINDSTORMS Programming is your ticket to successfully programming for fun and competition with LEGO MINDSTORMS and the NXT-G programming language commonly used in FIRST LEGO League events. Winning LEGO MINDSTORMS Programming sets the stage by emphasizing the importance of up front planning, and thinking about the challenge to be met. Learn to evaluate possible solutions by sanity-testing their logic before you put the effort into actually writing the code. Then choose your best option and write the code applying the techniques in this book. Take advantage of language features such as MyBlocks to enhance reliability and create easy-to-debug code. Manage your code as you change and improve it so that you can trace what you've done and fall back if needed. Avoid common programming pitfalls. Work powerfully with teammates to conquer competition challenges of all types. Provides solid techniques similar to those used by professional programmers, and optimized for the LEGO MINDSTORMS platform. Addresses key tasks important to competition such as line detection, line following, squaring of corners, motor stall detection, and more. Compliments Winning Design! by tackling the programming side of competition.
Design that works! It's what you need if you're building and competing with LEGO MINDSTORMS EV3 robotics. You'll find uses for the new light sensors and gyro sensors in navigation, helping you to follow lines and make turns more consistently. Approach collision detection with greater confidence through EV3's ultrasonic sensor. Learn new designs for power attachments. Winning Design! is about building with LEGO MINDSTORMS EV3 for fun, for education, but especially for competition. Author James Trobaugh is an experienced coach and leader in the FIRST LEGO League. In this book, he shares his hard-won knowledge about design principles and techniques that contribute toward success in robotics competitions. Winning Design! unlocks the secrets of reliable design using LEGO MINDSTORMS EV3. You'll learn proven design patterns that you can employ for common tasks such as turning, pushing, and pulling. You'll reduce and compensate for variation in performance from battery charge levels and motor calibration differences. You'll produce designs that won't frustrate you by not working, but that will delight you with their reliable performance in the heat of competition. Good design is about more than just the hardware. Software counts for a lot, and Winning Design! has you covered. You'll find chapters on program design and organization with tips on effective coding and documentation practices. You'll learn about master programs and the needed flexibility they provide. There's even a section on presenting your robot and software designs to the judges. Winning Design! is the book you need if you're involved in competitions such as FIRST LEGO League events. Whether coach, parent, or student, you'll find much in this book to make your design and competition experience fun and memorable, and educational.
College of Southern Nevada Libraries
The three College of Southern Nevada (CSN) library branches are open to the public, and teachers may apply for a CSN library card with borrowing privileges. Students enrolled in the CSN High School program may already have their library card and borrowing privileges.
Plan your visit
CSN Library Hours: https://sites.csn.edu/library/about/hours.html
CSN Library Locations: https://sites.csn.edu/library/about/locations.html Parking on all CSN campuses is free!
Charleston Campus Library, building I, first floor.
North Las Vegas Campus Library, Main Building, Room E201 (2nd Floor, East Wing.)
Henderson Campus Library, building A, Room 120.
Highly accessible, full of memorable examples, and at times amusing, this book presents ten powerful techniques for getting your point across in all venues--including new media. * Clearly explains how to identify the best approach for a presentation, gear your speech toward your audience, and ensure a presentation is a resounding success * Describes how to make your voice more powerful, clear, and appealing by employing techniques used by broadcasters, voice artists, and singers * Identifies strategies for going beyond the old-fashioned "public speaking" mode into the modern world of the media-savvy presenter who integrates different formats and technologies into his or her approach--a particularly valuable skill set for entrepreneurs * Teaches how to develop flexible skills that will allow you to persuade, captivate, and entertain, regardless of the specific purpose of your presentation
Media guru and Emmy Award-winning correspondent Bill McGowan--coach to some of the biggest names in business and entertainment, including Eli Manning, Kelly Clarkson, Jack Welch, Thomas Keller and Kenneth Cole teaches you how to get your message across and get what you want with pitch perfect communication. He is also a trusted advisor in the C-suites of tech companies like, Facebook, Spotify, AirBnB, Dropbox and Salesforce.com. Saying the right thing the right way can make the difference between sealing the deal or losing the account, getting a promotion, or getting a pink slip. It's essential to be pitch perfect--to get the right message across to the right person at the right time. In Pitch Perfect, Bill McGowan shows you how to craft the right message and deliver it using the right language--both verbal and nonverbal. Pitch Perfect teaches you how to overcome common communication pitfalls using McGowan's simple Principles of Persuasion, which are highly effective and easy to learn, implement, and master. With Pitch Perfect you can harness the power of persuasion and have people not only listening closely to your every word but also remembering you long after you've left the room.
Easily understand the most important tools and skills in social media marketing. You'll be exposed to Facebook pages and ads, work with Twitter and LinkedIn, save time with Hootsuite, and learn social media monitoring. If you are completely new to social media marketing and you want to learn the basics, this guide will introduce you to the content quickly. Introduction to Social Media Marketing has a particular focus on ROI (return on investment), to help you think critically about the value social media could bring a business or organization. You'll explore the question of whether or not it's worth it to invest time and money in each social media channel. What You'll Learn Understand basic functions for most social media tools, including how to get up and running See the benefits of social media tools and which one you should use for specific purposes Calculate the real ROI expected from using specific tools Utilize social media monitoring and analytics Who This Book Is For Those who need to get up to speed on a broad range of social media tools and techniques for business or personal use. This book is also suitable as a student reference.
Master the latest marketing tools and trends Marketing strategies are evolving faster than ever before, and mastering the latest and greatest strategies are essential to getting results. This updated edition of the classic marketing bestseller includes new and revised material, with full coverage of the latest marketing trends and how to effectively apply them to your business. Whether it's boosting your baseline marketing skills, figuring out social media, developing a comprehensive Internet marketing strategy, or getting expert tips on effective local marketing techniques, Marketing for Dummies, 4th Edition has everything you need in one easy-to-use and accessible guide. Effective marketing is about knowing your customers and giving them what they want, when they want it. The latest marketing research tells us that every customer interaction is an opportunity to grow your business and your bottom line, which is why you need a results-oriented marketing plan. With this updated, practical, and savvy guide to marketing strategies that work, you can apply the skills you already have more efficiently than ever before Marketing For Dummies, 4th Edition gives you the structure and practical advice you need to get the most out of every marketing initiative and, ultimately, grow your business. Maximize the lifetime value of your customers Connect web marketing strategies to real world traffic and sales Implement local sourcing to boost local and regional marketing initiatives Focus your online marketing strategy to target only qualified buyers Before you waste any more time with ineffective and potentially costly marketing missteps, let Marketing For Dummies, 4th Edition establish viable marketing strategies that will help your business succeed.
NFL head coach Mike Smith lead one of the most remarkable turnarounds in NFL history. In the season prior to his arrival in 2008, the Atlanta Falcons had a 4-12 record and the franchise had never before achieved back-to-back winning seasons. Under Smith's leadership, the Falcons earned an 11-5 record in his first season and would go on to become perennial playoff and Super Bowl contenders earning Smith AP Coach of year in 2008 and voted Coach of Year by his peers in 2008, 2010 and 2012. You Win in the Locker Room First draws on the extraordinary experiences of Coach Mike Smith and Jon Gordon--consultant to numerous college and professional teams--to explore the seven powerful principles that any business, school, organization, or sports team can adopt to revitalize their organization. Step by step, the authors outline a strategy for building a thriving organization and provide a practical framework that give leaders the tools they need to create a great culture, lead with the right mindset, create strong relationships, improve teamwork, execute at a higher level, and avoid the pitfalls that sabotage far too many leaders and organizations. In addition to sharing what went right with the Falcons, Smith also transparently shares what went wrong his last two seasons and provides invaluable lessons leaders can take away from his victories, success, failures and mistakes. Whether it's an executive leadership team of a Fortune 500 company, a sports team, an emergency room team, military team, or a school team successful leaders coach their team and develop, mentor, encourage, and guide them. This not only improves the team, it improves the leaders and their relationships, connections, and organization. You Win in the Locker Room First offers a rare behind-the-scenes look at one of the most pressure packed leadership jobs on the planet and what leaders can learn from these experiences in order to build their own winning team.
A top sports psychologist reveals the nine keys to winning, in sports or business Success in business is often based on the quality of the teams within the business. Even personal success is often based on a person's ability to work well with others. In Why Teams Win, top sports psychologist Saul Miller reveals the nine key factors that contribute to great teams and teamwork. Drawing on his extensive experience as a teamwork consultant with teams in sports, healthcare, and corporations, he provides insight from successful team leaders to reveal what makes great teams and how they win. Readers will discover how to improve their personal, organizational, and team performance at every level. Saul L. Miller (Vancouver, BC) is a performance specialist consultant who works with high-achievers in sports, business, the arts, and other areas. He is one of North America's leading sports psychologists, and his clients include such companies as GM, IBM, Motorola, Nike, and Sony.
Written to quickly develop the reader's leadership skills, The Complete Idiot's Guide® to Leadership, Fast-Track is a short but rich introduction to leadership skills and how best to use them. After a brief examination of the required, but learnable, qualities, skills, and behaviors of leadership, the book takes the reader through a self-assessment. Then the tasks, strategies, and desired results of leadership are dissected-all in 160 pages! The Complete Idiot's Guide® to Leadership Fast-Track is perfect for new managers, small business owners, organization leaders, and more!
Shifting priorities, budget cuts, unexpected interruptions . . . The obstacles that project managers face on a daily basis are sometimes relentless and always burdensome. And the average project is only growing more complicated! Now in its third edition, The Project Management Tool Kit is a must-have strategic partner for project managers of every industry, filled with step-by-step guidance that will enable managers to complete even the most complex projects both on time and on budget. This results-oriented resource offers 100 powerful, practical tips and techniques in a variety of areas, including:* Scope planning * Schedule development and adjustment * Cost estimating and control * Defining and using project metrics * Decision-making and problem solving * Motivation and leadership * Stakeholder engagement and expectation management * Risk identification and monitoring * And much moreExtensively updated and revised to reflect the latest changes to A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK® Guide), the checklists, charts, examples, and tools for easy implementation in this invaluable resource will help project managers of all types tackle any challenge that comes their way.
