LibGuides: Rebel Debate Institute: Library Guides

Video-How Can You Tell If A Source is Credible?

How can you tell if a source is credible?

Evaluating & Fact-Checking Your Sources Using the CRAAP Test

Scholarly vs. Popular Sources

Distinguishing Source Types
Learn criteria for differentiating between common source types.

Is the source REAL or FAKE? You decide!

What is Fake News? Keys to Identifying It

UNLV Libraries Databases

UNLV Libraries Quick Search
Our Quick Search is like Google--with a single search box & it checks for spelling mistakes! But--it's even better: the results come for reliable library sources--books, magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals!
More Help on How to Use Quick Search

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable published news, legal, medical and business information.
The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1923-
In depth research on controversial topics ranging from social issues to environment, health, education, science, and technology issues.
Balanced information on all sides of an issue, including comments from experts in the field, numerous charts and graphs, a pro-con feature, a chronology, a lengthy bibliography for additional research, and a list of contacts are included in each report.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional newspapers and broadcast television transcripts.
Newspaper Source provides full text coverage for 40 national and international newspapers including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Times (London), and The Toronto Star. Selected full text is offered from more than 330 regional newspapers including The Buffalo News, Orange County Register, Philadelphia Inquirer, San Francisco Chronicle, and St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Full text transcripts are available from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, National Public Radio, and more.

Google Scholar
Searches scholarly journal articles.

Keywords

As you are researching, be sure to expand your searching by looking into additional keywords & synonyms. You can also combine words, such as:

Below are some examples of additional keywords that you may want to try in your own searching:

Dress code
School uniform
School uniforms
debate
pro
con
controversy
student
education
K12

Try combining keywords, such as:

school uniforms AND K12
academic achievement AND school uniforms

July 24:

Mars AND colony AND "United States"
Mars colonization AND "space exploration"

Below are some examples of additional keywords that you may want to try in your own searching:

Mars
colonization
colonization of Mars
space technology
human mission
exploration
space colonization
Mars One
space exploration
outer space culture

July 17:

animal theme parks AND ethics
zoos and animal rights

zoos
animal exhibition parks
animal theme parks
animal captivity
captive animals
circus
aquariums
animal rights
zookeepers
captive killer whales

Space & Mars Colonization Websites

Mars One
Mars One aims to establish a permanent human settlement on Mars. Several unmanned missions will be completed, establishing a habitable settlement before carefully selected and trained crews will depart to Mars.
Scientists draw up plan to colonize Mars (Astronomy.com)

Uniform-Related Resources & Websites

School Uniforms - ProCon.org
This website presents information for and against school uniforms.
Do Uniforms Make Schools Better?
Article outlining pros and cons of school uniforms. Also discusses the difference between uniforms and dress codes.

Urban Affairs Librarian

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

Rebel Debate Institute: Library Guides

Welcome RDI Students to UNLV Libraries!