Find research articles:
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Good for: Researching psychological literature.
Contains: Journal articles, books, and dissertations.
Dates covered: 1800-present.
Good for: Finding medical, nursing, dental, veterinary, health care, and preclinical sciences articles.
Contains: Indexed citations and abstracts to journal articles.
Find information about tests and measures:
Good for: Finding information about commercially available tests in various fields.
Contains: Bibliography of tests.
Explore the DSM:
Effective August 5, 2025, EBSCO, the company that provides several of our Psychology and Education databases, has a new user interface. See the tutorial below for an introduction on how to use this new interface.
Good for: Researching child development and adolescent studies.
Contains: Current and historical scholarly literature.
Good for: Dissertations and theses.
Contains: Citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations and theses.
Dates covered: Citations from 1861, abstracts from 1980 for dissertations and 1988 for theses, full text from 1996 for UNLV items and 1997 for most others.
Good for: Researching education.
Contains: Journal articles, book chapters, and educational reports.
Dates covered: 1966-present.
Good for: Researching family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare.
Contains: Journal articles.
Dates covered: 1970-present.
Good for: Researching gender issues.
Contains: Publications, reports, pamphlets, papers, and conference proceedings.
Dates covered: 1974-present.
Good for: Exploring a wide range of scholarly topics.
Contains: Scholarly journals, ebooks, art images and primary source collections
Good for: Finding medical and life sciences articles.
Contains: Citations to journal articles.
Dates covered: 1950-present.
Good for: Finding reviews of English-language psychological tests.
Contains: Reviews of tests.
Dates covered: 1938-present.
Good for: Finding information on PTSD and other mental health consequences of trauma.
Contains: Citations and abstract to scholarly literature.
Good for: Accessing full-text articles from the 50 journals published by APA.
Contains: Articles from peer-reviewed journals.
Dates covered: 1987-present.
Good for: Researching psychology and counseling.
Contains: Psychology journals.
Good for: Reference sources in the social sciences, education and history
Contains: Encyclopedias and handbooks
Good for: Accessing bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references in scholarly science and technical journals.
Contains: Bibliographic information, abstracts, and cited references.
Narrow/ Focus Your Search
|
Broaden/ Expand Your Search
|
|
Place quotation marks around words to search for an exact phrase, e.g., "high school" (works in many databases and Google) |
|
|
And or Not connector between concepts |
“Or” connector between synonyms |
|
Field Limiters, e.g., dates, type of document |
Truncation or Wildcard (e.g., child* to search for all terms beginning with child, e.g. child, children, childcare) |
|
Use the controlled vocabulary (human assigned main topics --Thesaurus) |
Free-text or keyword searching (computer mediated, no human intervention) |
|
Proximity searching, e.g., first year n3 retention (finds results in which first year is found within 3 words of retention) |
|
