LibGuides: Multicultural Resources: Home

Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

Finding Articles

Finding Books

The Libraries has a series of books that begin with the title Culture and Customs of ... Find them in the library catalog but searching for "Cultures and Customs".

Databases

Culturegrams

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1959-
Articles, editorials, and reviews from the ethnic, minority, and native press.
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.

eHRAF World Cultures

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is a comprehensive online resource devoted to ethnic music research of cultures throughout the world.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.
Sociology: A Sage Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1987-
Full text journals covering contemporary sociology, ethnic studies, gender studies, social theory, the sociology of sport and the sociology of work.
This collection includes the full text of 28 journals, some going back 20 years, covering over 10,000 articles. This searchable database covers such subjects as contemporary sociology, ethnic studies, gender studies, social theory, the sociology of sport and the sociology of work. Each bibliographic record in the collection links to the full text article in PDF format.
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Good for: Finding primary source materials on exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and more.
Contains: Historical books, pamphlets, serials and other documents about North America, South America, Central America and the Caribbean.
Dates covered: 1500-1926
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1750-present
Publications documenting the Hispanic culture of the United States - history, literature, political commentary, and culture. Written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%).
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500s-
Bibliography on Native American history, life, and culture.
Produced in partnership with the Human Relations Area File (HRAF), this database contains citations to magazine and journal articles, monographs, dissertations, and U.S. and Canadian government documents.
Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
2nd, and 3rd ed.
Descriptive articles offer an overview of Western perspectives on the Islamic world.
The Encyclopaedia of Islam (New Edition) offers an overview of Western perspectives on the Islamic world. Descriptive articles cover Muslims of many origins, tribes and dynasties, crafts and sciences, political and religious institutions, the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries, and the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. In its geographical and historical scope it encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries.

Web Resources

UNLV UULO's

Below is one of the five University Undergraduate Learning Outcomes. The complete list is available here.

Global/Multicultural Knowledge and Awareness

Graduates will have developed knowledge of global and multicultural societies and an awareness of their place in and effect on them. Specific outcomes for all students include:

Demonstrate knowledge of the history, philosophy, arts, and geography of world cultures.
Respond to diverse perspectives linked to identity, including age, ability, religion, politics, race, gender, ethnicity, and sexuality, both in American and international contexts.
Apply the concept of social justice.
Demonstrate familiarity with a non-native language or experience living in a different culture.
Function effectively in diverse groups.
Demonstrate awareness of one's own place in and effect on the world.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Immigration by James Ciment (Editor); Immanuel Ness
Call Number: JV6465 .E53 2001
ISBN: 0765680289
Publication Date: 2001-05-21
This richly illustrated set is the definitive reference on American immigration from both historic and contemporary perspectives. It traces the scope and sweep of U.S. immigration from the earliest colonial settlements to the present, focusing on critical issues as well as the groups of people involved. Every major immigrant group and every era are fully documented and examined through detailed analysis os social, legal, political, economic, and demographic factors. Archival and contemporary photographs, along with hundreds of pages of documents and illustrations, further illuminate the information provided.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by Jeffrey Lehman (Editor); Robert Dassanowsky (Editor)
Call Number: E184.A1 G14 2000
ISBN: 0787639869
Publication Date: 1999-12-01
The Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America contains more than 100 original essays on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. The Encyclopedia also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish.
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by Colin A. Palmer
Call Number: E185 .E54 2006
ISBN: 0028658167
Publication Date: 2005-12-16
Users looking for authoritative and comprehensive information about black history, figures and accomplishments now have a defining and current reference to address their needs.
Encyclopedia Latina by Ilan Stavans; Harold Augenbraum
Call Number: E184.S75 E587 2005
ISBN: 0717258157
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
Encyclopedia of the world's nations and cultures
Call Number: G63 .K874 2007
ISBN: 0816063079

Multicultural Resources