The psychology of ethnic groups in the United States by Pamela Balls Organista, Gerardo Marín, Kevin M. Chun
Multicultural Encyclopedia of Ethnic Groups in Hollywood by James Robert Parish (Editor); T. Allan Taylor (Editor)
Call Number: PN1995.9.M56 M85 2003
Publication Date: 2002-11-01
"The Encyclopedia of Ethnic Groups in Hollywood is a comprehensive reference to the treatment and progress of five ethnic groups in the world's most visible industry. It explores and contrasts the various stereotypes propagated by television and the movies about African Americans, Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, Jewish Americans, and Native Americans. Paralleling one another, the five detailed sections of the book include biographical entries on key actors, entertainers, and filmmakers, as well as topical entries on influential films, television shows, genres, themes, and ethnic stereotype."
Articles, editorials, and reviews from the ethnic, minority, and native press.
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Coverage begins in 1990.
An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.
Full text journals covering contemporary sociology, ethnic studies, gender studies, social theory, the sociology of sport and the sociology of work.
This collection includes the full text of 28 journals, some going back 20 years, covering over 10,000 articles. This searchable database covers such subjects as contemporary sociology, ethnic studies, gender studies, social theory, the sociology of sport and the sociology of work. Each bibliographic record in the collection links to the full text article in PDF format.
Digital library of works written or published in the United States, as well as items printed elsewhere, that document the history of the Americas (North, Central, South and the Caribbean) from 1492 to the mid-1800s.
Primary sources that offer original accounts of exploration, settlement, military actions, Native Americans, westward expansion, European relations with Latin America and more. Based on Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana.
Bibliography on Native American history, life, and culture.
Produced in partnership with the Human Relations Area File (HRAF), this database contains citations to magazine and journal articles, monographs, dissertations, and U.S. and Canadian government documents.
2nd, and 3rd ed.
Descriptive articles offer an overview of Western perspectives on the Islamic world.
The Encyclopaedia of Islam (New Edition) offers an overview of Western perspectives on the Islamic world. Descriptive articles cover Muslims of many origins, tribes and dynasties, crafts and sciences, political and religious institutions, the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries, and the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. In its geographical and historical scope it encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries.