Production design for film - Film 450 - resources for designers - LibGuides at University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Databases

Primary sources: Articles, ads and images

Magazines

Women's Magazine Archive
1887-2005
North American women's magazines including Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents Magazine, Seventeen, Cosmopolitan and Essence.
Vogue Archive
Good for: Researching fashion and culture, including specific garments, accessories or brands.
Contains: Images and text from Vogue Magazine.
Dates covered: 1892-present.
Women's Wear Daily Archive
1910-
Comprehensive archive of Women’s Wear Daily (WWD), the leading fashion-industry trade paper.
Harper's Bazaar Archive
1867-
Harper's Bazaar magazine shows changes in American fashion, culture and society.
Historical Periodicals from ProQuest
1740-1940 with some more recent
Search all ProQuest historical periodical collections simultaneously.
American Periodicals‎ (1740 - 1940)
British Periodicals‎ (1681 - 1939)
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive‎ (1880 - 2000)
The Harper's Bazaar Archive‎ (1867 - current)
Periodicals Archive Online‎
The Vogue Archive‎
Women's Magazine Archive‎ (1846 - 2005)
The Women's Wear Daily Archive‎
American Periodicals Series
1740-1940
Magazines and journals published in the U.S. mostly before 1900.

Newspapers

Las Vegas Review Journal Archive (1929-1996)
3/30/1929-present
Nevada daily newspaper. 1929-1996 is page images only; 1997- is article text only, no images.
Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times
1881-2015
Historical California newspaper.
Historical U.S. Newspapers from ProQuest
1841-2000 with some more recent
Search all ProQuest U.S. historical newspaper collections simultaneously.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender‎ (1909 - 1975)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune‎ (1849 - 1993)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Christian Science Monitor‎ (1908 - 2003)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times‎ (1881 - 1993)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times‎ (1851 - 2013)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Tribune‎ (1841 - 1922)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post‎ (1877 - 2000)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: U.S. West, including Reno Gazette-Journal (1876-2008), San Francisco Examiner (1889-2007), and Spokane Statesman-Review (1894-2009)

All Historical Newspapers

Catalogs and travel brochures

Trade Catalogues and the American Home
1850-1950
Primary sources like catalogs, price lists, and brochures reflecting the history of consumer advertising and marketing and life and leisure in America. Includes department store catalogs, cosmetic advertisements, real estate brochures and much more.
Part of the American Consumer Culture combined search portal.

Wishbook web collection
Scanned catalogs from mail order retailers, 1937-1991.
Catalogs (musetechnical)
346 Vintage Christmas Wish Books and Retail Department Store Catalogs

Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Tourism
1850-1980
Archival material from the travel agency Thomas Cook, a pioneer of package tourism. Includes periodicals such as the Excursionist magazine, personal accounts from travelers on early Cook’s tours, photographs, advertising brochures, guidebooks, posters and ephemeral items.

Library collections

FITDIL Fashion Institute Digital Library
Search open access collections including "Library designer files," clothing photos from periodicals indexed by type of garment, designer, and decade

more... less...

Video

JSTOR
Use the Images tab to search across museum collections
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.

Theory and method

The Costume Designer's Toolkit by Holly Poe Durbin
ISBN: 9781003015284

Publication Date: 2022-11-23
A Working Costume Designer's Guide to Fit by Jeanette deJong
ISBN: 9781351131353

Publication Date: 2023-02-28
A Working Costume Designer's Guide to Color by Jeanette deJong
ISBN: 9781351131414

Publication Date: 2021-09-16
Doing Research in Fashion and Dress by Yuniya Kawamura
ISBN: 9781350089761

Publication Date: 2020
The Dress Detective by Ingrid Mida; Alexandra Kim
ISBN: 9781472573971

Publication Date: 2015
Fashion Design Research by Ezinma Mbonu
ISBN: 9781780671796

Publication Date: 2014

Return to this page

Reference works

Bloomsbury Design Library
Images, encyclopedias and ebooks about design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day.

Web searches

Special Collections and Archives Portal

UNLV Special Collections and Archives Search Portal
Southern Nevada: The Boomtown Years Southern Nevada: The Boomtown Years brings together a wide range of original source materials found in widely diverse collections from UNLV Libraries Special Collections, the Nevada State Museum, and Historical Society in Las Vegas and the Clark County Heritage Museum.

Las Vegas Magazines

Las Vegas Magazines
Online access to Las Vegas Story, Follow Me to Las Vegas, Magazine Las Vegas and Las Vegas Playground from the 1950s and 60s

Blogs

All Around Nevada (Howard Goldbaum)
Virtual reality tours of Nevada points of interest.
Atomic Ranch
Magazine for mid-century modern enthusiasts
Captain History (Robert Stoldal)
Blog by journalist and independent curator and student of Nevada history Robert Stoldal. (also known as bigfootnote.com, vegasarchive.com and vegasrecord.com)
Classic Las Vegas (Lynn Zook)
Zook created the documentary The Story of Classic Las Vegas: An Overview exploring "the real history of the city from the 1930s-1970s."
DesignJunket
Modtraveler.net (Ken McIntyre)
Out History! Nevada and Las Vegas
Over50Vegas (Alan Schuyler)
Site for collectors including scanned directories (1926-1954) and details about many downtown businesses.

more... less...

Over50Vegas is intended to be place where the hobby of collecting casino
and entertainment related items combines with a century of colorful history!
Retro Renovation (Pam Kueber)
Very Vintage Vegas (Jack Levine)
Vintage Las Vegas (Jeffrey Carlson)
A dated photographic record of Las Vegas with focus on the Las Vegas Strip and Downtown, limited to the 20th century.

more... less...

Index pages are maintained for Las Vegas Blvd and Downtown. The collection can be searched by year or property name.

Online Photo Sources

Calisphere
Search digitized photos from California cultural heritage organizations
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
Life Photo Archive
Millions of news and editorial photographs and other images dating from 1750 to the present. Includes many iconic images, but most were never published.

Costume history

Vintage Sewing Patterns wikia
Images from 83,000+ vintage sewing patterns
Costumer's Manifesto
Tara McGinnis manages this wide-ranging site describing costume principles and projects and reproducing historical primary sources.

Textile dictionaries

101 fabrics: analyses and textile dictionary
Call Number: This is an e-book.

Scanned swatches and technical specifications for common fabrics in production when the manual was printed in 1952.
Fairchild's Dictionary of Textiles
Call Number: E-book (originally published in 1959)

Is challis light or heavy? What fabrics are similar to seersucker? Find out here!

Subject Guide

Priscilla Finley, humanities librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Lied Library LLB1187

(702) 895-2132

Subjects: English, Film Studies, History, Literature, Philosophy, Theater Arts, World Languages and Cultures

Film 450 - resources for designers: Production design for film

Databases

Theory and method

Return to this page

Reference works

Web searches

Special Collections and Archives Portal

Las Vegas Magazines

Blogs

Online Photo Sources

Costume history

Textile dictionaries

Subject Guide

Locations

Contact