HON 111, Themes in American Civilization - Protests (McMahon): Library Guides

These links allow you to search across multiple databases at the same time.

• Bob Fitch Photography Archive (Stanford University Libraries) Includes United Farm Workers (UFW)/Cesar Chavez gallery,1968-1974.
• Bracero History Archive

  "The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964."
• DC Justice for Janitors: A Digital History (Georgetown Univ.)

  A project of the Kalmanovitz Initiative for Labor and the Working Poor at Georgetown University that aims to preserve the history of working people in Washington, D.C., and to make that history accessible to scholars, students, and the general public.
• Digital Collections (IRLE Library)

  Digital collections from the IRLE (Institute for Research on Labor and Employment) Library at UC Berkeley, including proceedings of the California Labor Federation, collective bargaining agreements, and the full run of IRLE publications.
• Digital Collections (Library of Congress)

  The Library of Congress has made available hundreds of photographs, texts, films and audio recordings from its archival collections. There are over 100 digitized collections, including African American Odyssey, Voices from the Dustbowl, Votes for Women, Work and Leisure, Haymarket Affair" and New York City.
• Ellis Island Oral History Project

  Since 1973, the National Park Service has interviewed more than 1,700 Ellis Island immigrants so that they could tell their own stories.
• Farmworker Movement Documentation Project (UC San Diego)

  "Primary source accounts: photographs, oral histories, videos, essays and historical documents from the United Farm Worker Delano Grape Strikers and the UFW Volunteers who worked with Cesar Chavez to build his farmworker movement."
• Kheel Center (DigitalCommons@ILR)
• Digitized collections from the Kheel Center, including ILGWU and Milton Konvitz lectures.
• Kheel Center ILGWU Collection

  This site presents highlights from the ILGWU's rich history and archives, from the extensive and heavily used collection at the Kheel Center
• Kheel Center Labor Photo Database

  Labor photos available from the Kheel Center. Especially strong for needletrade workers.
• Political Posters from the Labadie Collection (Univ. of Michigan)
• A digital collection of over 2,000 posters from political movements including labor, anarchism, ecology, women, and youth.
• Southern Labor Archive

  Georgia State University's Southern Labor Archives, established in 1971, is dedicated to collecting, preserving and making available the documentary heritage of Southern workers and their unions, as well as that of workers and unions having an historic relationship to the region. Topic guide.
• Trade Union Publications: The Official Journals, Convention Proceedings, and Constitutions of International Unions and Federations, 1850-1941

  Reynolds, Lloyd George and Charles C. Killingsworth (editors). Baltimore, The: Johns Hopkins Press, 1944.
  Volume 1 contains a listing of trade unions and their publications. It also contains a brief chronology for the unions listed. Volumes 2 and 3 contain a subject listing to point to individual articles in trade union publications. The time period covered is 1850-1941.
• Triangle Shirtwaist Factory Fire (Kheel Center, Cornell ILR School)

  Presented by the Kheel Center for Labor-Management Documentation and Archives in cooperation with the Union of Needletrades, Industrial and Textile Employees (UNITE!). Includes political cartoons, photographs, oral histories, bibliographies and more.
• United Farm Workers photo archive (Reuther Library)
• Walter P. Reuther Library (Wayne State University)

  This major labor archives has mounted excellent digital exhibits on their web site, including: Brown v. Board of Ed. 50th Anniversary; SEIU District 925: Organizing for Raises, Rights and Respect; I AM A MAN-Honoring the 1968 Memphis Sanitation Worker's Strike; Sit-Down: A Brief History of the Flint Sit-down Strike; La Causa: A United Farm Workers Exhibition.
• Recommended sites and descriptions in this box are selected from Cornell University's Catherwood Library guide on Primary Sources for Labor and Working Class History.