Recommendations - HON 111, Themes in American Civilization - Protests (McMahon) - LibGuides at University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Vietnam Moratorium

Moratorium to End the Vietnam War, Boston, MA
October 15, 1969

Historical Newspapers: Christian Science Monitor, 1908-2007 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Independent Voices
Alternative press newspapers focusing on the 1960’s – 1980s.

Popular Culture in Britain and America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Johnson Presidency Administrative Histories: Health, Education and Welfare

Anti-Nuclear March

The Nuclear Freeze Campaign, Washington DC
December 6, 1982

Historical Newspapers: Washington Post, 1877-2004 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1980s Culture and Society This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Stonewall

Stonewall Riot, Greenwich Village, New York

28 June – 3 July 1969

Historical Newspapers: New York Times, 1851-2017 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Pentagon

March on the Pentagon, Washington DC

October 21, 1967

Historical Newspapers: Washington Post, 1877-2004 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War Organizations, The Vietnam Veterans Against the War
- This link opens in a new window
The Observer: News for the American Soldier in Vietnam, 1962-1973
- This link opens in a new window

Popular Culture in Britain and America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s
- This link opens in a new window

School integration

“The Problem We All Live With,” New Orleans, LA

November 14, 1960

Historical Black Newspapers from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
African American Communities This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Race Relations in America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

504 Sit In

The 1977 504 Sit-In, San Francisco, CA

April 5, 1977

San Francisco Chronicle, 1865-current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Areas of coverage include: education, and accessibility, advocacy and rights, legislation and politics, media studies, arts, sports and culture, race, class, sexuality, and gender and war industry, and technology

Selma to Montgomery Civil Rights

Historical Black Newspapers from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1893-2010
African American newspapers from Atlanta, Baltimore, Chicago, Cleveland, Los Angeles, New York, Norfolk VA., Philadelphia, and Pittsburgh.
Historical Newspapers: Washington Post, 1877-2004 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1877-2004
Text and images from The Washington Post
African American Communities This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1860s-1980s
Primary sources documenting African American communities in Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina.

Civil Rights March from Selma to Montgomery, Alabama

March 7, 1965

March on Washington

March on Washington, Washington, D.C.

August 20, 1963

Historical Newspapers: Washington Post, 1877-2004 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
African American Communities This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1860s-1980s
Primary sources documenting African American communities in Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina.

Take Back the Night

Take Back the Night March, San Francisco

November 18, 1978

San Francisco Chronicle, 1865-current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Independent Voices

Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Miami

Miami Riots, Miami, FL

May 17, 1980

1980s Culture and Society This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Newspapers: New York Times, 1851-2017 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1851-2017
Historical New York newspaper.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1959-
Articles, editorials, and reviews from the ethnic, minority, and native press.
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
African American Communities This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1860s-1980s
Primary sources documenting African American communities in Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina.

Tiananmen Square

American response to the Tiananmen Square Protests, Beijing, China

June 5, 1989

Historical Newspapers: Washington Post, 1877-2004 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1877-2004
Text and images from The Washington Post
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
Historical Newspapers: South China Morning Post, 1903-2001 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1980s Culture and Society This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993

Pecan Strike

Pecan Shellers Strike, San Antonio, Texas

January 31, 1938

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Portal to Texas history

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Latino-Hispanic American Experience: Leaders, Writers, and Thinkers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Kent state

Kent State Shooting, Kent, Ohio

May 4, 1970

Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune, 1849-1998 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1849-1998
Cover to cover digital reproductions of the Chicago Tribune with searchable full text.

Beatles

Burning Beatles Records, Waycross, GA

August 15, 1966

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1880-2015
Music, film, broadcasting and theater industry trade publications published before 2015 including Variety, Billboard, Spin, The Hollywood Reporter, American Cinematographer, American Film, Picturegoer and more.
Popular Culture in Britain and America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1950-1975
Primary sources documenting music and popular culture in the US and Britain, 1950-1975, including manuscripts, video, photos, underground magazines and more.

Miss America

Miss America Protest, Atlantic City, NJ

September 7, 1968

Historical Newspapers: New York Times, 1851-2017 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1851-2017
Historical New York newspaper.
Popular Culture in Britain and America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1950-1975
Primary sources documenting music and popular culture in the US and Britain, 1950-1975, including manuscripts, video, photos, underground magazines and more.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1887-2005
North American women's magazines including Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents Magazine, Seventeen, Cosmopolitan and Essence.

Independent Voices
Alternative press newspapers focusing on the 1960’s – 1980s.

LGBT rights

National March on Washington for Lesbian and Gay Rights, Washington DC

October 11, 1987

Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 (parts I and II) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use date range to target primary sources; this database includes both primary and secondary sources (=current scholarship)

Primary sources for historical LGBTQ+ research

Delano Grape Strike

Delano Grape Strike, Delano to Sacramento
April 10, 1966

San Francisco Chronicle, 1865-current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1865-1984, 1985-current
Full page images of the daily San Francisco Chronicle, Northern California's largest circulation newspaper, through 1984. Text of articles only after 1985.

Bracero Archive
Farmworker Movement Documentation Project
Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s
- This link opens in a new window
Online Archive of California (Delano Grape Strike)

Women's Suffrage

Women’s Suffrage Parade Fifth Avenue, New York City, New York

October 23, 1915

Historical Newspapers: New York Times, 1851-2017 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Newspapers: New York Tribune, 1841-1922 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Everyday Life and Women in America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Gilded Age and Progressive Era This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women's Suffrage Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Lily. 1849-1856
National Citizen and Ballot Box. 1878-1881
The Revolution. 1868-1872
The New Citizen. 1909-1912
The Western Woman Voter. 1911-1913
The Remonstrance. 1890-1913
Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights

Police Brutality

Peter Yew Police Brutality Protest, New York City

May 19, 1975

Historical Newspapers: New York Times, 1851-2017 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1851-2017
Historical New York newspaper.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1959-
Articles, editorials, and reviews from the ethnic, minority, and native press.
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.

Bonus army

Bonus Army March, Washington DC

July 28, 1932

Historical Newspapers: Washington Post, 1877-2004 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1877-2004
Text and images from The Washington Post

FBI files

American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1740-1940
Magazines and journals published in the U.S. mostly before 1900.

HON 111, Themes in American Civilization - Protests (McMahon): Recommendations