Skip to Main Content

HIST 406A (Johnson), North American West through the 1850s: Library Guides

Primary sources from The Other Slavery and Roaring Camp

Shaped by the West

Shaped by the West, Volume 1 by Anne F. Hyde; William F. Deverell
ISBN: 9780520964372
Publication Date: 2018
The Other Slavery by Andrés Reséndez
ISBN: 9780547640983
Publication Date: 2016

Streaming Films

Black Robe by dir. Bruce Beresford
Publication Date: MGM, 1991
Lone Star by dir. John Sayles
Publication Date: Warner Bros, 1996
Ken Burns: The West by part 1: The People (to 1806)
Publication Date: PBS Video, 2015
Ken Burns: The West by part 2, Empire Upon the Trails (1806 to 1848)
Publication Date: PBS, 2015
Ken Burns: The West by part 3, Speck of the Future (1848 to 1856)
Publication Date: PBS, 2015

Resendez

Introduction

Chapter 1

The Devastation of the Indies, Bartolomeo de las Casas requires free Internet Archive account for one hour checkout
The four voyages of Christopher Columbus
print in Lied only
[alternate edition] Select Letters of Christopher Columbus, with Other Original Documents, Relating to His Four Voyages to the New World
(Hakluyt Soc. reprint translated and edited by R.H. Major, 1847)
Bartolomé de las Casas, History of the Indies
English translation only in print in Lied
Bartolomé de las Casas, Historia de las Indias
Spanish; Project Gutenberg
Eric Williams, Documents of West Indian History
Fernández de Oviedo, Gonzalo, Historia general y natural de las Indias, islas y tierra-firme del mar océano.

Chapter 2

Chapter 3

The enlightened : the writings of Luis de Carvajal, el Mozo
print in Lied only
RIchard Hakluyt, Principal Navigations ... (1589)
Hakluyt Principal Navigations
transcribed texts in Project Gutenberg

Chapter 4

Historical documents relating to New Mexico, Nueva Vizcaya and approaches thereto, to 1773,
vols 1 and 2; vol 3
The Rediscovery of New Mexico, 1580-1594 requires free Internet Archive account
more...less...
also print in Lied
Expedition into New Mexico made by Antonio de Espejo, 1582-1583 : as revealed in the journal of Diego Pérez de Luxán, a member of the party one hour loan with free Internet Archive account
more...less...
also print in Lied
A colony on the move : Gaspar Castaño de Sosa's journal, 1590-1591 requires free Internet Archive account for one hour loan
more...less...
also print in Lied
A Trade Invoice from 1638
actual publication was in July 1935, not Oct as cited

Chapter 6

Barbara De Marco, “Voices from the Archives: Testimony of the Pueblo Indians on the 1680 Pueblo Revolt,”
Charles W. Hackett, ed., Revolt of the Pueblo Indians of New Mexico requires free Internet Archive account for one hour checkout
more...less...
alternate access via hathi trust with attribution note
J. Manuel Espinosa, ed., Pueblo Indian Revolt of 1696 and the Franciscan Missions of New Mexico

Chapter 7

John Kessel and Rick Hendricks, eds., By Force of Arms: The Journals of Don Diego de Vargas requires free Internet Archive account for one hour checkout
more...less...
print in Lied
Alfred Barnaby Thomas, ed., After Coronado: Spanish Exploration Northeast of New Mexico, 1696-1727; Documents requires free Internet Archive account for one hour checkout
more...less...
also print in Lied
Alfred Barnaby Thomas, ed., The Plains Indians and New Mexico, 1751-1778: A Collection of Documents
print copy in Lied
Jones, Daniel Webster. Forty years among the Indians ; a true yet thrilling narrative of the author's experiences among the natives
also print in Lied
more...less...
also in Project Gutenberg

Chapter 9

Chapter 10

Chapter 11

Brigham Young, “Brigham Young’s Speech on Slavery, Blacks, and the Priesthood,”
Heart Throbs of the West vol 2
print of vol. 2 only in UNLV Spec. Coll & Archives; all 12 vols at LV FamilySearch Genealogy Library
Heart Throbs of the West vol 5 requires free Internet Archive account for one hour loan
J. Lee Correll, ed., Through White Men’s Eyes: A Contribution to Navajo History
Print in Lied only; shelved in Oversize area near Special Collections on 3rd floor of Lied.
Condition of the Indian tribes.: Report of the joint special committee, appointed under joint resolution of March 3, 1865. With an appendix.
Navajo roundup ; selected correspondence of Kit Carson's expedition against the Navajo, 1863-1865 requires free Internet Archive account for one hour loan
more...less...
also print in Lied

Chapter 12

legend

Sign up for an Internet Archive account Requires free account; use the Borrow for one hour button to view complete work
more...less...
Books in the Internet Archive library require you to sign in with a free account for a one hour loan.
Print book in Lied Library
Latin terms and abbreviations in notes
Explanations of terms like cf., ibid. and passim that show up in certain citation styles.

Western Historical Quarterly

Johnson, "The Many Faces of Josefa Jaramillo"

Johnson

Prologue

Latta, Frank F. Joaquín Murrieta and His Horse Gangs.
Colton, Walter. Three Years In California. (1859)
other printings available in Hathi Trust
Three years in California ; William Perkins' journal of life at Sonora, 1849-1852
Partial Google books preview
Cosas de California : ms. / por el Sr. D. Antonio Franco Coronel, vecino de la ciudad de Los Angeles...Dictadas a D. Tomas Savage para la Bancroft Library año de 1877
Morefield, The Mexican adaptation in American California, 1846-1875
Coronel, Tales of Mexican California, tr. Doyce B. Nunis, requires free Internet Archive account for one hour loan
San Joaquin Republican
California letters of Lucius Fairchild, edited with notes and introduction by Joseph Schafer
Journals of Alfred Doten
The life and adventures of Joaquin Murieta the celebrated California bandit
- This link opens in a new window
Alta California
also Daily Alta California
The Last of the California Rangers (1928) by Jill L. Cossley-Batt
The Robin Hood of El Dorado; the saga of Joaquin Murrieta, famous outlaw of California's age of gold requires free Internet Archive account for one hour loan
Early days in California; scenes and events of the '50s as I remember them, by Mrs Lee Summers Whipple-Haslam

San Francisco Chronicle, 1865-current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1865-1984, 1985-current
Full page images of the daily San Francisco Chronicle, Northern California's largest circulation newspaper, through 1984. Text of articles only after 1985.

I am Joaquin / Yo soy Joaquin

Chapter 1

Chapter 2

Chapter 3

Pedro Isidoro Combet, “Memories of California,” in We Were 49ers! Chilean Accounts of the California Gold Rush translated and edited by Edwin A. Beilharz and Carlos U. López
- This link opens in a new window
The autobiography of Charles Peters, in 1915 the oldest pioneer living in California (1915)
Lewis Gunn & Elizabeth LeBreton Gunn, Records of a California Family
- This link opens in a new window
also LOC

Chapter 4

Taylor, E. H., et al. "California Freedom Papers." The Journal of Negro History, vol. 3, no. 1, 1918, pp. 45-54.
- This link opens in a new window
Life and adventures of James Williams, a fugitive slave, with a full description of the Underground railroad. (1873)
also Documenting the American South
Ramon Jil Navarro, “California in 1849,” in We Were 49ers! Chilean Accounts of the California Gold Rush translated and edited by Edwin A. Beilharz and Carlos U. López
- This link opens in a new window
Fulgor y muerte de Joaquín Murieta : bandido chileno injusticiado en California el 23 de julio de 1853
Facing page translation via archive.org - requires free account for 1 hour checkout
McNeils travels in 1849 to, through, and from the gold regions
Shaw, William. Golden dreams and waking realities : being the adventures of a gold-seeker in California and the Pacific islands. (1851)
- This link opens in a new window
Cosgrave, George, and Friedrich Gerstacker. "The French Revolution." California Historical Society Quarterly 17, no. 1 (1938): 2-17.
- This link opens in a new window
Heckendorn, John, and W. A. Wilson. Miners & business men's directory : for the year commencing January 1st, 1856, ...
- This link opens in a new window
Vischer, Eduard, and Ruth Frey Axe. "A Trip to the Mining Regions in the Spring of 1859: "Californischer Staats-Kalender" in the Leap Year A.D. 1860." California Historical Society Quarterly 11, no. 3 (1932): 224-46.
- This link opens in a new window
1 of 2
Vischer, Eduard, and Ruth Frey Axe. "A Trip to the Mining Regions in the Spring of 1859: "Californischer Staats-Kalender" in Leap Year A.D. 1860 (Concluded)." California Historical Society Quarterly 11, no. 4 (1932): 321-38.
- This link opens in a new window
2 of 2

Chapter 5

Chapter 6

Volcano Weekly Ledger & Amador Weekly Ledger

Epilogue

Bret Harte's gold rush : "Outcasts of Poker Flat", "The Luck of Roaring Camp", "Tennessee's Partner", and other favorites free internet archive account needed for one hour checkout

© University of Nevada Las Vegas