All states:
Western states:
Good for: Access to nearly any public domain (pre-1929) book owned and scanned by a library.
Contains: Digitized books.
Good for: Finding primary source materials on exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, and more.
Contains: Historical books, pamphlets, serials and other documents about North America, South America, Central America and the Caribbean.
Dates covered: 1500-1926.
Good for: Examining primary sources collected to document the history of the American West.
Contains: Pamphlets, maps, books, ephemeral material, and rare printed sources.
Dates covered: 1830-1939.
Good for: Searching multiple American history primary source collections.
Contains: Archival collections from Adam Matthew Publishers.
Dates covered: 1493-1975.
Good for: Reading primary sources that document the evolution of feminist consciousness and the women's rights movement.
Contains: Books and periodicals.
Dates covered: 1543-1945.
Use the date range limit to narrow your search to a relevant time period.
Good for: Finding articles from American newspapers of the 19th century.
Contains: Newspapers.
Dates covered: 1800-1900.
Good for: Searching 19th-century African American newspapers.
Contains: African-American newspapers.
Dates covered: 1827-1902.
Good for: Accounts of life, culture and historical events reported in newspapers from every U.S. state.
Contains: Historical newspapers.
Dates covered: 1690-1923.
Good for: Finding national periodicals, local community news and student publications from an Indigenous perspective.
Contains: Newspaper pages.
Dates covered: 1828-2016.
Good for: Searching newspaper articles by and for the African American communities in Atlanta, Baltimore, Chicago, Cleveland, Los Angeles, New York, Norfolk VA., Philadelphia, and Pittsburgh.
Contains: Newspaper articles.
Dates covered: 1893-2010.
Good for: Finding newspaper articles about African American life and culture in Chicago.
Contains: Newspaper articles.
Dates covered: 1909-2010.
Good for: Finding newspaper articles about news and events in Chicago and the world.
Contains: Newspaper articles.
Dates covered: 1849-2015.
Good for: Finding newspaper articles about news and events from a newspaper known for covering world events.
Contains: Newspaper articles.
Dates covered: 1908-2007.
Good for: Researching historical events through American newspapers, including Nevada newspapers.
Contains: Historical newspapers.
Dates covered: 1789-1963.
Good for: Reading newspaper reports of major events of the U.S. Civil War.
Contains: Clippings from Union and Confederate sources.
Dates covered: 1860-1865.
Good for: News and commentary by and for Hispanic American communities in Arizona, California, New Mexico, Texas and New York.
Contains: Newspapers.
Dates covered: 1808-1980.
Good for: Finding newspaper articles in Reno Gazette-Journal (1876-2008), San Francisco Examiner (1889-2007), and Spokane Statesman-Review (1894-2009); also includes selected 20th century newspapers from St. George, UT, and Tulare County and Salinas, CA.
Contains: Newspaper pages.
Dates covered: 1876-2010.
Good for: Researching historical news in Las Vegas.
Contains: Page images of the Las Vegas Review-Journal.
Dates covered: 1929-1996.
Good for: Finding newspaper articles about news and events in California, particularly the entertainment industry.
Contains: Newspaper articles.
Dates covered: 1881-2016.
Good for: Finding newspaper articles about national and international news and events.
Contains: Newspaper pages.
Dates covered: 1851-2021.
Good for: Finding newspaper articles about historical events before 1922.
Contains: Newspaper pages.
Dates covered: 1841-1922.
Good for: Learning about life and trade in colonial America.
Contains: The South Carolina Gazette newspaper.
Dates covered: 1732-1775; 1777-1780.
Good for: Finding newspaper articles about news and events in Washington, D.C. and beyond.
Contents: Newspaper pages.
Dates covered: 1877-2007.
Search for articles published in popular magazines and journals from different times in history.
Good for: Searching periodicals published by African American churches, educational and service institutions.
Contains: Newspapers and magazines.
Dates covered: 1816-1922.
Good for: Searching articles published in popular 19th century magazines, newspapers, and journals in the United States.
Contains: Periodicals.
Dates covered: 1684-1912.
Good for: Searching American magazines and journals published mostly before 1900.
Contains: Magazines and journals.
Dates covered: 1740-1940.
Good for: Studying Hispanic culture in the United States.
Contains: Publications in Spanish and English.
Dates covered: 1750-present.
Good for: Studying the music, film, broadcasting, and theater industries.
Contains: Trade publications including Variety, Billboard, and The Hollywood Reporter.
Dates covered: 1880-2015.
Good for: Reading firsthand accounts of 19th-century American society, history and culture.
Contains: PDF images and scanned text of articles from the popular magazine.
Dates covered: 1830-1898.
Good for: Studying changes in American fashion, culture, and society.
Contains: Harper's Bazaar magazine.
Dates covered: 1867-present.
Good for: Magazine articles about 20th century celebrities and the popular music and film industries.
Contains: Film industry and fan publications.
Dates covered: 1903-1995.
Good for: Researching fashion and culture.
Contains: Images and text from Vogue Magazine.
Dates covered: 1892-present.
Good for: Searching North American women's magazines and their historical context.
Contains: Women's magazines including Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents Magazine, Seventeen, Cosmopolitan and Essence.
Dates covered: 1887-2005.
Good for: Studying fashion industry history and trends.
Contains: Trade publication Women’s Wear Daily.
Dates covered: 1910-present.
These links allow you to search across multiple databases at the same time.
Good for: Searching across all primary source collections from Adam Matthew Publishers.
Contains: Archival collections.
Good for: Searching all ProQuest U.S. historical newspaper collections simultaneously.
Contains: Newspapers.
Dates covered: 1841-2014.
Good for: Searching historical periodicals.
Contains: Magazine and journal articles.
Dates covered: 1740-1940 with some more recent.
Good for: Searching across historical newspapers and books for primary sources about American life and culture.
Contains: American historical newspapers, printed books, pamphlets, and ephemera.
Dates covered: 1639-1922.
