Skip to Main Content

HIST 351, fall 2025 (Tusan): Tertiary sources

Books about historical methods and approaches

A Companion to Western Historical Thought by Lloyd Kramer (Editor); Sarah Maza (Editor)
Call Number: Lied Library Book Stacks D16.8 .B55 2002 (also ebook)

ISBN: 9780631217145

Publication Date: 2002

See part 3 for a breakdown of eight distinct approaches taken by current historians.
A Companion to Global Historical Thought by Prasenjit Duara (Editor); Viren Murthy (Editor); Andrew Sartori (Editor)
ISBN: 9780470658994

Publication Date: 2014

Essays in part 2 focus on changing approaches to history of different places; part 3 contrasts different methods and heuristics.
The Routledge Companion to Military Research Methods by Alison J. Williams (Editor); Rachel Woodward (Editor); Neil Jenkings (Editor); Matthew F. Rech (Editor)
ISBN: 9781472442758

Publication Date: 2016

This edited collection brings together an extensive group of authors from a range of disciplinary perspectives whose chapters engage with the conceptual, practical and political questions raised when doing military research.
The Ashgate Research Companion to Women and Gender in Early Modern Europe by Jane Couchman; Allyson M. Poska (Editor)
ISBN: 9781409418177

Publication Date: 2013

This Ashgate Research Companion presents an authoritative review of the current research on women and gender in early modern Europe from a multi-disciplinary perspective.

General annotated bibliographies

Older bibliographies for use doing historiography

The American Historical Association's guide to historical literature (1995)
This guide is an annotated bibliography of key sources in different regions and time periods. Sources published after 1992 are not included, but this can help you identify relevant collections or standard works.
AHA guide 1961 edition
(table of contents cuts off but you can use the page number dropdown to navigate the rest of the book - start with the Frontmatter link and navigate to page xix to pick up where the online table of contents ends. US History begins on page 711.)
A guide to historical literature (1931)
First bibliography from American Historical Association
Reader's Guide to British History
Each entry lists 6-12 of the best-known books on a subject, then discusses those works in an essay of 800 to 1,000 words prepared by an expert in the field.

Reference books & specialized encyclopedias

Companions and Encyclopedias

Longman Handbook of Twentieth Century Europe by Chris Cook; J. Stevenson
ISBN: 9780582235083

Publication Date: 2003

Covering the period from Tsarist Russia and Imperial Germany to the Balkan Wars of the 1990's and the final birth of the Euro in 2002, it provides a convenient user-friendly compendium of key fact and figures for the whole of Europe - from the Atlantic to the Urals.
The Routledge Companion to Modern European History Since 1763 by John Stevenson; Chris Cook
ISBN: 9780415345828

Publication Date: 2005

With a fully comprehensive glossary, a biographical section, a thorough bibliography and informative maps, this volume is the indispensable companion for all those who study modern European history.
A Companion to International History, 1900 - 2001 by Gordon Martel (Editor)
ISBN: 9781444333862

Publication Date: 2010

Explores influential, underlying themes such as imperialism, nationalism, internationalism, technological developments, and changes in diplomatic methods.

Routledge Companion to British History
Encyclopedia with entries for significant people, places and events.
Very Short Introductions: History
Brief overviews of historical eras, e.g. The Vikings, 20th century Britain, The Spanish Civil War ...

World History: The Modern Era
Good for: Studying world history from 1500 to the present at an introductory level.
Contains: Encyclopedia entries and primary sources, including maps, speeches, newsreel footage, photographs, book excerpts, and recorded interviews.

Available to eligible Nevada public, school, and academic libraries thanks to the Institute for Museum & Library Services through the Library Services and Technology Act.

Handbooks, Review Essays and Annotated Bibliographies

Oxford Handbook of European History, 1914-1945
ISBN: 9780191017759
The Oxford Handbook of Gender, War, and the Western World Since 1600 by Karen Hagemann (Editor); Stefan Dudink (Editor); Sonya O. Rose (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199948710

Publication Date: 2020-11-13
The Oxford Handbook of World War II by G. Kurt Piehler (Editor); Jonathan Grant (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199341795

Publication Date: 2023
Oxford Handbook of Mexican History
ISBN: 0191749958
Oxford Handbook of Soviet Underground Culture
ISBN: 9780197508244
Oxford Handbook of the Economics of Prostitution
Oxford Handbook of Fascism
Oxford Handbook of the History of Medicine
The Oxford Handbook of Late Colonial Insurgencies and Counter-Insurgencies

History Compass
This journal publishes review articles that let you get an overview of current scholarship on historical topics.
H-Net online reviews
Reviews of books and web projects in history and other humanities disciplines

Oxford Bibliographies
Good for: Creating reading lists or consulting overviews of topics to identify significant scholarship.
Contains: Annotated bibliographies focused on areas of study within a discipline.

Video tutorial for Oxford Bibliographies

OBO: Spanish-American War

© University of Nevada Las Vegas