LibGuides: HIST 351, spring 24 (Tusan): Secondary sources

Finding Books, Articles and More from UNLV Libraries

Search for books and online articles from UNLV Libraries and beyond using Quick Search.

The default search results will include books, online journal articles, newspaper articles, streaming video and more. Filters on the results page let you select materials by format, subject, date, or language, or you can opt to see only articles from peer-reviewed journals.

To find both available copies of a book and book reviews that discuss the book, search for part of its exact title in quotation marks: "The British Empire and the Armenian Genocide"

Reviews may be labeled Review or Article and you'll see the name of the reviewer and the journal that published the review. The book itself may show an image of the cover and you'll see either a call number or a link to read the ebook online.

WorldCat

WorldCat lets you identify books held by other libraries that you may be able to borrow from interlibrary loan.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
11th century -
Use WorldCat to search the holdings of academic, public and special libraries around the world.
This union catalog contains records of books and other items in libraries worldwide. Items owned by UNLV Libraries are indicated; UNLV students, faculty and staff may request books via Document Delivery Services.

WorldCat.org
Free online version of WorldCat; includes fewer items than the library subscription version but has nicer interface.
ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan)

Experimental Searches

Consensus.app
AI search generates research paper summaries
JSTOR Text Analyzer
Drag in a relevant paper to see others with similar keywords

Secondary Sources: Books and Articles

Articles

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books about the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Scope: U.S. and Canada only
Languages: Abstracts of articles in 40 different languages
This index includes almost 400,000 bibliographic entries from over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Books, media reviews, and dissertations are also covered, and approximately 16,000 entries are added each year. The Get Text button links to online full text when available and offers access to UNLV print collections and document delivery options for books and articles not available online.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1954-
Journal articles and books about world history from 1450 forward (Does not include the United States and Canada). Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Historical Abstracts identifies journal articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada (See: America: History and Life). Articles from over 2,000 journals are indexed and annotated, and the database includes over half a million entries in all. A select 3,000 books are also listed.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Large collection of academic journals covering a broad timespan. Use the advanced search form to limit your results to just history journals or to just one time period.
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1995-
Scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Update frequency: monthly

Books and ebooks

The Library QuickSearch (top box above) is the fastest way to get to books in Lied Library and ebooks that UNLV provides subscription access to.

Hathi Trust This link opens in a new window
Access to nearly any public domain (pre-1924) book owned and scanned by a library. UNLV users can login with their ACE accounts and download entire "full view" books/documents.

Archive.org Library
requires free Internet Archive account for one hour loan of all in copyright works.
more...less...
Scanned books published before 2011. Make a free account to borrow works still under copyright.

HIST 351, spring 24 (Tusan): Secondary sources

Finding Books, Articles and More from UNLV Libraries

WorldCat

Experimental Searches

Secondary Sources: Books and Articles

Locations

Contact