Good for: Viewing feature films for educational purposes.
Contains: Streaming feature films.
Good for: Watching feature films and documentaries in various languages.
Contains: Streaming films in Spanish, Portuguese, and 34 other languages with English subtitles.
Good for: Streaming videos including documentaries, features and independent films.
Contains: Films.
Good for: Learning about various subjects through educational videos.
Contains: Documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, and other videos spanning a wide range of subject areas.
A Companion to the Literature of German Expressionism
by
The Routledge Companion to Expressionism in a Transnational Context
by
Good for: Searching articles that analyze film, television and aspects of popular culture.
Contains: Articles published in scholarly journals and popular magazines.
Good for: Fine arts students looking for arts analysis and practical advice.
Contains: Articles on drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Good for: Analyzing and contributing to popular culture.
Contains: Scholarly journals and magazines.
Good for: Researching art publications.
Contains: Index with selected full text.
Dates covered: 1997-present.
Good for: Finding scholarship in communication and mass media studies, including journalism and popular culture.
Contains: Journal articles.
Dates covered: 1900-current date
Good for: Studying the music, film, broadcasting, and theater industries.
Contains: Trade publications including Variety, Billboard, and The Hollywood Reporter.
Dates covered: 1880-2015.
Good for: Magazine articles about 20th century celebrities and the popular music and film industries.
Contains: Film industry and fan publications.
Dates covered: 1903-1995.
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Good for: Locating scholarly resources focused on literary interpretation or critical theory.
Contains: Citations to literary criticism in journal articles, book chapters, books, and more.
Dates covered: 1926-present.
Good for: Exploring a wide range of scholarly topics.
Contains: Scholarly journals, ebooks, art images and primary source collections
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions
Films and technology
Good for: Viewing films of late Victorian and Edwardian life.
Contains: Streaming films.
Dates covered: 1895-1913.
Good for: Finding primary sources related to popular entertainment in America, Britain, and Europe.
Contains: Books, posters, scrapbooks, and optical toys.
Dates covered: 1779-1930.
Good for: Viewing documentaries, newsreels, and feature films from a socialist perspective.
Contains: Films by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, British and Latin American filmmakers.
Dates covered: 1918-1990.
Good for: Texts on the invention and early history of photography, collections of photographs, photograph albums, and early books illustrated with photos.
Contains: Books, photographs.
Dates covered: 1800s-early 1900s.
Magazines and popular culture
Good for: Exploring British and American fiction, current affairs, arts, fashion, and culture.
Contains: Magazines.
Dates covered: 1920-1930.
Good for: Searching articles in magazines about British culture and society.
Contains: Popular British periodicals, mostly from the 19th century.
Dates covered: 1681-1920.
Good for: Searching North American women's magazines and their historical context.
Contains: Women's magazines including Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents Magazine, Seventeen, Cosmopolitan and Essence.
Dates covered: 1887-2005.
Visual Arts
Good for: Researching art.
Contains: Art encyclopedia.
Good for: Surveying examples and theories of surrealism.
Contains: Reference work, interactive timeline, and rare archive images, portraits, and artworks.
Literature
Good for: Finding literary criticism.
Contains: Scholarly articles, overviews, and literary reference works.
Good for: Locating scholarly resources focused on literary interpretation or critical theory.
Contains: Citations to literary criticism in journal articles, book chapters, books, and more.
Dates covered: 1926-present.
Good for: Researching literature, literary criticism and theory, and finding interviews with authors and book reviews.
Contains: Poetry, drama, prose, literature criticism journals, e-books, and key reference resources.
Drama
You can search the Library Quick Search by Subject. This is not an exhaustive list of film subject headings. As you find items relevant to your research, take note of the subject headings listed. Using those will help you find similar relevant materials. Some useful subjects include:
The print collection of film related materials is located on the 4th floor of Lied Library.
