Skip to main content

Dissertation/Thesis Resources -- Library Support for Writing Dissertations and Theses: Sharing Your Thesis or Dissertation

This guide collects resources for UNLV students writing graduate theses and dissertations. Resources in this guide support culminating graduate projects in a range of disciplines. For discipline-specific help, contact your subject librarian.

Role of Digital Scholarship@UNLV and Proquest

UNLV theses and dissertations are made available through ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global subsription database and through UNLV's open access institutional repository, Digital Scholarship@UNLV. This requirement is described in the UNLV Degree Progression Policies & Procedures section of the current UNLV Graduate Catalog.

Digital Scholarship @ UNLV

UNLV provides open access to recent theses, dissertations, and some capstone projects and professional papers. Recent additions to the collection can be found below, and the entire online collection can be viewed in Digital Scholarship@UNLV, the institutional repository.

Loading ...

Sharing Theses and Dissertations online

UNLV Graduate Students have options regarding sharing of their thesis or dissertations including whether to apply an embargo on their work.  The Graduate College oversees the embargo process and questions about embargo options should be directed to the Graduate College Offices.

While understanding author preferences vary, there are many good reasons to share your work in ProQuest and Digital Scholarship@UNLV:

A thesis, dissertation, or professional paper is an important contribution to scholarship and society. Sharing these contributions supports UNLV’s mission and Top Tier efforts to create an environment in which “students produce high quality, widely disseminated, and influential research, scholarship, and creative activities.”

The most effective way to share theses and dissertations is through UNLV’s Institutional Repository, Digital Scholarship@UNLV. Digital Scholarship@UNLV is an open access repository that allows visitors from anywhere in the world to discover and download UNLV-produced scholarship. There are other benefits for students and the university to have theses, dissertations, and professional papers in Digital Scholarship@UNLV:

  • Allows graduate students to easily share the knowledge with and improve the world. Students who enter the academic job market or continue their studies elsewhere can utilize permanent links to scholarship in their CVs or online portfolio to conveniently share their work with others.
  • Digital Scholarship@UNLV is committed to a high-level of preservation of theses, dissertations, and professional papers, ensuring that these contributions to scholarship will exist for future generations.
  • Readership reports and impact metrics are available for authors, allowing authors to know in real-time how often their work was downloaded, cited, or tweeted.
  • For departments and colleges, having their graduate theses, dissertations, and professional papers available online can help recruit future scholars to their program.

Submitting Your Thesis or Dissertation

The complete Thesis and Dissertation Guidelines are available from the Graduate College website. The Graduate College provides resources for students including getting started, formatting, and procedures for submitting your final thesis or dissertation.

This provides a general outline of submitting the thesis or dissertation to ProQuest, once the Graduate College has provided the student with the final approved copy. Complete submission instructions are provided at the time the final document is approved.

Basic steps for submitting your work to ProQuest:

  • Create an account with ProQuest
  • Review your Publishing Options in ProQuest. These include agreeing to the Traditional Publishing option provided by ProQuest, whether you wish to have search engines discover your work as it appears in ProQuest, and embargo choices (embargoes require approval by the Graduate College).
  • Entering your contact information (including a permanent email address)
  • Description of your thesis or dissertation
  • Uploading the approved PDF of your document (and supplementary files if you have them)
  • Decide whether to file for copyright registration. While your original work is copyrighted automatically, some authors choose to file for copyright registration for an additional layer of protection.

Your work in Digital Scholarship@UNLV:

You only need to submit your document to ProQuest. The library will receive a copy of your final submitted thesis or dissertation and all the associated metadata you provided including dates of approved embargoes directly from ProQuest. You will be notified when your document is posted in Digital Scholarship@UNLV.

The Quick Take video below gives a brief overview of the process to upload your thesis or dissertation in ProQuest.

Binding theses and dissertations

UNLV’s Rebel Copy and Send, located on campus in the Student Union, will work with graduates who would like a bound, printed copy of their thesis or dissertation.  Turnaround time is approximately one week.  They will accept in-person orders only.  Visit their website for hours and contact information.  Other options are:

Copyright

The UNLV Graduate College provides information for authors on copyright and embargoes in the Thesis and Dissertation Format and Submission Guidelines at https://www.unlv.edu/graduatecollege/thesis.

Section 7 of the Guidelines covers:

  • Copyright information
  • Embargo options for theses and dissertations
  • Formatting the copyright page of your thesis or dissertation

In short, your work is copyrighted by you automatically. However you have decisions to make regarding registration of that copyright, and whether or not you wish to delay the release of your work to the public.

Frequently Asked Questions about Submitting Theses & Dissertations

Here are a few common questions we receive about theses and dissertations in Digital Scholarship@UNLV:

I've submitted my thesis or dissertation, how long will it take to show in ProQuest or Digital Scholarship@UNLV?

  • The time it takes varies slightly from semester to semester. Generally, it takes between four and six months from the semester graduation date. As an example, theses and dissertations from spring semester may not become available until November or December. The conferral process that the Graduate College oversees typically takes several months.  Once the Graduate College completes the conferral process the library may take 2-3 weeks to review metadata and embargoes before posting in Digital Scholarship@UNLV.

I don't want my thesis or dissertation to be available right away. How do I get an embargo added to it?

  • Students may request an embargo for their work. The Graduate College typically sees embargo requests for the following reasons:
    • Publishing conflicts (please note, very few journal publishers consider a thesis or dissertation published online to be a prior publication - read your journal publishing agreement carefully).
    • Patent applications
    • Potential to publish in the next few years
    • Monograph publication timeline
    • Funding contracts
  • Please visit the Graduate College website for information on the embargo process. The Graduate College is responsible for approving embargoes. The library is responsible for applying approved embargoes in ProQuest and Digital Scholarship@UNLV.

I have a question about the process - who should I contact?

  • The Graduate College staff can help with questions about the thesis and dissertation process. Email grad.rpc <at> unlv.edu.

 

© University of Nevada Las Vegas