LibGuides: Historical Newspapers: World

World Newspapers on Microfilm

List by title

World Newspapers searchable online

Use the date range limit to narrow your search to a relevant time period.

British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Historical Newspapers: The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Newspapers: South China Morning Post, 1903-2001 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

RetroNews (French)

Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also searchable in Gale Primary Sources.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Nichols Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
South Asia Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Substantial runs of more than 200 journals in a range of subjects published from India and South Asia, including early journals such as Asiatic Researches (first published in 1788), Indian Review, Modern Review and Calcutta Gazette. There is also an array of vernacular journals such as: Bharatbarsha, Prabasi, Manasi, and Sachitra. Also includes Indian Film Booklets, 1930 – 1949. A significant proportion of the collection is in English, but thirty percent of the documents are written in various vernacular languages of the period/region(s).
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

TROVE - newspapers from National Library of Australia
Journaux de la Révolution de 1848 (Newspapers of the French Revolution 1848)
- This link opens in a new window
La France pendant la guerre 1939-1945: Résistance et journaux de Vichy (Voices from Wartime France 1939-1945: Clandestine Resistance and Vichy Newspapers)
- This link opens in a new window

Lists of free online newspapers

Search for articles published in popular magazines and journals from different times in history.

Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals, part I: Women's, Children's, Humour, and Leisure This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-1900
Magazines revealing British life in the Victorian age and the events, lifestyles, values, and ideas that shaped their world.
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals, part II: Empire This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-1900
Magazines by and for British imperial colonizers, settlers, missionaries, and travelers.
Gale Primary Sources
British Periodicals Collection I and II This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1681-1920
Popular British periodicals mostly from the 19th century.
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2015 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1843-2015
Issues of The Economist, a news magazine with a global scope published in London.
Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1685-1835
Literary, satirical, political, religious and theatrical magazines and newspapers from Britain, Ireland, Scotland, India and the Caribbean.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2013 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1902-2013
London Times Literary Supplement publishes essays, letters, poems and articles.

Nineteenth Century Periodicals list
List of freely available 19th C periodicals compiled by Elizabeth Clarke at Marist College.

These links allow you to search across multiple databases at the same time.

AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1493-1975
Search all archival collections from Adam Matthew Publishers.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes 19th Century UK Periodicals, Archives of Sexuality & Gender (LGBTQ History), British Library Newspapers, The Economist (1843-2014), Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, Sabin Americana (1500-1926), China and the Modern World, London Times Digital Archive, and London Times Literary Supplement.
Historical U.S. Newspapers from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1841-2000 with some more recent
Search all ProQuest U.S. historical newspaper collections simultaneously.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender‎ (1909 - 1975)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune‎ (1849 - 1993)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Christian Science Monitor‎ (1908 - 2003)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times‎ (1881 - 1993)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times‎ (1851 - 2013)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Tribune‎ (1841 - 1922)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post‎ (1877 - 2000)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: U.S. West, including Reno Gazette-Journal (1876-2008), San Francisco Examiner (1889-2007), and Spokane Statesman-Review (1894-2009)
Historical Periodicals from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1740-1940 with some more recent
Search all ProQuest historical periodical collections simultaneously.
American Periodicals‎ (1740 - 1940)
British Periodicals‎ (1681 - 1939)
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive‎ (1880 - 2000)
The Harper's Bazaar Archive‎ (1867 - current)
Periodicals Archive Online‎
The Vogue Archive‎
Women's Magazine Archive‎ (1846 - 2005)
The Women's Wear Daily Archive‎
Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1639-1922
Combined search of American historical newspapers (1690-1922), printed books (1639-1819), and pamphlets and ephemera (1749-1922).
Search all collections of historical primary sources from Readex simultaneously: America's Historical Newspapers, American Broadsides and Ephemera; American Pamphlets; Early American Imprints (Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker).

Accessible Archives combined search
- This link opens in a new window
Cross search 19thC American periodicals, newspapers, pamphlets, and clippings.
more...less...
Collections include African American Newspapers, The Civil War A Newspaper Perspective, Godey's Lady's Book, South Carolina Newspapers (colonial), and antislavery and woman suffrage publications.
EBSCO 19th C periodicals
- This link opens in a new window
Cross search American Antiquarian Society periodicals with African American Serials, Gateway to North America collections.

Historical Newspapers: World

World Newspapers on Microfilm

World Newspapers searchable online

Locations

Contact