LibGuides: COM 408: Rhetorical Criticism (Bloomfield): Rhetorical Criticism Resources & Selection of E-Books

Rhetorical Criticism Resources

Silva Rhetoricæ
Maintained by Dr. Gideon Burton of Brigham Young University, this site concentrates on the terms of classical renaissance rhetoric.
ASHR (American Society for the History of Rhetoric)
"Resources" section of website offers links to a rhetoric-related organizations as well as primary sources, online resource pages in rhetorical studies and discussion groups.

Specific Journals Focusing on Rhetoric

Below are some examples of specific scholarly journals focusing on rhetoric.

Rhetoric & Public Affairs
Description provided by EBSCO: Covers the history, theory, and criticism of public discourse.
Journal of Contemporary Rhetoric
Description provided by EBSCO: Publishes theoretically based analyses that explore the rhetorical workings of current affairs.
Rhetoric Society Quarterly
From Taylor & Francis: Rhetoric Society Quarterly , the official journal of the Rhetoric Society of America, features original articles on all areas of rhetorical studies including theory, history, criticism, and pedagogy.
Rhetoric Review
From Taylor & Francis: A scholarly interdisciplinary journal of rhetoric that publishes in all areas of rhetoric and writing and provides a professional forum for its readers to consider and discuss current topics and issues.

Examples of E-Books (Access with ACE Account)

Below are a few examples of e-books available through UNLV Libraries. To find others, try a keyword search about your topic and be sure to limit it to Books and Full-Text on Quick Search. If you don't limit it to Full-Text, you will also see what's available in the Libraries print collection on third, fourth and fifth floors of Lied Library.

Michael Moore and the Rhetoric of Documentary by Thomas W. Benson (Editor
ISBN: 9780809334070
Publication Date: 2015-04-27
Not afraid to tackle provocative topics in American culture, from gun violence and labor policies to terrorism and health care, Michael Moore has earned both applause and invective in his career as a documentarian.
Disability Rhetoric by Jay Timothy Dolmage
ISBN: 9780815633242
Publication Date: 2014-01-22
Disability Rhetoric is the first book to view rhetorical theory and history through the lens of disability studies. Traditionally, the body has been seen as, at best, a rhetorical distraction; at worst, those whose bodies do not conform to a narrow range of norms are disqualified from speaking. Yet, Dolmage argues that communication has always been obsessed with the meaning of the body and that bodily difference is always highly rhetorical. Following from this rewriting of rhetorical history, he outlines the development of a new theory, affirming the ideas that all communication is embodied, that the body plays a central role in all expression, and that greater attention to a range of bodies is therefore essential to a better understanding of rhetorical histories, theories, and possibilities.
Words Like Daggers by Kirilka Stavreva
ISBN: 9780803286597
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Dramatic and documentary narratives about aggressive and garrulous women often cast such women as reckless and ultimately unsuccessful usurpers of cultural authority. Contending narratives, however, sometimes within the same texts, point to the effective subversion and undoing of the normative restrictions of social and gender hierarchies.
The Rhetoric of Heroic Expectations by Justin S. Vaughn; Jennifer R. Mercieca
ISBN: 9781623491215
Publication Date: 2014-03-01
Campaign rhetoric helps candidates to get elected, but its effects last well beyond the counting of the ballots; this was perhaps never truer than in Barack ObamaOCOs 2008 campaign.
In the Name of Terrorism by Carol K. Winkler
ISBN: 0791466175
Publication Date: 2005-10-27
Traces the shifts in presidential discourse on terrorism since World War II.
The Reinvention of Populist Rhetoric in the Digital Age by Mark Rolfe
ISBN: 9789811021602
Publication Date: 2016-12-05
This highly original work considers the rhetoric of political actors and commentators who identify digital media as the means to a new era of politics and democracy.
The Pop Festival by George McKay
ISBN: 9781623568207
Publication Date: 2015-05-21
Woodstock is only the tip of the iceberg. Popular music festivals are one of the strikingly successful and enduring features of seasonal popular cultural consumption for young people and older generations of enthusiasts.
Countercultures and Popular Music by Sheila Whiteley; Jedediah Sklower
ISBN: 1317158911
Publication Date: 2016-05-13
'Counterculture' emerged as a term in the late 1960s and has been re-deployed in more recent decades in relation to other forms of cultural and socio-political phenomena. This volume provides an essential new academic scrutiny of the concept of 'counterculture' and a critical examination of the period and its heritage.
Extreme Cinema by Mattias Frey
ISBN: 9780813576527
Publication Date: 2016-03-15
Received an Honorable Mention for the 2017 British Association of Film, Television and Screen Studies (BAFTSS) Best Monograph Award From Shortbus to Shame and from Oldboy to Irreversible, film festival premieres regularly make international headlines for their shockingly graphic depictions of sex and violence.
On Becoming Neighbors by Alexandra Klaren
ISBN: 9780822945901
Publication Date: 2019-10-29
Fred Rogers is an American cultural and media icon, whose children's television program, Mister Rogers' Neighborhood, ran for more than thirty years (1967-2001) on the Public Broadcasting System (PBS). In this highly original book, Alexandra C. Klarén shows how Rogers captured the moral, social, and emotional imaginations of multiple generations of Americans. She explores the nuanced complexity of the thought behind the man and the program, the dialogical integration of his various influences, and the intentional ethic of care behind the creation of a program that spoke to the affective, socio-cultural, and educational needs of children (and adults) during a period of cultural upheaval. Richly informed by newly available archival materials, On Becoming Neighbors chronicles the evolution of Rogers' thought on television, children, pedagogy, and the family through a rhetorical, cultural, and ethical lens. Klarén probes how Rogers creates the conditions for dialogue in which participants explore possibilities and questions relating to the social and material world.
The Daily Show and Rhetoric by Trischa Goodnow Knapp
ISBN: 0739150049
Publication Date: 2011-02-01
The Daily Show and Rhetoric: Arguments, Issues, and Strategies examines the popular Comedy Central program from a rhetorical perspective to uncover the ways in which Jon Stewart, the cast, and writers critique mainstream media and politicians. This volume analyzes the nature of The Daily Show, the arguments the program makes about the media and politics, the strategies that are used, and some of the particular issues about which the program makes arguments. Overall, the contributors skillfully demonstrate that The Daily Show is more than just a show designed to make the audience laugh. Rather, the show provides useful information and arguments so that the audience can make informed decisions about the world around them.

Rhetoric-Related Journals

Present Tense : A Journal of Rhetoric in Society
Relevant Rhetoric: A New Journal of Rhetorical Studies
Philosophy and Rhetoric
Rhetoric and Public Affairs
Rhetoric of Health and Medicine
Rhetoric Review, A Journal of Rhetoric and Composition
Rhetoric Society Quarterly
Rhetorica
American Rhetoric - Rhetoric & Communication Journals: A list of journals with links to their web sites.

Rhetoric-Related Organizations

American Society for the History of Rhetoric

Part of the International Society for the History of Rhetoric, and publisher of Advances in the History of Rhetoric.
Gorgias Society

For students of rhetoric and composition theory.
International Society for the History of Rhetoric

Promotes the study of the theory of rhetoric and its relationships to other disciplines.
Rhetorical Society of America

Interdisciplinary scholarly organization. Site includes information on rhetoric conferences, journals, awards, news, and resource links.

COM 408: Rhetorical Criticism (Bloomfield): Rhetorical Criticism Resources & Selection of E-Books

Rhetorical Criticism Resources

Specific Journals Focusing on Rhetoric

Examples of E-Books (Access with ACE Account)

Rhetoric-Related Journals

Rhetoric-Related Organizations

Locations

Contact