LibGuides: Sociology of Art Soc412: Library Guides

Librarian

Contact:

brittani.sterling@unlv.edu

Subjects: Anthropology, Environmental Studies, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Interdisciplinary Studies, Political Science, Sociology

Museums

Local Resources

Citation Help

Resources for easily creating bibliographies.

MLA Citation Style
A basic introduction to citation in MLA from the Santa Fe University of Art and Design.
APA Guidelines (Purdue OWL)
Chicago Citation Style Guide
PDF file outlining basic rules for citing sources using Chicago Style guidelines.
zbib.org
Quickly finds and formats citations - no login required.

Quick Search - find books, journal articles and everything else

Quick Search will look for books, journal and magazine and newspaper articles and even materials from Special Collections. Searches will return many hits, sometimes too many.

A few tips for using Quick Search

Use the "Refine your search" tabs on the left hand side of the page
These tabs will allow you to limit by books, journal articles or to exclude newspaper articles
You can also limit to scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles
Also, notice in the results list, each entry has two small icons in the right hand corner
The icon with a box and a plus sign allows you to format and email the citation
Use "quote" marks if you are looking for an exact title
Use word and to search for information on two subjects - art and culture

Quick Search

Discovering Books

The easiest way to find books in our collection is to search the UNLV Library Catalog, listed below. If we do not have what you're looking for, try searching in the other catalogs listed. BorrowItNow, Link+, and WorldCat all allow you to borrow books from other libraries, for free!

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
11th century -
Use WorldCat to search the holdings of academic, public and special libraries around the world.
This union catalog contains records of books and other items in libraries worldwide. Items owned by UNLV Libraries are indicated; UNLV students, faculty and staff may request books via Document Delivery Services.
Google Books This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of digitized books.
Depending on copyright status, you may see your search term highlighted in snippets of the text or in a "limited preview" of a few pages of the book. If the book is out of copyright (published before 1923), you'll be able to page through the entire book or download it as a PDF. UNLV Libraries does not have any special subscription access to books in Google Books, so if your search leads you to a book you want that is not in our collection, consider requesting it from interlibrary loan.

New Books

New fine arts titles @ UNLV
View recent titles on Fine Arts, just received at the UNLV Libraries.
Other new titles at UNLV Libraries
View new titles received at UNLV by month and department.

Finding Background Information

The following resources provide background information on artists and art terms. They are a great place to start your research and will help you explore and focus possible topics.

Online Resources

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to 4-5 simultaneous users.
Art encyclopedia
Use this resource for information of the visual arts world, from prehistory to the present day. Full text articles, images and charts, and links to web material
Bloomsbury Design Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Images, encyclopedias and ebooks about design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day.

The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms
Call Number: Online Resource
An essential reference work embracing the vast vocabulary of art in all its forms. Covers painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, the decorative, applied and graphic arts from all periods throughout the world up to the present day.
Aesthetics A-Z
Call Number: Online Resource
Covers the key concepts, arguments, problems and figures in aesthetics and the philosophy of art.
Critical Terms for Art History
Call Number: Online Resource
Offers a spirited reassessment of art history's methods and terminology.
Dictionary of Visual Discourse: A Dialectical Lexicon of Terms
Call Number: Online Resource
This dictionary explores the languages and cultures of visual studies. It provides the basis for understanding the foundations and motivations of current theoretical and academic discourse, as well as the different forms of visual culture that have come to organize everyday life.

Print Resources

Dictionary of subjects and symbols in art by James Hall
Call Number: N7560 .H34 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Combined here in a single volume are religious, classical, and historical themes, figures of moral allegory, and characters from romantic poetry that appeared throughout paintings and sculpture in Western art before and after the Renaissance.
The Yale dictionary of art and artists by Erika Langmuir and Norbert Lynton
Call Number: N33 .L353 2000
Publication Date: 2000
This reference work deals with all aspects of Western art from 1300 to the present day. It provides information on painters, sculptors, and graphic artists, technical processes, terminology, theory, schools, movements, patrons and collecting, and much more.
Encyclopedia of World Art
Call Number: N31 .E4833
Publication Date: 1987
Library has volumes 1-17

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.

The first place to look for journal articles is Academic Search Premier. ASP is the largest database and contains both scholarly and popular material from many disciplines.

Research Tips - you can search ASP with other Ebsco databases at the same time.

Open ASP, above the search box, there is link in blue that says "choose databases"
Click "choose databases" and see a list of all other Ebsco databases
Select other databases and hit Ok
This allows you to search ASP with Film and Television or PsyInfo or SportsDiscus
End result is the ability to find more sources for your topic without duplications

Databases

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art publications index with selected full text from 1997. Limited to 12 simultaneous users.
Art, architecture, photography, graphic design, landscape architecture, interior design, film, museology are all covered. Possible to limit searches to full text items only or peer-reviewed items only. Works of art found reproduced in periodicals are also indexed. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. The abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full text coverage of selected articles begins in 1997.
Art Index Retrospective 1929-1984 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles and books on archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, crafts, landscape architecture, film, fine arts, folk arts, graphic arts, industrial design, and photography.
Bloomsbury Design Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Images, encyclopedias and ebooks about design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Update frequency: annual
Abstracts and citations for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals.
DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture
Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts (AATA) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of conservation books, articles, proceedings and more.
Update frequency: quarterly
Peer-reviewed abstracts covering the international literature on conservation and heritage management, created as a service of the Getty Conservation Institute in association with The International Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works and ICCROM (International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The basic index for architecture articles.
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide in the fields of architecture, landscape architecture, interior design, urban planning and historic preservation.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to 4-5 simultaneous users.
Art encyclopedia
Use this resource for information of the visual arts world, from prehistory to the present day. Full text articles, images and charts, and links to web material
Art and Architecture Thesaurus This link opens in a new window
Maintained by the Getty Research Institute, this thesaurus has more than 131,000 terms, as well as other information about concepts used to describe art, architecture, decorative arts, material culture, and archival material.
The site also provides access to two related thesauri, The Union List of Artist Names (ULAN) and The Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names.
Art dictionaries from Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Specialized dictionaries in art, architecture, and other arts.
Dictionaries are in the fields of art, architecture and film, including Miller's Antiques Encyclopedia, The Bridgeman Art Library Archive, The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of 20th Century Architecture, The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of 20th Century Design and Designers, The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Fashion and Fashion Designers, The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and Designers and more.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1995-
Scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Update frequency: monthly
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1975-
A&HCI provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals.
Update frequency: Updated weekly
Use this tool to identify how often a particular author has been cited in the work of peers or to identify the most influential scholarship on a topic.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1802-1995
Journal articles in the humanities and social sciences published between 1802-1995
Update frequency: quarterly
Search international scholarly literature in the humanities and social sciences disciplines from 1802 to 1995. PAO includes pre-1995 issues of over 400 journals, including many journals published in languages other than English.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1895-
Indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines.
Includes full text for selected journals, monographs, and conference papers and contains full text for over 325 journals dating back to 1895. Encompasses all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, and many others.

Sociology - Sage Journal Collection
This searchable database covers such subjects as contemporary sociology, ethnic studies, gender studies, social theory, the sociology of sport and the sociology of work.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches scholarly journal articles. Set preferences to UNLV for full text access!
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports from many academic and technical fields. It is freely available to anyone searching the Internet; however, many of the links that lead to full text resources are not. On your first visit, go to Google Scholar Preferences and use the Library Links box to set UNLV as your source for no-fee access to many full text articles. For answers to questions about Google Scholar, check out the FAQ.

Newspaper databases are a great resource for finding reviews.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable published news, legal, medical and business information.
The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1690-1923
Historical newspapers from every state in the U.S.
Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune, 1849-1998 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1849-1998
Cover to cover digital reproductions of the Chicago Tribune with searchable full text.
Chicago Tribune, 1985- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1985-
Major daily newspaper from Chicago.
Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times, 1881-2014 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1881-2014
Historical California newspaper.
Los Angeles Times, 1996 - current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1996-
Major daily newspaper from Los Angeles. Click on the publications link above the search box and then select "Los Angeles Times" to search only this publication.
With the nation's largest editorial department, it offers extensive coverage of national, international, and local news.
Historical Newspapers: New York Times, 1851-2017 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1851-2017
Historical New York newspaper.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional newspapers and broadcast television transcripts.
Newspaper Source provides full text coverage for 40 national and international newspapers including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Times (London), and The Toronto Star. Selected full text is offered from more than 330 regional newspapers including The Buffalo News, Orange County Register, Philadelphia Inquirer, San Francisco Chronicle, and St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Full text transcripts are available from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, National Public Radio, and more.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1980s-
Searchable current and recent articles from newspapers, including Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
Full text of articles from major national newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, The Christian Science Monitor, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Seattle Post-Intelligencer, USA Today. Also included are the New York Times Book Review, the New York Times Magazine, and the Las Vegas Review Journal.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1785-2019
The Times (London) newspaper.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art digital images and related data.
A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, social sciences and related data; the tools to actively use those images; and a restricted usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content user.
Fashion Photography Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1980 - Images, articles and videos about contemporary fashion history and clothing designers.
Getty Images This link opens in a new window
Images from the J. Paul Getty museum - use the search filters to choose the type of material for your results.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
Images held by the Prints and Photographs division of the Library of Congress.
The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and other units of the Library of Congress. About 90% of the records are accompanied by one or more digital images. In some collections, only thumbnail images display to those searching outside the Library of Congress because of potential rights considerations.
National Gallery of Art images This link opens in a new window
Images from the National Gallery of Art

Sociology of Art Soc412: Library Guides