Resources for easily creating bibliographies.
Quick Search will look for books, journal and magazine and newspaper articles and even materials from Special Collections. Searches will return many hits, sometimes too many.
A few tips for using Quick Search
The easiest way to find books in our collection is to search the UNLV Library Catalog, listed below. If we do not have what you're looking for, try searching in the other catalogs listed. BorrowItNow, Link+, and WorldCat all allow you to borrow books from other libraries, for free!
Good for: Searching library holdings worldwide.
Contains: Catalog of library holdings.
Dates covered: 11th century-present.
Good for: Searching through the contents of published books.
Contains: Digitized books, some with limited access.
The following resources provide background information on artists and art terms. They are a great place to start your research and will help you explore and focus possible topics.
Online Resources
Good for: Researching art.
Contains: Art encyclopedia.
Good for: Researching design and crafts worldwide.
Contains: Images, encyclopedias, and e-books.
Dates covered: 1500 BCE-present.
Print Resources
Dictionary of subjects and symbols in art
by
The Yale dictionary of art and artists
by
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
The first place to look for journal articles is Academic Search Premier. ASP is the largest database and contains both scholarly and popular material from many disciplines.
Research Tips - you can search ASP with other Ebsco databases at the same time.
Good for: Researching art publications.
Contains: Index with selected full text.
Dates covered: 1997-present.
Good for: Finding citations on art, architecture, and related fields.
Contains: Citations to articles and books.
Dates covered: 1929-1984.
Good for: Researching design and crafts worldwide.
Contains: Images, encyclopedias, and e-books.
Dates covered: 1500 BCE-present.
Good for: Finding abstracts and citations for design and applied arts.
Contains: Abstracts and citations for articles, news items, and reviews.
Good for: Finding abstracts on art and archaeology conservation.
Contains: Abstracts of books, articles, and proceedings.
Good for: Researching architecture articles.
Contains: Index of architecture articles.
Good for: Researching art.
Contains: Art encyclopedia.
Good for: Finding terms and concepts used to describe art and architecture.
Contains: Thesaurus with over 131,000 terms.
Good for: Defining art, architecture, and other arts terms.
Contains: Specialized dictionaries.
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Good for: Exploring a wide range of scholarly topics.
Contains: Scholarly journals, ebooks, art images and primary source collections
Good for: Researching humanities and social sciences topics.
Contains: Scholarly journals and e-books.
Dates covered: 1995-present.
Good for: Identifying how often a particular author has been cited in the work of peers or to discover the most influential scholarship on a topic.
Contains: Bibliographic information and cited references.
Dates covered: 1975-one week ago.
Good for: Finding journal articles in the humanities and social sciences.
Contains: Journal articles.
Dates covered: 1802-1995.
Good for: Researching sociology and related disciplines.
Contains: Index to literature.
Dates covered: 1895-present.
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions
Newspaper databases are a great resource for finding reviews.
Good for: Researching published news, legal, medical, patents, and business information.
Contains: News, legal, medical, and business information.
Good for: Accounts of life, culture and historical events reported in newspapers from every U.S. state.
Contains: Historical newspapers.
Dates covered: 1690-1923.
Good for: Finding newspaper articles about news and events in Chicago and the world.
Contains: Newspaper articles.
Dates covered: 1849-2015.
Good for: Researching news and events in Chicago.
Contains: Full text of the Chicago Tribune.
Dates covered: 1985-present.
Good for: Finding newspaper articles about news and events in California, particularly the entertainment industry.
Contains: Newspaper articles.
Dates covered: 1881-2016.
Good for: Finding news articles from the Los Angeles Times.
Contains: Articles.
Dates covered: 1996-present.
Good for: Finding newspaper articles about national and international news and events.
Contains: Newspaper pages.
Dates covered: 1851-2021.
Good for: Finding regional news articles and broadcast television transcripts.
Contains: Regional newspapers and transcripts.
Good for: Finding current and recent news articles from major U.S. newspapers.
Contains: Articles from newspapers like the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal.
Dates covered: 1980s-present.
Good for: Finding articles from The Times (London).
Contains: The Times newspaper.
Dates covered: 1785-2019.
Good for: Finding and using digital images for research and teaching.
Contains: Art digital images and related data.
Good for: Exploring contemporary fashion history and clothing designers.
Contains: Photos, essays, and videos.
Dates covered: 1980-present.
Good for: Finding images from the J. Paul Getty museum.
Contains: Images.
Good for: Finding images held by the Library of Congress.
Contains: Images.
Good for: Finding images from the National Gallery of Art.
Contains: Images.
