It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cicero's On the Republic and On the Laws are his major works of political philosophy. They offer his fullest treatment of fundamental political questions: Why should educated people have any concern for politics? Is the best form of government simple, or is it a combination of elements from such simple forms as monarchy, aristocracy, and democracy? Can politics be free of injustice? The two works also help us to think about natural law, which many people have considered since ancient times to provide a foundation of unchanging, universal principles of justice. On the Republic features a defense of politics against those who advocated abstinence from public affairs. It defends a mixed constitution, the actual arrangement of offices in the Roman Republic, against simple forms of government. The Republic also supplies material for students of Roman history--as does On the Laws. The Laws, moreover, presents the results of Cicero's reflections as to how the republic needed to change in order not only to survive but also to promote justice David Fott's vigorous yet elegant English translation is faithful to the originals. It is the first to appear since publication of the latest critical edition of the Latin texts. This book contains an introduction that both places Cicero in his historical context and explicates the timeless philosophical issues that he treats. The volume also provides a chronology of Cicero's life, outlines of the two works, and indexes of personal names and important terms.
This book demonstrates the rich diversity and depth of political philosophy in the twentieth century. Catherine H. Zuckert has compiled a collection of essays recounting the lives of political theorists, connecting each biography with the theorist's life work and explaining the significance of the contribution to modern political thought. The essays are organized to highlight the major political alternatives and approaches. Beginning with essays on John Dewey, Carl Schmitt and Antonio Gramsci, representing the three main political alternatives - liberal, fascist and communist - at mid-century, the book proceeds to consider the lives and works of #65533;migr#65533;s such as Hannah Arendt, Eric Voegelin, and Leo Strauss, who brought a continental perspective to the United States after World War II. The second half of the collection contains essays on recent defenders of liberalism, such as Friedrich Hayek, Isaiah Berlin and John Rawls and liberalism's many critics, including Michel Foucault, J#65533;rgen Habermas and Alasdair MacIntyre.
“Montesquieu on Federalism and the Problem of Liberty in the International System: Ancient Virtue and the Modern Executive” in The Ashgate Research Companion to Federalism by Author: David Fott; Editors: Ann Ward, Lee Ward
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2009
This comprehensive research companion examines the theory, practice and historical development of the principle of federalism from the ancient period to the contemporary world. The scope and range of the volume is unparalleled; it will provide the reader with a firm understanding of federalism as issues of federalism promise to play an ever more important role in shaping our world.
History of American Political Thought is a unique one-volume companion to the study of American political thought that provides concise introductions to the most important and influential thinkers in American history, of all political persuasions from all time periods. The editors have assembled many of the nation's best scholars in political thought to present portraits of the American statesmen, activists, and writers who have had a truly significant and lasting influence on American political life. In short and accessible essays on such statesmen as George Washington and Franklin Roosevelt, writers like James Fenimore Cooper and Mark Twain, and activists such as W.E.B. DuBois and Betty Friedan, the authors describe each figure's historical context and achievements, present a thorough analysis of their most notable writings and speeches, and highlight the significance of their work to our political heritage. History of American Political Thought not only provides a valuable resource for reference and research for students and scholars alike; it also displays the very tapestry of a growing country, woven through with the innovations in thought that have shaped and challenged--and continue to challenge--America's understanding of itself.
“The Politico-Philosophical Character of Cicero’s Verdict in De Natura Deorum,” in Cicero’s Practical Philosophy by Author: David Fott; Editor: Walter Nicgorski
Publication Date: 2012-15-04
Cicero’s Practical Philosophy marks a revival over the last two generations of serious scholarly interest in Cicero’s political thought. Its nine original essays by a multidisciplinary group of distinguished international scholars manifest close study of Cicero’s philosophical writings and great appreciation for him as a creative thinker, one from whom we can continue to learn. This collection focuses initially on Cicero’s major work of political theory, his De Re Publica, and the key moral virtues that shape his ethics, but the contributors attend to all of Cicero’s primary writings on political community, law, the ultimate good, and moral duties. Room is also made for Cicero’s extensive writings on the art of rhetoric, which he explicitly draws into the orbit of his philosophical writings. Cicero’s concern with the divine, with epistemological issues, and with competing analyses of the human soul are among the matters necessarily encountered in pursuing, with Cicero, the large questions of moral and political philosophy, namely, what is the good and genuinely happy life and how are our communities to be rightly ordered.
“How Machiavellian Is Cicero?,” in The Arts of Rule: Essays in Honor of Harvey C. Mansfield by Author: David Fott; Editors: Sharon R. Krause and Mary Ann McGrail
Publication Date: 2009-01-16
The arts of rule cover the exercise of power by princes and popular sovereigns, but they range beyond the domain of government itself, extending to civil associations, political parties, and religious institutions. Making full use of political philosophy from a range of backgrounds, this festschrift for Harvey Mansfield recognizes that although the arts of rule are comprehensive, the best government is a limited one.
“John Dewey,” in Encyclopedia of Modern Political Thought by Author: David Fott; Editor: Gregory Claeys
Publication Date: 2013
This two volume set explores modern and contemporary political thought since 1750, looking at the thinkers, concepts, debates, issues and national traditions that have shaped political thought from the Enlightenment to post-modernism and post-structuralism.