LibGuides: NUTR405 NUTR605: Advanced Sports Nutrition / Kruskall: Home

RefWorks Electronic Referencing Information

Welcome to RefWorks
This page explains the RefWorks interface, how to create an account, and provides links to video tutorials.
Creating Bibliographies
This page explains how to create a bibliography using the new RefWorks.

Journals

Know the title of the journal you are looking for? Use the UNLV print and online journal subscriptions search to see if the University Libraries has a subscription.

Here are some Peer-Reviewed Journal Titles to try searching for articles:

Annual Review of Nutrition

Critical Reviews in Food Science and Nutrition

International Journal of Food Sciences and Nutrition

Journal of Nutrition

Journal of Nutrition and Metabolism

Obesity Facts

About this Guide

Use this guide to locate peer reviewed articles for your Advanced Sports Nutrition Assignments.

Where to Start Your Research

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
Agricola This link opens in a new window
Index to agriculture literature with coverage of animal and plant science, nutrition, farming, and earth science.
Update frequency: daily
Indexes current acquisitions of the National Agricultural Library, including books, serials, pamphlets, government documents, research reports, FAO and USDA publications,conference proceedings, and translations, patents, audiovisuals and technical reports. Compiled by the National Agricultural Library of the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture (USDA) and distributed by the National Technical Information Service of the U.S. Dept. of Commerce.
BioMedCentral Open Access This link opens in a new window
Over 150 peer-reviewed journals in medicine and biology.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1982-
The main index for nursing literature and allied health.
Update frequency: weekly
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature is an index to literature in nursing and allied health. This database provides indexing, abstracting, and full text for over 1,600 current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982, totaling over 700,000 records.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research full-text titles cited in CINAHL and other resources to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals.
Medline via Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1950-
Over 15 million records from medical and life sciences journals.
Searching Medline on the Web of Knowledge platform allows you to also search several other databases at the same time.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Natural Medicines is an evidence-based resource for information about natural therapies and medicines, including herbs, dietary supplements, sports supplements, minerals, and vitamins.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine that provides free access to MEDLINE, the NLM database of indexed citations and abstracts to medical, nursing, dental, veterinary, health care, and preclinical sciences journal articles. It also includes additional selected life sciences journals not found in MEDLINE.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1960-
Scopus is an index to peer-reviewed scientific, medical, technical, and social science literature.
Scopus also features a citation index, allowing you to find the papers that cite a specific piece of research.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1975-
Journal articles and more about all aspects of sports, physical education and sports medicine. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Update frequency: quarterly
An international database indexing journal articles, books, conference proceedings, research papers, and dissertations and theses in sports medicine, biomechanics, psychology, coaching, physical education and fitness, training, and other related topics. Includes access to the full text of more than 230 journals
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
UpToDate includes expert, peer reviewed, physician written health information.
UpToDate content is reviewed and updated regularly to maintain the currency, accuracy, and relevance of information. It includes: a drug database, drug interactions program, patient information handouts, medical calculators, treatment recommendations, and articles in medical specialty areas.

Dietary Supplement Resources

Dietary Supplement Resources to support Advanced Sports Nutrition

These resources are searchable databases freely available on the internet. You can use these databases to find credible label information for supplements as well as details about the active ingredients in supplements.

Dietary supplement label database

The Dietary supplement label database is a joint project of three federal agencies. The labels database includes a quick search option to allow search of supplement ingredients. You can search this database using the Quick Search box. See the search tips to learn tips to refine your searches.

National Institutes of Health Office of Dietary Supplements

The NIH Office of Dietary Supplements provides consumer health based information about dietary supplements. The site is has a dictionary of dietary supplement terms. As well as fact sheets about botanicals, frequently asked questions about supplements and links to current topics related to dietary supplements.

Clinical Resources

Here are some recommended resources for use in clinical settings:

Clinical Key This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Clinical Key provides full text access to leading medical textbooks, including specialties in internal medicine, orthopedic surgery, neurology and more.
In addition, Clinical Key provides access to nearly one million images, including tables, graphics and illustrations, as well as to full text journals, an evidence-based, point of care tool, guidelines, multimedia and much more.
uCentral by Unbound Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
uCentral is Unbound Medicine’s customizable point of care solution for accessing high quality ready reference medical information at the bedside.
Exclusive titles available in mobile format include: John Hopkins ABX Guide, John Hopkins Diabetes Guide, John Hopkins HIV Guide, John Hopkins Psychiatry Guide, Nephrology Guide of the Massachusetts General Hospital, and more.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
UpToDate includes expert, peer reviewed, physician written health information.
UpToDate content is reviewed and updated regularly to maintain the currency, accuracy, and relevance of information. It includes: a drug database, drug interactions program, patient information handouts, medical calculators, treatment recommendations, and articles in medical specialty areas.

Anatomy & Physical Examination Resources

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy contains more than 300 narrated videos of real human anatomic specimens
Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Please look for this database under Anatomy.tv
LWW Health Library Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published by Lippincott, these collections includes authoritative texts for Medical Education, Clerkship, Emergency Medicine, Internal Medicine, Surgery, OBGYN, Oncology, Orthopedic Surgery and Psychiatry that are commonly used during undergraduate and medical education related programs, as well as cases, clinical skills, multimedia resources, and teaching and learning tools.

Subject Guide

Xan Goodman, SON, IHS, SPH, SDM Health Sciences Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Las Vegas, NV 89154
Office 1184

702-895-2233

Subjects: Allied Health, Health Sciences, Kinesiology, Nursing, Nutrition

NUTR405 NUTR605: Advanced Sports Nutrition / Kruskall: Home