Integrated Health Sciences

Features a five-step process for evidence-based practice. Step 1.  Identify the need for information and construct a focused and searchable clinical question. Step 2.  Conduct a search to find the best possible research evidence to answer your question. Step 3.  Critically appraise the research evidence for validity and applicability. Step 4.  Integrate the critically appraised research evidence with clinical expertise and the patient's values, preferences, circumstances, and expectations. Step 5.  Evaluate the effectiveness and efficacy of your efforts in steps 1-4 and identify ways to improve them in the future. Coverage of the clinically relevant statistics and key statistical analyses that inform clinical decisions, such as confidence intervals, effect size, number needed to treat, and minimal clinically important difference. Offers key statistical analyses that inform clinical decisions, including confidence intervals, effect size, number needed to treat (NNT), and minimal clinically important differences. Includes special pedagogical elements such as specific search strategies for Searching in Pub Med, Self-Tests, Digging Deeper elements for further study, and abundant clinical case examples. Assists students in the use of current technology to enhance and communicate EBP.

A dynamic and comprehensive overview of the field of health physics This trusted, one-of-a-kind guide delivers authoritative and succinctly written coverage of the entire field of health physics including the biological basis for radiation safety standards, radioactivity, nuclear reactors, radioactive waste, and non-ionizing radiation, as well as radiation dosimetry, radiation instrumentation, and principles of radiation protection. This thorough overview of need-to-know topics, from a review of physical principles to a useful look at the interaction of radiation with matter, offers a problem-solving approach that will serve readers throughout their careers. More than 380 "Homework Problems" and 175+ "Example Problems" Essential background material on quantitative risk assessment for radiation exposure Unique Integration of industrial hygiene with radiation safety Authoritative radiation safety and environmental health coverage that supports the International Commission on Radiological Protection's standards for specific populations - now including ICRP 130 recommendations High-yield appendices to expand comprehension of chapter material Essential coverage of non-ionizing radiation, lasers and microwaves, computer use in dose calculation, and dose limit recommendations NEW to this edition! Expanded information on tissue and radiation weighting factors, advances in detectors, and the Fukushima accident

This newest addition to the Nutrition and Health series focuses on nutrition's key role in lifestyle interventions to prevent and manage diseases. The book pays particular attention to nutritional considerations related to obesity, diabetes, and cardiovascular disease. Edited by cardiologist, Dr. James Rippe, a well-known expert in the nascent specialty of Lifestyle Medicine, Nutrition in Lifestyle Medicine will also focus on a variety of specialized areas such as nutrition for athletes and physically active individuals, hydration, and nutrition throughout the life cycle (spanning from children to individuals over the age of 60). In addition, chapters will be included on controversies in nutrition, such as health effects of added sugars and saturated fatty acids in the diet. Finally, specialized chapters will be included in such areas as nutrition for women, nutrition for men, nutrition for latinos, the use of supplements, communication about nutrition, public policy issues, and the interface between nutrition and physical activity. Lifestyle Medicine, supported by the American Journal of Lifestyle Medicine, Dr. Rippe's textbook Lifestyle Medicine (CRC Press, 2013) and American College of Lifestyle Medicine (ACLM), is a new national medicine specialty that stresses the use of lifestyle interventions in the treatment and management of disease. Its practitioners effectively manage medical treatments alongside the lifestyle interventions, for example lowering insulin treatment for patients with diabetes, reducing the dose of anti-hypertension medications for people with hypertension, and prescribing certain medical interventions that aid in smoking cessation.

Essentials of Biostatistics in Public Health, Third Edition provides a fundamental and engaging background for students learning to apply and appropriately interpret biostatistics applications in the field of public health. Many examples are drawn directly from the author's remarkable clinical experiences with the renowned Framingham Heart Study, making this text practical, interesting, and accessible for those with little mathematical background. The examples are real, relevant, and manageable in size so that students can easily focus on applications rather than become overwhelmed by computations. The Third Edition offers a new chapter on data visualization and interpretation including guidance on reporting statistical results in tables, figures and text. Examples of well-organized, detailed and appropriately formatted tables and figures are provided along with samples of how best to interpret them. Examples of poorly organized tables and figures are also included to illustrate common misinterpretations of results, due in part to lack of clarity in presentation. The text comes packaged with an access code card that gives your students access to an online workbook for statistical computing using Microsoft Excel. The online workbook is available in both Mac and PC versions. Updates to the Third Edition: * New chapter on data visualization and interpretation * New "When and Why" sections in each chapter include timely examples of important medical and public health applications of biostatistical techniques to help students connect the technical aspects of how specific analyses are conducted to real and relevant applications. New suggestions for instructors to facilitate in-class discussions around these applications and their interpretation are included in the instructor resources * New examples from widely publicized clinical trials and from relevant and timely studies added throughout. * New integrative exercises included in the instructor resources that allow students to practice biostatistical analysis with real data using Excel. * New link to a publicly available, longitudinal dataset containing data collected in the Framingham Heart Study

Taking a practical approach and supported by global examples from all areas of health, the new edition of this popular and highly commended textbook has been updated to reflect current epidemiological thinking and teaching. Based on feedback from teachers and students, material has been reordered to better suit courses and reflect the underlying logic and purpose of epidemiology. • Provides students with a rounded picture of the field by emphasizing the commonalities across different areas of epidemiology, including clinical epidemiology, and highlighting the key role of epidemiology in public health • Avoids complex mathematics by restricting this to optional material, thereby keeping the book accessible to students from non-quantitative backgrounds • Integrated and supplementary questions help students to reinforce concepts • A wealth of online material is available at www.cambridge.org/essential_epidemiology, including additional questions, advanced material for key concepts, recommendations for further reading, links to useful websites and slides for teaching, supporting both students and teachers.