LibGuides: Native American Heritage Month Resources: Databases and Journals

Databases

Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1400-1950s
Primary sources for American Indian history in the United States, Canada and Mexico. Manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books from pre-contact through the mid-20th century.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1828-2016
Includes national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications from an Indigenous perspective.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500s-
Bibliography on Native American history, life, and culture.
Produced in partnership with the Human Relations Area File (HRAF), this database contains citations to magazine and journal articles, monographs, dissertations, and U.S. and Canadian government documents.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Anthropological studies of cultures and ethnic groups.
For each culture, all aspects of cultural and social life are covered, with topics ranging from religious beliefs, bringing up children, causes and cures of diseases, to economic and political behavior. Subject indexing at the paragraph level, as well as keyword searching, enables precise retrieval of information from the text of books, articles, and dissertations included in the collection. Cultures range from ethnic groups in Africa, Asia, Europe and Oceania, to indigenous and immigrant groups in North and South America.
Indian Claims Insight 1789-2016 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1789-
A one-of-a-kind research tool that provides researchers with the opportunity to understand and analyze Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history, as well as U.S. Government Indian removal policies and subsequent actions to address Native American claims.
The database allows users to research the history of U.S. Indian claims from 1789 to the present. Unique compiled docket histories provide legal researchers with the ability to search the full text of all content related to each claim. Depending on the claim, the content can include not only court documents but also cited treaties, related congressional publications, and maps.
Indian Gaming Report This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
2015-
The Indian Gaming Industry Report covers the United States Indian gaming industry with up-to-date revenue data by state, Indian gaming market summaries and trends, and a nationwide economic impact analysis.
Native American Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1792-1940
Treaties and correspondence between the US government and American Indian tribes; also photos, census rolls, Dawes packets and enrollment cards.
War Department and Indian Affairs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-1824
Handwritten correspondence from Indian superintendents and agents, factors of trading posts, Territorial and State governors, and others.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books about the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Scope: U.S. and Canada only
Languages: Abstracts of articles in 40 different languages
This index includes almost 400,000 bibliographic entries from over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Books, media reviews, and dissertations are also covered, and approximately 16,000 entries are added each year. The Get Text button links to online full text when available and offers access to UNLV print collections and document delivery options for books and articles not available online.
Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia entries about American Indians and immigrant groups in the U.S.

Journals

American Indian and Alaska Native Mental Health Research
American Indian and Alaska Native Mental Health Research is a professionally refereed scientific journal. It contains empirical research, program evaluations, case studies, unpublished dissertations, and other articles in the behavioral, social, and health sciences which clearly relate to the mental health status of American Indians and Alaska Natives.
American Indian and Culture Research Journal
The American Indian Culture and Research Journal, the premiere journal in Native American studies, publishes book reviews, literature, and original scholarly papers on a wide range of issues in the fields of history, anthropology, geography, sociology, political science, health, literature, law, education, and the arts.
American Indian Quarterly
The complexity and excitement of the burgeoning field of Native American studies are captured by the American Indian Quarterly, a peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal of the anthropology, history, literatures, religions, and arts of Native Americans. Wide-ranging in its coverage of issues and topics, AIQ is devoted to charting and inciting debate about the latest developments in method and theory.
Journal of American Indian Education
Founded in 1961, the Journal of American Indian Education (JAIE) is a journal featuring original scholarship on education issues of American Indians, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, and Indigenous peoples worldwide, including First Nations, Māori, Aboriginal/Torres Strait Islander peoples, and Indigenous peoples of Latin America, Africa, and others.
The Native American Rights Fund Legal Review
The NARF Legal Review is published biannually and provides updates on NARF's cases and information on other timely Indian law topics.
Studies in American Indian Literatures
The complexity and excitement of the burgeoning field of Native American studies are captured by the American Indian Quarterly, a peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal of the anthropology, history, literatures, religions, and arts of Native Americans. Wide-ranging in its coverage of issues and topics, AIQ is devoted to charting and inciting debate about the latest developments in method and theory.
Native American And Indigenous Studies Association
NAIS publishes the best interdisciplinary scholarship in international Native American and Indigenous Studies. The journal provides an intellectually rigorous and ethically engaged forum for smart, provocative, and exciting scholarship while drawing on the extraordinary professional expertise of our ever-expanding membership in a process of double-blinded peer review.
NAIS provides a forum to place different kinds of research, intellectual traditions, and knowledge practices in conversation.

Native American Heritage Month Resources: Databases and Journals

Databases

Journals

Locations

Contact