This page contains a list of the top-ranked Anthropology journals, as well as a list of databases. If you're looking for databases, don't forget about the Best Bets box on the Getting Started page.
The following journals are ranked by h5-index, the h-index for articles published in the last 5 complete years. It is the largest number h such that h articles published in 2010-2014 have at least h citations each. (Google Scholar metrics uses h5-index.)
You can also search the Social Sciences journals by Subject Heading using the link below, or look up a particular journal title to see if UNLV has access to it.
These databases contain journal articles and other research materials about anthropology. For more Anthropology & related databases, see Best Bets.
Good for: Finding reviews of anthropological publications.
Contains: Reviews of books, audiovisual materials, software, multimedia, exhibits, tourist sites, conferences, and online resources.
Dates covered: 1990-present.
Good for: Finding abstracts on art and archaeology conservation.
Contains: Abstracts of books, articles, and proceedings.
Good for: Researching Native American history, life, and culture.
Contains: Bibliography.
Dates covered: 1500s-present.
Good for: Dissertations and theses.
Contains: Citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations and theses.
Dates covered: Citations from 1861, abstracts from 1980 for dissertations and 1988 for theses, full text from 1996 for UNLV items and 1997 for most others.
Good for: Searching newspapers from ethnic, minority, and native communities in the United States.
Contains: Newspaper articles, editorials, and reviews.
Dates covered: 1959-present.
Good for: Researching sociology and related disciplines.
Contains: Index to literature.
Dates covered: 1895-present.
