LibGuides: CEE 250: Sustainability in Civil and Environmental Engineering (Fortier): Current News and Trade Literature

Evaluating News Sources

The phrase fake news is in wide use lately, so how do you detect and check your news sources? Below are a few guides and tools to help you.

Fake Or Real? How To Self-Check The News And Get The Facts
An article from National Public Radio's All Tech Considered about how to verify your sources of news. Contains additional links to articles and resources for determining the credibility of news sources.

False, Misleading, Clickbait-y, and Satirical “News” Sources

This is a google document, created by Dr. Melissa Zimdars of Merrimack College, that provides techniques to evaluate news sources.

Finding Current News About Sustainability Topics

You can use the resources below to search for current news items about sustainability topics. Some allow you to sign up for email alerts.

American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Sustainability resources
The main page for ASCE's Sustainability Initiative with a variety of news items, award winners and other resources.
ASCE Sustainability
Discover ASCE's Committee on Sustainability, courses, policies, books, and other publications.
ASCE Envision rating system
The ASCE provides Envision: a rating system with best practices information to improve the sustainability of infrastructure projects.

Building Green This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, reviews, product information and news on sustainable building.
This resource integrates product listings from the GreenSpec products directory, project case studies from the High-Performance Buildings Database, and the Environmental Building News.
Greenwire, Environment and Energy Daily, and Climatewire This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Environmental current events information
An environmental current events database comprised of three pieces: Greenwire, a daily news service reporting on the latest environmental and energy action; Environment and Energy Daily, published every day Congress is in session, tracking environmental and energy issues in Congress; and Land Letter, a weekly in-depth look at regulation, litigation and legislation surrounding natural resources issues. Also included is an archive of key environmental policy documents, and detailed special reports.

Institute for Sustainable Infrastructure (ISI)
This non-profit organization is dedicated to sustainability in infrastructure. You may use the links on this website to create a free Envision (by ASCE) account.
US Green Building council (USGBC)
USGBC administers the Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) green building program. Find news and resources about the LEED and other green building initiatives here.

Newspapers and news magazines - using the two databases below will give you access to the content in many major global and U.S. newspapers and newsmagazines.

PressReader This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to current newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. Includes over 5,000 titles from the U.S. and 100 countries in 60 languages. Registering as a user with the site is optional and allows for personalized, saved settings.
Users may access the database on desktop computer, tablet and smartphone. An archive is also available to browse by country, language, and newspaper title, and to search full text of articles, photograph captions, and headlines.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1980s-
Searchable current and recent articles from newspapers, including Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
Full text of articles from major national newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, The Christian Science Monitor, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Seattle Post-Intelligencer, USA Today. Also included are the New York Times Book Review, the New York Times Magazine, and the Las Vegas Review Journal.
Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles from 7,400 + sources, including 50 Nevada titles.
Local, in-state, national and international news sources, including newspapers, broadcast transcripts, newswires, news blogs, news web-only content and video.

CEE 250: Sustainability in Civil and Environmental Engineering (Fortier): Current News and Trade Literature

Evaluating News Sources

Finding Current News About Sustainability Topics

Locations

Contact