The Cochrane Library
What is it? The Cochrane Library is a collection of evidence-based medicine databases, providing clinicians reliable and current information on the effects of interventions in health care.
Highlights: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews are the gold standard of medical literature, providing comprehensive research analyses on a variety of medical treatments; DARE critiques other systematic reviews in a structured abstract format; CENTRAL provides a repository of clinical trial citations.
EBP: The Cochrane Collaboration is world renowned for their quality evidence-based publications.
Guideline Central (www.guidelinecentral.com/summaries)
What is it? Guideline Central is a fee based provider of quick reference pocket guidelines. There is an effort by Guideline Central to create a new non-profit guideline repository to fill the gap for guidelines created by the closing of the National Guidelines Clearinghouse.
Highlights: Database of guidelines for physicians, nurses and other healthcare practitioners.
EBP: Search for guidelines for treatment, intervention, measures and tools.
NOTE: National Guideline Clearinghouse shut down July 2018 the current alternative is Guideline Central
PubMed Clinical Queries
What is it? Clinical Queries is designed to locate articles in PubMed with higher levels of evidence.
Highlights: Use Clinical Queries to search by study type (etiology, diagnosis, therapy, prognosis or clinical prediction guides) or search for systematic reviews, evidence-based practice guidelines and meta-analyses.
EBP: Clinical trials, meta-analyses and practice guidelines are labeled, but other evidence levels must be self-identified.
PubMed Main Search Page
What is it? This database contains over 19 million citations for biomedical literature. Apply limits for publication types with higher levels of evidence.
Highlights: Gives access to most current medical research including yet to be published materials. Set up an NCBI account to set up alerts and save searches.
EBP: Limit publication types to meta-analyis, randomized-controlled trials, etc.
What is it? This search enging was developed by the University of Texas Health Sciences Center as a way to quickly search and filter health sciences literature.
Highlights: SUMSearch 2 simultaneously searches for studies (origina studies and systematic reviews), and practice guidelines. Searches for studies are revised up to 6 times as needed, while guidelines may be revised once.
EBP: Uses the Haynes filters in addition to journal lists from McMaster to search multiple resources.
What is it? TRIP (Turning Research into Practice) locates the highest possible evidence with which to inform clinical decisions, using the principles of evidence based medicine.
Highlights: Provides integrated results from a variety of clinical resources.
EBP: Results include evidence-based synopses, systematic reviews, guidelines and PubMed.
What is it? A point of care tool written and edited by a global community of 4,800 physicians. Recommendations are often graded in terms of supporting evidence.
Highlights: Contains over 9,000 topics in 19 specialties.
EBP: Provides a grading system for recommendations that shows whether the recommendation is weak or strong and whether or not there is evidence to support the recommendation.
Source: University of Iowa Hardin Library, updated summer 2019