LibGuides: Genealogy: Historical census

Historical Census

Online tables at data.census.gov

Complete reports from decennial censuses, all states

Decennial Censuses of the United States (IPUMS)
Published census volumes organized for better browsing.
Decennial Censuses of the United States (census.gov)
PDFs of print volumes summarizing data collected in each decennial census of population and housing; links to other printed census records (census of manufacturing, agriculture, etc) on the left side of the page.

Historical Statistics of the United States
Good for: Finding data on population, work and welfare, and international relations in the United States.
Contains: Statistical tables and historical analysis.
Dates covered: 1775-2000.

A source for quantitative indicators of American history, this database of almost 2000 tables covers nearly every quantifiable dimension in American history, including population, work and welfare, and international relations from the earliest times to the present. Chapters are preceded by essays that introduce the quantitative history of their subject, provide a guide to the sources, and offer expert advice on the reliability of the data and the limits that might be placed on their interpretation.

Territorial and State Census

1861 Journal of the Nevada (Terr.) Legislative Assembly. Council
link to 1861 census report

Summary tables of population distribution, Nevada Territory and State Historic Censuses (1860-75)

Tables from many sources

Statistical Abstracts of the United States
1878-2012
PDFs of books compiling statistical tables from censuses and other sources. Start with a year and use the table of contents to find statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Federal censuses

Nevada Census Microdata, 1860-1920
The Nevada Census Microdata provides a complete-count transcription of the manuscript census pages from the state of Nevada, for the federal censuses of 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, and 1920. It includes nearly all of the information that was recorded on the census forms, though the questions asked by census-takers changed over time. This data can help researchers investigate historical questions related to immigration, migration, industrialization, work, and family.
About the Nevada Historical Census
Online Nevada Encyclopedia entry detailing the origin of the microdata files project - note that the linked database has been retired.

Native American Archives
Includes NARA M595, Indian Census Rolls 1885-1940 as well as other records.

1940 census - National Archives
Manuscript census images record name, age, relationship, and occupation, the 1940 census included questions about internal migration; employment status; participation in the New Deal Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC), Works Progress Administration (WPA), and National Youth Administration (NYA) programs; and years of education.
1950 census
Images of the records made by census takers in the 1950 census of population.

Federal manuscript census records - online availability

National Archives: Search Census Records Online
Summary of online availability by census.
Nevada federal census schedules, existing and lost
Summary of extant federal census schedules

State Census (1875) and Territorial Censuses

1875 Nevada State Census name index for Lincoln Co
Scanned microfilm index with name, age, occupation and manuscript census page reference
1875 Nevada State Census name index for Nye Co
Scanned microfilm name index includes name, age, occupation and manuscript census page reference

1875 State Census summary
Aggregated data
Nevada State and Territorial Censuses
Text files containing transcripts of census rolls created for the for the USGenWeb Census Project.

more... less...

Via nevadagenealogy.com. (some links to ancestry.com when it is the only online source)
Federal census -- Territory of New Mexico and Territory of Arizona. Excerpts from the decennial federal census, 1860, for Arizona County in the Territory of New Mexico, the special territorial census of 1864 taken in Arizona and decennial federal census,
(does not include Pah-Ute or Mohave County records?)

more... less...

Present day Clark County and parts of southern Lincoln and Nye Counties were enumerated with Mohave and Pah-Ute County, Arizona Territory in 1864 but these records include only Arizona County
People who resided in Pah-Ute County in 1870 were enumerated as part of Pah-Ute County, Nevada, and possibly part of Washington County, Utah.
1860 federal census, Utah Territory
parts of Carson, Humboldt, Rio Virgin and St. Mary's counties became part of Nevada
1850 federal census, Utah Territory
parts of Carson, Humboldt, Rio Virgin and St. Mary's counties became part of Nevada
Indian Census Rolls, 1885-1940
also online in Native American Archives database

Territorial Papers of the United States
Good for: Primary sources recording the history of U.S. territories before statehood.
Contains: Archival records.
Dates covered: 1764-1953.

Official documents include correspondence between territorial officials and federal agencies, details of tribal treaties, accounts of battles and troop movements, petitions for statehood, and records of agricultural and industrial production. Collections also contain firsthand accounts of frontier life via letters and financial documents.

Nevada, 1870 Federal census index

This 5 reel collection lists census of population of Nevada in 1870, alphabetically by last name and includes occupation. Chinese in Nevada are listed at end of reel 5.

more...
Population schedules of the ninth census of the United States, 1870, Nevada

Reel 834 Churchill, Douglas, Elko, Esmeralda, Humboldt, Lander, Lincoln, Lyon, Nye, Ormsby -- Reel 835 Storey, Washoe, White Pine.
Census of the inhabitants of the State of Nevada, 1875

State census
Population schedules of the tenth census of the United States, 1880, Nevada

Reel 758 Churchill, Douglas, Elko, Esmeralda, Eureka, Humboldt, Lander, Lincoln, and Lyon -- Reel 759 Nye, Ormsby, Roop, Storey, Washoe, and White Pine.
Eleventh census of the United States, 1890, Nevada schedules enumerating Union veterans and widows of Union veterans of the Civil War, Bundle 100

Reel 39, Churchill, Douglas, Elko, Esmeralda, Eureka, Humboldt, Lander, Lincoln, Lyon, Nye, Ormsby, Storey, Washoe, White Pine.
Twelfth census of the population, 1900, Nevada

Accompanied by catalog of schedules (Micro HA201 1900.U53 1985). Accompanied by Index (Soundex), 7 microfilm reels, 16 mm (HA501.5 1900 C45 Index).
Population schedules of the thirteenth census of the United States, 1910, Nevada

Reel 858. v. 1. Churchill, Clark, Douglas, Elko, Lincoln -- v. 2. Esmeralda, Eureka, Humboldt, Lander -- Reel 859. v. 3. Lyon, Nye, Ormsby, White Pine, -- v. 4. Storey, Washoe. Finding Aids: Accompanied by catalog of the schedules (Micro HA201 1910 .U53 1982). 1910 Nevada census index : heads of households and other surnames in household index / compiled by Bryan Lee Dilts (MICRO F840 .A17 1984).
14th census of population, 1920, Nevada

2 reels.Accompanied by guide: The 1920 federal population census (Micro HA201 1920 .U53 1991). Accompanied by Index (Soundex) to the population schedules of the fourteenth census of the United States, 1920, Nevada (HA501.5 1920 C45 Index).
Fifteenth census of the United States, 1930. Population schedule. Nevada

IPUMS abacus
Beta test of tool to make a quick crosstabulation of two variables on datasets from the 20th century censuses and American Community Survey.
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS):
Consists of thirty-seven high-precision samples of the American population drawn from fifteen federal censuses and from the American Community Surveys of 2000-2003. It assigns uniform codes across all the samples and brings relevant documentation into a coherent form to facilitate analysis of social and economic change.
Nevada Census Microdata, 1860-1920
The Nevada Census Microdata provides a complete-count transcription of the manuscript census pages from the state of Nevada, for the federal censuses of 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, and 1920. It includes nearly all of the information that was recorded on the census forms, though the questions asked by census-takers changed over time. This data can help researchers investigate historical questions related to immigration, migration, industrialization, work, and family.
NHGIS Data Finder
How to use NHGIS data finder
PDF with instructions

ICPSR
Good for: Acquiring and preserving social science data.
Contains: Social science data.

Users must have an account with ICPSR to download datasets.

To register, you must be affiliated with UNLV, which is a member institution of ICPSR, and you must access the site from a recognized UNLV IP address.

Register for an account from off campus (you will be prompted to login with your ACE account or activated RebelCard barcode and PIN).

ICPSR registration

Social Explorer
Good for: Accessing current and historical U.S. census data and demographic information.
Contains: Census data and demographic information visualized on a map.

The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change. In addition to being a comprehensive data resource, Social Explorer also offers features and tools to meet the needs of both demography experts and novices. It creates reports at all geographic levels including the state, county, census tract, block group, zip code and census place. Included are over 18,000 maps, hundreds of profile reports, 40 billion data elements, 335,000 variables and 220 years of data.

Unified Census Enumeration District finder
Reference tool helps you identify boundaries of a district for a particular census.
Atlas of Historical County Boundaries

First directory of Nevada Territory. Containing: the names of residents in the principal towns, a historical sketch, the Organic act, and other political matters of interest : And including Sketches of the Washoe silver mines
by Henry De Groot, 1862 (facsimile reprint with introduction by Richard Lingenfelter)

more... less...

also print
United States city directories, Nevada Territory, 1861-1882
Microfilm; guide at Lied Library Microforms Index Area F839.5 .U58x 1984a
Hand-book almanac for the Pacific states : an official register and business directory
1862-1864
The Pacific coast business directory for 1867
by Henry G. Langley, 1867
The Pacific coast business directory ... containing ... the states of California, Oregon, and Nevada
by Henry G. Langley, 1871/73
Storey, Ormsby, Washoe, and Lyon Counties directory : including the cities and towns of Virginia City, Gold Hill, Carson City, Dayton, Silver City, Empire City, Washoe City, Reno, Wadsworth, Crystal Peak, Ophir, etc., for 1871-72
microfilm
The Virginia and Truckee railroad directory, 1873-74
also microfilm
A general business and mining directory of Storey, Lyon, Ormsby, and Washoe Counties, Nevada, embracing Virginia City, Gold Hill, Silver City, Dayton, Sutro, Empire, Carson City, Reno, Franktown, Washoe City and Steamboat Springs
1875, microfilm
Pacific coast directories
1880s
Nevada state gazetteer and business directory
Polk directory, Microfilm; Special Collections & Archives has 1914-1915 in print

Questionnaires

Measuring America:The Decennial Censuses from 1790 to 2000
Census publication with background information on each census (up to 2000) including instructions given to enumerators.
Census Questionnaires
Official record of questions asked during each decennial census.

more... less...

Since the first census in 1790, the U.S. Census Bureau has collected data using a census "schedule," also called a "questionnaire." Between 1790 and 1820, U.S. Marshals conducting the census were responsible for supplying paper and writing-in headings related to the questions asked (i.e., name, age, sex, race, etc.). In 1830, Congress authorized the printing of uniform schedules for use throughout the United States.
Census Bureau: Index of Questions, 1790-2010

History

Census Bureau: Agency History

Methods

Library of Congress guide to Decennial Census documentation
Democracy's Data Infrastructure
Article by Dan Bouk and danah boyd about data privacy and the future of the census

Reports

Census Publications
Short reports analyzing of census findings on specific topics, some for a decade and some for longer. Browse with the Topics menu on the left; the oldest reports go back to the 1800s.
Demographic Trends in the 20th Century
Population of States and Counties of the United States: 1790 - 1990
Population of the 100 Largest Cities and Other Urban Places in the United States: 1790 to 1990
Historical Census Statistics on Population Totals by Race, 1790 to 1990, and by Hispanic Origin, 1970 to 1990, for the United States, Regions, Divisions, and States
Historical Census Statistics on Population Totals by Race, 1790 to 1990, and by Hispanic Origin, 1970 to 1990, for Large Cities and Other Urban Places in the United States
Historical Census Statistics on the Foreign-Born Population of the United States: 1850 to 2000

Microfilm cabinets and readers

Manuscript census microfilm is available in the film cabinets at the call number range beginning HA. These cabinets are near the entrance to the Graduate Commons on the second floor of Lied.

You can read the film at the microform reader stations behind the grad commons.

Genealogy

Nevada boundaries

Census tract reports - Las Vegas

Recent censuses

presentation link

2017 index of online census data

Historical Census

Microfilm cabinets and readers

Locations

Contact