LibGuides: Emergency and Crisis Management (ECM) Resource Guide: Government, Nonprofit, and Academic Emergency/Crisis Management Organizaitons & Resources

Easy Way to Find Official Government Resources on Google

After typing in your keywords, then add site:.gov to your search. Then, you will find federal, state and local sources. Check out the examples below:

crisis communication site:.gov
"emergency management" and Nevada site:.gov

Emergency Management Government Resources

U.S. Department of Homeland Security
This official site features press releases and other documents that define the role and work of DHS. Emphasis is on these areas: Emergencies and Disasters, Travel and Transportation, Immigration and Borders, Research and Technology, and Threats and Protec
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
Part of the Department of Homeland Security, the FEMA site includes information about on-going disaster responses, various response plans, key emergency management officials at the State and local levels, documents, and other resources.
U.S Geological Survey
Has sections covering land-based natural hazards (earthquakes, floods, volcanoes).
NOAA Office of Response and Restoration
Tools, information, and software for responders to oil spills, chemical accidents, hazardous materials releases, and ship groundings.
National Hurricane Center/Tropical Prediction Center (NOAA)
Issues watches, warnings, forecasts, and analyses of hazardous tropical weather. Includes satellite and radar images, information on hurricane awareness, and historical storm-related data.
Department of Defense
The Department of Defense is responsible for providing the military forces needed to deter war and protect the security of our country.

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
Database of toxic substances. The Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR), based in Atlanta, Georgia, is a federal public health agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. ATSDR serves the public by using the best science, taking responsive public health actions, and providing trusted health information to prevent harmful exposures and diseases related to toxic substances.
CDC-Center for Disease Control
Government agency that provides information on health topics, statistics and other publications related to public health and disease.
EM-DAT: The International Disaster Database: Global database of natural and technological disasters containing core data on the occurrences and effects of more than 17,000 disasters in the world from 1900 to the present.

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH): Emergency Response Resources
NIOSH is a federal government agency within the CDC tasked with protecting workers. The site includes information on Emergency Responders, Emergency Response Health Monitoring and Surveillance (ERHMS), Fire Fighters Resources Directory,Terrorism Response and more.
Ready.gov
Information on how to prepare for a variety of emergency situations such as natural disasters and terrorist attacks.

COVID-19

Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) Policy Resources and Responses
This guide focuses on general and specific COVID-19 resources for state, local, and higher education policymakers. In addition, this guide includes federal government, nonprofit, and think tank resources, as well as dashboards focusing on data visualizations on testing and cases on a local, national, and global scale.

Academic, State, Nonprofit & International-Related Resources

University of Delaware/Disaster Research Center (DRC)
DRC site includes descriptions of current projects, as well as extensive bibliographies of DRC publications, including books, articles, preliminary papers, etc.
American Red Cross (Disaster Services)
Gives an overview of the work of the American Red Cross, including reports on Red Cross projects world-wide. Also includes news coverage of disasters and relief efforts.
UN International Strategy for Disaster Reduction
ISDR focuses on creating disaster prevention strategies and reducing social and economic disruption caused by disasters.
World Health Organization (WHO)
Part of WHO's mission is to provide aid during emergencies. This site provides extensive information on diseases and health topics.
Pan American Health Organization
Regional office for the Americas of the World Health Organization. Includes health statistics, reports on health topics, links to related sources, and news on health issues.
National Emergency Management Association (NEMA)
NEMA is an organization of state-level emergency management officials. The NEMA online library provides full-text access to documents and presentations from NEMA committees.
International Association of Emergency Managers (IAEM)
International Association of Emergency Managers (IAEM) is a non-profit educational organization dedicated to promoting the goals of saving lives and protecting property during emergencies and disasters
Center for State Homeland Security
Created to help states fulfill their critical homeland security role, this site provides access to full-text articles, legislation, and reports from government agencies and research institutes in a variety of areas, including counterterrorism, public heal
National Governor's Association (NGA)
The National Governors Association Center for Best Practices (NGA)provides support to Governors in responding to the challenges of homeland security and other emergency management issues.

Disaster-Related Resources

Business & Industry Guide: Preparing Your Business for the Unthinkable
This guide contains resources for disaster planning for businesses, including a workplace disaster supplies kit checklist and tips for developing an emergency plan and reducing potential damage.
Disaster Recovery: A Guide to Financial Issues
This booklet "is written to help you regain a sense of financial balance following a disaster by offering suggestions on steps to take immediately, what to do in the initial weeks and months, and how to begin planning again for the future."
DisasterAssistance
Earthquake Preparedness Handbooks
MedlinePlus: Disaster Preparation and Recovery
Provides links to overviews of family and citizen emergency preparedness, coping information, law and policy, and pages for emergency management for children and seniors
National Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster (NVOAD)
NVOAD coordinates planning efforts by many voluntary organizations responding to disaster

Counterterrorism

Country Reports on Terrorism
U.S. law requires the Secretary of State to provide Congress a full and complete report on terrorism with regard to those countries and groups meeting criteria set forth in the legislation.
Terrorism and Homeland Security
From RAND, a world leader in terrorism research and analysis.
Office for Victims of Crime: Domestic Terrorism and Mass Violence
Helps, services and resources for victims.

Subject Guide

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

Emergency and Crisis Management (ECM) Resource Guide