LibGuides: Emergency and Crisis Management (ECM) Resource Guide: Finding Books, Articles, and Databases

Using Quick Search from the Library Home Page

Library Quick Search
By entering keywords, you can find a wide variety of books, newspaper & magazine articles, scholarly journal articles & peer reviewed journal articles.
Helpful Guide to Using Quick Search

Emergency Management-Related Databases

In addition to using Quick Search, you can search individual research databases for emergency managment/crisis management topics.

EBSCO Databases
EBSCO Databases include a wide variety of subject areas. For ECM,you may want to start by searching Academic Search Premier & International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center simultaneously--but many other EBSCO databases may be useful as well.

Lists more than 30 databases available through the EBSCOhost interface. The databases index all subject areas with solid coverage of business, education, film, health, psychology, sociology, and sports. For each database there is a description of the content and some link to a Title List of indexed journals. Most databases contain full text articles from academic journals. Choose a single database to search or select multiple databases and search them simultaneously.
Academic Search Premier
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
PAIS International
Good for: Finding information on public policy, social policy, and the social sciences.
Contains: Index to literature.
Dates covered: 1972-present.

From the Public Affairs Information Service, this database provides access to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. It includes records from journals, books, conference proceedings, research and government reports, and directories. Use it to locate journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content.
International Security & Counter-Terrorism Reference Center
Good for: Researching security and threat analysis.
Contains: Articles, news feeds, reports, books, and summaries.
ABI/INFORM Collection
Good for: Analyzing business trends and company information.
Contains: Articles and reports on advertising, marketing, economics, and more.
Dates covered: 1923-present.
Congressional Publications (ProQuest Congressional)
Good for: Researching U.S. legislative information.
Contains: Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more.
Dates covered: 1789-present.
CQ Press Library
Good for: Researching public policy and American government.
Contains: In-depth research on hot topics and legislative analysis.
CQ Magazine
Good for: Staying informed about current politics and new legislation in the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate.
Contains: Weekly roundup of congressional activity.
Dates covered: 1983-current date.
Las Vegas Review Journal (NewsBank)
Good for: Searching the text of articles published in the Las Vegas Review-Journal.
Contains: Article text (no images).
Dates covered: 1996-present.
Nexis Uni
Good for: Researching published news, legal, medical, patents, and business information.
Contains: News, legal, medical, and business information.

The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
U.S. Newsstream Collection
Good for: Finding current and recent news articles from major U.S. newspapers.
Contains: Articles from newspapers like the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal.
Dates covered: 1980s-present.
Scopus
Good for: Researching peer-reviewed scientific, medical, technical, and social science literature.
Contains: Index to literature.
Dates covered: 1960-present.

Scopus also features a citation index, allowing you to find the papers that cite a specific piece of research.