Use this guide to:
Access articles using medical databases
Find library books related to nursing
Learn about the human anatomy
Identify grant funding
Retrieve selected datasets for research
American Military Hospital No. 5 | Source: Library of Congress
"Nursing is the protection, promotion, and optimization of health and abilities, prevention of illness and injury, facilitation of healing, alleviation of suffering through the diagnosis and treatment of human response, and advocacy in the care of individuals, families, groups, communities, and populations."
-American Nurses Association
(Visit American Association of Colleges of Nursing for more information about nursing.)
Here are some primary databases to start your research:
Good for: Researching nursing and allied health topics.
Contains: Index of nursing and allied health literature.
Dates covered: 1982-present.
Good for: Researching education topics.
Contains: Journal articles.
Dates covered: 1996-present.
Good for: Researching medicine, biomedical sciences, and allied health subjects.
Contains: Index of scholarly articles.
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions
Good for: Finding medical, nursing, dental, veterinary, health care, and preclinical sciences articles.
Contains: Indexed citations and abstracts to journal articles.
Good for: Researching a wide range of topics in science, social science, arts, and humanities.
Contains: Citations to scholarly journal articles and conference papers.
Dates covered: 1900-present.
Here are some recommended resources for use in clinical settings:
Good for: Accessing medical information.
Contains: Expert, peer-reviewed, physician-written health information.
Good for: Accessing medical information at the point of care.
Contains: Customizable reference tool with medical information.
